Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

P.Mus

1260989 I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

NOT SURE IF SERIOUS?! But if so...forget about Donedeal...I'm your man....3 tickets would be absolutely perfect too (Goldilocks and all that)

Us Donegal are a vicious lot, stay away I say! Ps I can collect...

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 06/09/2012 17:46:56    1261030

in shock seeing this.
absoulotley disgusting. whoever involved need to be caught and given bans from the gaa.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 06/09/2012 17:47:59    1261032

S**mbags, the vast majority of Donegal supporters are fantastic but I have had run ins with unsavoury supporters from this county in more than one occasion in the past!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/09/2012 17:48:18    1261033

06/09/2012 17:48:18
Brolly
County: Monaghan

1261033 S**mbags, the vast majority of Donegal supporters are fantastic but I have had run ins with unsavoury supporters from this county in more than one occasion in the past!!

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 17:51:19    1261036

jimbo there are to many people who think the gaa does not smell , they come out with tripe like a true gael and that soccer lot , but as we all know the gaa has the same problems as other sports just that we paint over them better

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/09/2012 17:53:07    1261039

S**mbags carried out this attack.....not GAA fans. I remember walking to Croke Park one year and me and about 10 other Mayo fans met Joe Brolly (we dont like him) - we all starting shouting up Mayo etc and it was all good natured...Joe laughed back and said good on ye.

A physical attack on someone would never enter most people's mind (unless in self defence) - I wonder could this attack be spotted on CCTV and the fnas banned for life? - probably not as Pat didn't report it.

Anyway I wouldn't tar all Donegal fans with the same brush due to this isolated incident.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11752 - 06/09/2012 18:03:30    1261049

hipster

jimbo there are to many people who think the gaa does not smell , they come out with tripe like a true gael and that soccer lot , but as we all know the gaa has the same problems as other sports just that we paint over them better

What a load of rubbish, it's second to none the way the supporters mingle in good banter before and after, Dublin fans sang Mayo songs all weekend with us from "the green and red of Mayo to take me home to Mayo" one man was showing me his badges on his dublin hat, he had Gaughan (rip) on it and various other stuff that interested me, the man set the tone for the night, amazing night and all my memories are of near the same in so many games.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 06/09/2012 18:19:54    1261063

yew_tree

S**mbags carried out this attack.....not GAA fans.

They were GAA fans.

Scumbags too yeah but GAA fans nonetheless.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 06/09/2012 18:28:30    1261067

P.Mus

1260989 I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

You can say what you like about assaults on Pat Spillane but the above is a new low for GAA Fans.

Selling you kids on donedeal just to attend the AI Final. Shame on you.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 06/09/2012 18:29:40    1261068

I'm going to stick up for Donegal GAA supporters. They are no different from any in the county. What happened in Dublin was awful yes, and Pat should have gone to the guards. But what a couple of drunken thugs who I don't know did that day does not reflect on me, OR the crowd who will be there at the final. It was an outrage and by right them boys shouldn't get near Croke Park again.

donegalboy (Donegal) - Posts: 120 - 06/09/2012 18:32:46    1261070

cacsmckilly

PeteJoeDuff

I accept your apology, if only the rest on here were as gracious as you. However i do not apologise for Derrytresk as i am not a Derrytresk Supporter but a Tyrone Supporter! See the difference there eh! I have no affiliation to Derrytresk what so ever.

What do the vast majority of Donegal fans have to apologise for? Nothing in my opinion. It's pretty clear that the Donegal fans are deeply embarrassed by this Incident and condemn It. Out of 45000 Donegal fans attending that game, 4 or 5 guys wearing Donegal colours were acting like scum.
You get that in almost every town in Ireland most weekends, and you will always get an element of that at big games.

It's unfortunate that it happened, and that the culprits weren't caught.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 06/09/2012 18:36:55    1261073

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZspnZhbVQ6M

very interesting video.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 06/09/2012 18:49:44    1261086

You can't condemn an entire county for the actions of a few, personally as someone who lives in the Croke Park area, the behaviour of about 99% of all fans is terrific. Unfortunately in the times we live in there are people out there a few drinks and anyone is game for a laugh, be it in the Phoenix Park at an outdoor concert or every single match in Croke Park be there Dubs there or not. What happened is a disgraceful cowardly attack on an individual. If there are youtube clips it just underlines what a messed society we have, years ago people would reach out to help, now its for the phone and a bit of cowardly giggles at the expense of some unfortunate. He did right in not reporting it, cops couldn't care less.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 06/09/2012 18:53:13    1261090

well 51longago what you posted is pure tripe , there is hundreds of sports that supporters mingle , and for you to think its just a gaa thing is just childish and pure bull

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/09/2012 19:17:48    1261103

hipster

well 51longago what you posted is pure tripe , there is hundreds of sports that supporters mingle , and for you to think its just a gaa thing is just childish and pure bull

hipster

Do you see the contradiction?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 06/09/2012 19:26:06    1261109

I assure you they would'nt have had the courage to face down Pat on their own....disgusting mob mentality behaviour

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 06/09/2012 19:36:47    1261117

other sports other sports 51 other sports

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/09/2012 19:40:22    1261120

Tir Conaill Abu is correct. EVERY county attracts these halfwits when they are successful or there is a bandwagon. I thank god for the recession weeding out most of the Summer idiots who used follow the Dubs.

I am looking forward to hurling final on Sunday but you can bet your life that there will be young and not so young ones who'll be langered well before the game. Most of them even at that are harmless but you could do without them.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/09/2012 20:09:13    1261135

I seen Spillane that day. Heard the cheers and wondered what was going on.
Turned to see a very embarrassed looking Spillane walking through the thousands of Donegal fans.
As he walked by me I seen half a dozen or more people shaking his hand saying ...
.."were playing better now" and a father with a few young girls shook his hand
And had a photo taken with him.
All good banter. And that's in the 10 yards I could see before he got lost in the crowd again.
Hardly the actions of a blood thirsty hooligans which we seem to be ALL labelled with now.
I find it hard to get round my head that he thought the incident didn't deserve the attention of the Gardai,
Prob cos it was nothing really but he can write about in a national paper and creating even more of a mess
Such as these forums with certain people calling us this and that,
But thankfully there is some are some sensible posters that realize this minority.
But again if the incident didn't seem worthy enough to tell the guards why bitch bout it in the paper ?

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 06/09/2012 20:40:27    1261155

Dissapointed to hear bout this,first the homecomin and now pat spillane incident

burstpipes (Cork) - Posts: 68 - 06/09/2012 20:44:39    1261160