Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

06/09/2012 17:02:42
petejoeduff

1260960 Cacs, I apologise to you on behalf of every Donegal supporter, we're all the one, and I'm so sorry you're offended so much by this. Happy?

Now, I think every person from the following counties should apologise for the below incidents:
- can every Tyrone fan on the forum apologise for the couple of Derrytresk fans who invaded the pitch earlier in the year remember,
- can every Meath fan apologise for singing racist chants and burning a Dublin flag after the 2007 quarter final while I walked up Clonliffe road
- can every Dublin fan apologise for the brawl I saw at the 2005 Leinster semi final in the Nally Stand -
and the murder of a Donegal supporter after the 1992 all ireland final
- can every Wicklow fan apologise for locking refs up in car boot
- can every Mayo fan apologise for the Coppers incident
and so on

remember, if you don't apologise right away, you're just passing the buck

Get well soon Pat

To put in perspective the nonsense of some of the broad brush mud throwing here

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 07/09/2012 09:32:19    1261289

cacsmckilly

1261257 benjyyy

1261006 cacsmckilly

1260997 PeteJoeDuff

I accept your apology, if only the rest on here were as gracious as you. However i do not apologise for Derrytresk as i am not a Derrytresk Supporter but a Tyrone Supporter! See the difference there eh! I have no affiliation to Derrytresk what so ever.

Are they not Tyrone supporters too? They have Tyrone accents, they wear Tyrone jerseys, they wave Tyrone flags....BLAH BLAH BLAH

Oh no wait...they must have been 'off-duty' Tyrone supporters when they were carrying on...

benjyyy
You would be a poor politician, do you not see the difference here. On the Derrytresk front , this was a club match not a Tyrone County game. Donegal fans attacked Spillane at a Donegal COUNTY game. Derrytresk supportes were not out on that day supporting the Tyrone Senior team, they were supporting a club team called Derrytresk! Major difference here between the Spillane incident, two completely different competitions. If you want to compare Donegal fans to Tyrone Fans please do it on an equal playing field as in County versus County and not County Versus Club. You would never see Tyrone "County Team" fans or any other "County Team" fans assaulting a legend of Gaelic football in the street - absolute disgrace for Donegal.

Oh dear God cacs! You would make a great politician alright...unfortunately this isn't politics. What is hilarious is that you seem to think that these people would behave differently if they had the "County Team" jersey on, do you honestly think that comes into their heads?! My response to yours was wholely sarcastic because you seem to want to generalise Donegal fans on all the bad things but would be determined to ignore all the good things. Just because they wear Donegal jerseys and wave the flags does not mean they are 'affiliated' to the rest of us in any way. Its like arguing that all white people have an affiliation to the KKK. You have a ridiculous and biased argument that only helps to justify to yourself your hatred of all things Donegal

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 07/09/2012 09:38:43    1261294

It's funny that this is only appearing now - Spillane made mention of it in his own column in the Sunday World last Sunday - about how he was given a few digs walking away from croke park.
It took til Thursday for the hoganstand to do up an article (probably after the piece in the Donegal Democrat). So it wasn't Brolly who brought it up in the media first, I don't think.

Paddy_The_Hills (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 07/09/2012 09:43:12    1261299

I think the general consensus is that this was a terrible act as I've previously posted and hopefully the people that carried it out are named and properly punished. Can we just leave it at that as I can see this topic spiraling out of control.

The All Ireland Football Final is coming up and already we have more posts on Pat Spillanes attack than on the game itself. I can guarantee this will be brought up again by the media in the week of the final with an interview with Pat saying he had great respect for the genuine Donegal fans. The media won't let this story go you may be sure of that and I hope it doesn't detract from the great achievement of our management and player ON the pitch.

Anyone with any self respect will have condemned this incident and anyone who has posted otherwise or saying it didn't happen is either a WUM or has no cop on so please can we stop feeding their agendas and start concentrating on the football end of things.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 07/09/2012 09:48:18    1261303

1261265 So now its because of the drink ulsterman... Well I know plenty of fellas who take a pint or two before matches in croker, and I've yet to see them assault anyone after the match. People love to blame alchohol. The drink made me do it. Rubbish. If that was the case then everyone who drank would do the same thing. The sad thing is ulsterman, if it were joe brolly who was assaulted by a kerry fan you wouldnt be blaming the drink

Now lets be honest, Ulsterman is probably right. If I was a bookie and was asked to put odds on if the people who did this were completely sober I'd be laying you at least 9/1. And that in no way shifts the blame from the people themselves, they are responsible for their own actions with or without drink taken.

"People love to blame alchohol. The drink made me do it. Rubbish. If that was the case then everyone who drank would do the same thing."
Have you ever seen statistics on violence? The vast majority involve alcohol. Just because you or I may not resort to it after a few drinks does not change the FACT that it is a known side-effect of alcohol

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 07/09/2012 09:50:19    1261305

From what I hear about the incident on facebook from people who were supposedly present a group of 4/5 Donegal fans came over to him for a chat and were like "Oh its Pat Spillane" and they went over and started slapping him on the shoulder poking him in the ribs and all that craic.

Thats the only account available that I can find. It is second hand info off a forum. Believe it or not for yourselves. This thing is being blown out of proportion. I think Pat Spillane met a few idiots all right, but he was not assaulted. If he was, we would have heard a lot more about it a lot sooner. The only way u will get to the bottom of this is if a few witnesses step forward, or if there is cctv footage of the incident. But it does not warranty this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 07/09/2012 09:57:40    1261314

Thankfully the vast majority of people here can see the incident for what it was. Namely a loutish one, instigated by a couple of morons with too much drink on board and in no way reflective of Donegal GAA.

What really gets my goat though is people casting asperisons on the good nature of Donegal people in general. Namely Denn Man and this cacs fella from Tyrone. Now, it may well be just the usual trolling for kicks. I would suggest taking up a hobby or something like that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 07/09/2012 09:58:38    1261316

Alot of lads out there can't handle their drink and go mad when drunk.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11752 - 07/09/2012 10:04:10    1261318

..... Listen it's just the way it is... Pat didn't have to use the terminology he used in order to describe a whole set of people.

and ....

Beacsue we've never had such an unprofessional broadcaster working in our games. Branding people Puke and shiite... LIVE... I repeat LIVE on TV to a huge audience.

Your justification/explanation for what happened to Pat Spillane is grossly unfair and wrong. Pat Spillane never referred to Donegal people as "Puke and shiite". Spillane used that terminology to describe the way the Donegal team plays football (in his opinion), the style of footbal end off nothing else.

Twice you misrepresented what he said, no one deserves what happened to him.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 07/09/2012 10:18:47    1261332

From what I hear about the incident on facebook from people who were supposedly present a group of 4/5 Donegal fans came over to him for a chat and were like "Oh its Pat Spillane" and they went over and started slapping him on the shoulder poking him in the ribs and all that craic.

Thats the only account available that I can find. It is second hand info off a forum. Believe it or not for yourselves. This thing is being blown out of proportion. I think Pat Spillane met a few idiots all right, but he was not assaulted. If he was, we would have heard a lot more about it a lot sooner. The only way u will get to the bottom of this is if a few witnesses step forward, or if there is cctv footage of the incident. But it does not warranty this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 07/09/2012 10:19:39    1261335

As a Tyrone poster;

Don't listen to that nonsense give it no head room. Donegal supporters have nothing to apologise for (Those individuals do).
PJ McGowan has made an apology on behalf of the county board and that's all Donegal can do.
If you bring 40/45k to Croke park for a semi the chances are you're going to get an awful lot more eejits with little or no grounding in GAA. They are along for the swelly. I've been ashamed of chantings from the herd mentality from my own county and don't feel responsible for them just embarassed

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 07/09/2012 10:19:52    1261336

ruanua

1261285 07/09/2012 08:54:32
cacsmckilly

- absolute disgrace for Donegal.

From A Tyrone man!!!!! You couldn't make it up, surely the spirit of Father Ted is alive & well.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 07/09/2012 10:24:07    1261342

Listen folks, ye are now doing exactly what ye are accusing others of doing....we are giving out about a couple of louts being used to represent Donegal people as a whole...then we do the same thing generalising Tyrone people because of a poster on here who calls himself cacs....could we quit this nonsense of throwing insults back at people because of the county they claim to come from...from my reading of it cacs isn't from Tyrone but has used that as a badge of convenience on here...and as for the others mudslinging at Donegal people in general, a little bit of cop on wouldn't go astray.... Donegal people have nothing to apologise for (a couple of louts do)... Donegal can be proud of the support we have brought to games this year...very very proud....end of

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/09/2012 10:37:59    1261356

Jimbo you know I love you buddy and your a way more intelligent guy than I'll ever be but I just can't agree with you on this one. An absolute disgrace from Donegal Gaa supporters shame on you. And if someone says there not Donegal gaa supporters well then how the hell do they know who Spillane is and what he has said about Donegal??

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/09/2012 10:48:30    1261368

clondalkin I have condemned those involved and I hope they're held responsible for their actions but you seem to be labeling it "the fault of Donegal GAA fans".

It wouldn't have taken inspector Morse to make out Spillane that day on the Clonliffe Road...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 07/09/2012 10:56:39    1261375

First off, i hope Pat Spillane is ok and not affected by the incident. These boorish, drunken, yobbish louts are a disgrace to the county and have no business claiming to support Donegal or any county for this matter. They should be identified and shamed over their cowardly actions and if so the law of the land to come down very heavy on them to make any future yobs think twice about laying a hand on a man nearly 60 years of age. Unbelievable cowards. Problem is they are probably proud of their actions thinking they got 1 over on Pat. The "we showed him" mentallity. Any person found guilty of actions like this should be banned from every GAA ground in the country as a deterent. Cant appoligise enough to Pat for this incident as it tarnishs the whole county at a time we should be looking forward to a great event that doesn't happen too often these parts. Sickened cant describe how i feel over this. Puts a big cloud over all the good this donegal team has done this year.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 07/09/2012 10:57:05    1261376

Now come on don't start listening to Clondalkin after his rantings about Donegal earlier...ignore agenda posters. There is no rationale behind Donegal supporters being held directly or vicariously for the actions of a few morons.

Enjoy the good times another 32 counties would gladly swap places with you.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 07/09/2012 11:01:50    1261380

Lockjaw what I'm saying is a lot of Donegal people are saying that it's not real Donegal gaa supporters that assaulted Spillane but I'm saying it had to be sure how would bandwagon supporters know who the hell Pat is and what he's been saying?? I know Clondalkin heads who go to Dublin games who wouldn't have a clue who Pat Spillane joe brolly are or what they say on tv so them Dublin supporters I know are not real gaa supporters.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/09/2012 11:07:31    1261387

Tyronetim I love Donegal people always have and I've said that plenty of times on here. I hate there team and style of play.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/09/2012 11:15:01    1261396

spillane ran donegal in to the ground last year tryed to put down every thing they worked hard for dublin played the same game in the semi final and he blew them up to be heros am not at all shocked he got a few shots

clougherna (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 07/09/2012 11:15:34    1261397