Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

cacsmckilly

1260938 This whole affair is an absolute disgrace, both Spillane getting thumped and donegal fans on here trying to pass the buck. Just simply apologise and forget these excuses such as "ohh but they were not actually true Donegal fans", even though they are from Donegal, have Donegal accents, where wearing Donegal colours and holding Donegal flags. It is nothing more but Violent thuggery from a set of fans who could not behave themselves in the countries capital.

Cacs - what do you want us to do? Is it our job to apologise on behalf of the people who did this? I don't see anyone passing the buck here, but frankly we can only condemn what happened as we are not responsible for how others behave themselves! Lets face it, anyone who reads your posts knows you have a chip on your shoulder about Donegal and are in no way an objective observer

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 06/09/2012 16:58:59    1260954

Cacs, I apologise to you on behalf of every Donegal supporter, we're all the one, and I'm so sorry you're offended so much by this. Happy?

Now, I think every person from the following counties should apologise for the below incidents:
- can every Tyrone fan on the forum apologise for the couple of Derrytresk fans who invaded the pitch earlier in the year remember,
- can every Meath fan apologise for singing racist chants and burning a Dublin flag after the 2007 quarter final while I walked up Clonliffe road
- can every Dublin fan apologise for the brawl I saw at the 2005 Leinster semi final in the Nally Stand
- can every Wicklow fan apologise for locking refs up in car boot
- can every Mayo fan apologise for the Coppers incident
and so on

remember, if you don't apologise right away, you're just passing the buck

Get well soon Pat

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 06/09/2012 17:02:42    1260960

benjyyy

I have no problem with Donegal, I simply say it how it is.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/09/2012 17:03:01    1260961

ochonlir

1260936 Lockjaw

1260917 Re: Denn Man

"Flash a 50 & you ll loosen them of their ticket. Like candy from a baby.."

While we're on blatant stereotyping,
You Cavan boys wouldn't bring 50 euro notes down to Dublin, far too miserly for that imprudence.

what a hypocrite you are lockjaw!

Dear oh dear...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 06/09/2012 17:04:51    1260967

Jimbob get off the stage will ya? Chill the beans, I don't agree with your point. Petejoe, I hope you are not referring to an incident in coppers involving a Dublin player? If you are, you should get the full story as no apology is needed from anyone.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 06/09/2012 17:11:49    1260978

jimbo 'the way it is?'

So the good having to make allowances for the guys are are going to break the law? That is 'the way it is'? He is employed to give his opinions, end of story. This naive bit doesnt wash with me, the guy is talking about football alone, he doesnt bring anything else into it.

You see the thing is jimbo, your first question wasnt anything to do with broadcasting, it was 'did he have this coming?' Which would indicate something different to what you are saying now

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/09/2012 17:13:08    1260980

I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 06/09/2012 17:21:05    1260989

PeteJoeDuff

I accept your apology, if only the rest on here were as gracious as you. However i do not apologise for Derrytresk as i am not a Derrytresk Supporter but a Tyrone Supporter! See the difference there eh! I have no affiliation to Derrytresk what so ever.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/09/2012 17:24:59    1260997

I don't believe these "fans" represent the true Gaels in Donegal - having played both in College and in the the States with Donegal lads they are far from the thugs who are responsible for this assault. Even county has fans that are idiots and good up for the match for the session and are likely never to be seen at a wind swept club match in March.

In this instance I hope that the Donegal County Board are able to assist the Gardai - name and shame. Definitely shouldn't be given any tickets to the Final by their club or fellow county men.

On a side note the one fan from Donegal who does get on my wick is the Pipe Player who walks up and down the stairs during matches in Croker trying to play that god forsaken instrument and then shouts "Up Donegal" - recall him doing it during the Kildare and Donegal 1/4 last year and seriously it did my head in - those horns are banned for good reason and this fella shouldn't be allow to create such a racket - i wouldn't mind if he could carry a tune but he can't - ok rant over!

roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 06/09/2012 17:26:45    1260999

Great Cacs, thanks, I for one will sleep a lot better tonight now, and the rest of us mere mortals can move on with our lives safe in the knowledge that the world is a better place

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 06/09/2012 17:28:06    1261001

cacsmckilly

1260997 PeteJoeDuff

I accept your apology, if only the rest on here were as gracious as you. However i do not apologise for Derrytresk as i am not a Derrytresk Supporter but a Tyrone Supporter! See the difference there eh! I have no affiliation to Derrytresk what so ever.

Are they not Tyrone supporters too? They have Tyrone accents, they wear Tyrone jerseys, they wave Tyrone flags....BLAH BLAH BLAH

Oh no wait...they must have been 'off-duty' Tyrone supporters when they were carrying on...

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 06/09/2012 17:31:47    1261006

06/09/2012 17:21:05
P.Mus

1260989 I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 17:32:33    1261008

Feel sorry for Pat. I mean I know he's from Kerry, but nobody deserves that:) Seriously though, I can't believe that people take what he says so seriously. As others have said, he's paid to be controversial. And he often demonstrates quite a dry wit. Then again, wit would be something entirely alien to these imbecilic thugs!

I also feel sorry for the Donegal lads on here. I understand their embarrassment. I've seen so called 'Cork fans' behave badly too. As long ago as 1987/88 one of them threw a pool ball at Ken Hogan in Killarney. It happens lads. All we can do is hope that they don't somehow get their hands on tickets for the final. There'll be a lot of Johnny come latelys at the final. There always is.

Don't let this detract from your enjoyment of the build up lads. I think everybody understands that louts are as unwelcome at Donegal games as they are everywhere else.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 06/09/2012 17:33:49    1261009

Freedom of Speech does NOT mean the right to say any damn thing that pops in to your head. Especially when you are granted a large audience. The defense of inflammatory remarks based on this principle of "freedom of speech" is just wrong. You can arrive at all manner of truths without being seen to be going out of the way to be nasty or wind people up - and Spillane cannot say that he didn't know his comments over the years could be offensive as it has been debated for years now with peoples reactions known. There are way too many out there who seem to relish in tormenting others and then hide behind "freedom of expression" in an effort to avoid the consequences of their rashness.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/09/2012 17:36:24    1261010

You see the thing is jimbo, your first question wasnt anything to do with broadcasting, it was 'did he have this coming?' Which would indicate something different to what you are saying now

I was setting up my point.

Simple.

Structuring it in such a way as to highlight my point.

It's a debating method. Personally from a professional stand point... Pat has been playing with fire. I think he was naive... I think he's been acting very unprofessionally compared to the standards set throughout my 15 year career.

It's disgusting that he was assaulted but at the end of the day... he wouldnt be the first sports pundit.

Maybe in this country... but Brolly only spoke recently about verbal abuse he received. That could have easily turned into something more serious.

If you boys want pundits to be spouting anything they want live on TV... then well you obviously too are very naive.

It's a sad event.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 17:39:36    1261019

cacsmckilly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RM_J8UEEBeY
This is an assault lads so give it a rest!!

apple12 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 06/09/2012 17:40:18    1261020

hipster

1260947 disgraceul and these fans should have been arrested and charged , but the gaa has always had a vicious element so this comes as no surprise . from referees and managers and players getting assaulted to countys flags getting burned , ah but its a bit of craic they would say .us in the gaa have s**m in it as bad if not worse than any other sport .

_________

Sadly thats absolutely true.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 17:41:19    1261022

How much P.Mus?!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/09/2012 17:41:37    1261023

For once Spillane might say some favourable things about Mayo on All Ireland final day!

I know I'll be bringing my knuckle dusters incase I end up beside any disgruntled Donegal fans on the Luas that day!

razor99 (Mayo) - Posts: 186 - 06/09/2012 17:44:57    1261028

A reckless ,mindless.and headstrong act,which may have been fuelled by alcohol. Wonder did these people drive a car afterwards?

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 06/09/2012 17:45:35    1261029