Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

Superglue said;

****te was to describe Doengal's style of play not county in 2011. We wasn't wrong. Very few disagreed with him including Brolly.
Pat's been full of praise of them this year.

Do you think the sort that would assault a man in 60's in open public, in front of hundreds of people give two pee stains to any sort of reasoning?

The damage was already done in their eyes.

Thats a bloody perfect example of what I'm trying to say.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 16:17:20    1260907

Theres a strong possibility that this could have been the work of some of the fairweather fans who use a game in Croke Park as a drinking session...and I'm not talking about after the game.

You get plenty getting buses that leave at 8 or 9 in the morning from all over Donegal and they are taking drink as soon as they get on. In fact some of them might not be long back from being out on the Saturday night! By the time the game comes around they are your typical 2am jobs.

Now some of you will say I'm being a killjoy or diverting the blame away from the individuals! I'm fond of a drink myself and have done the bus drinking myself once but hated it because I couldnt fully concentrate on the game. And I've never been a violent drunk but there are some people who just become somebody else after a few drinks - thats not defending them in any way!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 06/09/2012 16:19:53    1260909

benjyyy

1260889 Jimbodub, Ulsterman and pplocal

While I understand your viewpoint that is essentially, 'there are nutcases out there so he should take a bit more care with what he says', its just saddening that it should come to this. I mean it hasn't happened before so why should it start happening now?
_______

Beacsue we've never had such an unprofessional broadcaster working in our games. Branding people Puke and shiite... LIVE... I repeat LIVE on TV to a huge audience.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 16:22:33    1260913

I didn't think we would see you posting for at least a week Snuf,did you enjoy your day in Croke Park last Sunday
Regards
Snuf.
Hardasnails , 06/09/2012 at 16:04
------------------------------------------
What part of my tipping mayo to win for weeks did you not understand??.....it was written in plain English lad!

Dublin lads dont run away from anything.....unlike your own county who never done a tap for Ireland!

And yes, I did enjoy my day in Croker.....my corporate box with the mot in hand is always great craic!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2012 16:22:54    1260914

Re: Denn Man

"Flash a 50 & you ll loosen them of their ticket. Like candy from a baby.."

While we're on blatant stereotyping,
You Cavan boys wouldn't bring 50 euro notes down to Dublin, far too miserly for that imprudence.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 06/09/2012 16:26:03    1260917

Jimbo....I take on board your comments and understand you have a background in broadcasting but I don't think it is fair to compare Gaelic Football of Hurling with soccer.

As is widely known, with most clubs in England and Scotland, there are a small minority of so-called "hooligans" who contribute a vast majority to any violence associated with games over seas.

luckily we do not have that sort of thing within our national sports and thus I feel broadcasters can and should be more outspoken about their opinions. I for one would love if Alan Hansen would come out and say "Liverpool are currently a sh**e football team" but unfortunately, as you say, it is not safe for him to do so. I think it would be an absolute shame if anything like this crept into our game. Whats next...segregation at matches to avoid crowd trouble???

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 06/09/2012 16:26:18    1260918

06/09/2012 16:04:04
Denn Man

1260884 Lock jaw

yet another tarnished stain on Ulster football. Your replies only focus to dicredit my sanity.

Maybe you should step back see what we see. every nuetral who wants to watch the All Ireland go up to Quinns . Half the rally fans & idiots who travel from Donegal will succumb to the "sweaty athmosphere & chants of the Hills of Donegal" that Quinns will provide. Flash a 50 & you ll loosen them of their ticket. Like candy from a baby..

casinos chicken ranches i'd legalize them all
we'd have our own las vegas in the hills of donegal
yeah las vegas in the hills of donegal

Not at all - we won't bother heading to Dublin.
We fancied heading to the Tank in Denn for some cucumber sandwiches, sophistication, intelligent conversation and perhaps an afternoon game of croquet
on the village green.
Though the Monday club is usually where you meet the real geniuses.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 16:29:55    1260921

This thread seems to be a chance for a few people to have a general dig at Donegals fans in general and although as some have suggested every county has them other seem to be blinkered.

I have worked as a steward in county grounds all around Ireland over different years and there is one constant. When a county is on a crest of a wave EVERY county has band wagon supporters who are there for the day out, get drunk, generally don't know much about the game and will turn on their own team in an instant if they are getting beat. These same people (not fans) are usually the ones urinating on peoples doorsteps, puking their way down the street, using unrepeatable language in front of small children and acting aggressively. I've seen it from most counties and if there is one poster here that can say their county is any different I would question their honesty. I have also worked as a steward at music events and it's the same, the genuine music fan is there for the music and then there's the yobs who destroy it for everyone.

It's with deep regret that it was a fellow county man of my own that carried out this cowardly incident and I would call on anyone that seen the incident and can identify them to report it to their club so that person will be refused a ticket to the final.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 06/09/2012 16:30:03    1260922

shocking behaviour

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 06/09/2012 16:34:01    1260924

Offside_Rule, Ulsterman and jimbo. So basically ye are saying he shouldnt express his honest opinions in the field of his expertise for fear of being assaulted?

Lets get it right, pat spillane whether he is praising or criticising, refers to football matters alone. I will be the first to say he has given mayo plenty of stick in his time, but what he doesnt do is say things like the Cork players are stupid, or james kavanagh wilts under pressure, or any of that personal nonsense that his stable-mate goes on with, so I can see no reason why people are taking personal insult to what he has to say. I respect him for that, you can see that he is talking about the game he loves and behind the soundbites and bit of quick wit, it is clear that he believes in what he is saying. Ulsterman you say you find it disgraceful, and then you go on to make the point that if he kept his opinions to himself he would have been alright. How about if these guys had an ounce of respect, intelligence or manners then he would have been alright! You cant just say ah sure there are idiots everywhere. There are also criminals everywhere, but that doesnt mean we all have to take the blame for being burgled or assaulted does it?
Spillane was right about donegal last year, brolly agreed with him, and in all honesty it was o'rourke that was sticking the boot in the most. This was a disgrace, and anyone who says it was anything else is a disgrace also.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/09/2012 16:38:03    1260928

This behavior cannot be condoned! Pat Spillane has had opinions on teams and counties for years,
this does not mean that the man deserves to be physically attacked because of them!
Every person is entitled to their opinion, including Pat Spillane. I disagree with a lot of what he says,
but that does not mean I want to see him come to harm.
Every has a nasty element of supporters that need to be weeded out!

I feel for the real Donegal supporters now, some of the hypocrites on this forum will love a reason to
throw dirt your way! History has shown it!

Jimbodub, you make interesting and valid points, but people will prefer to see past that and voice their own
inflated opinions!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/09/2012 16:38:29    1260929

Jimbodub,

I respect your view point and experience but as you say your experience is from the UK and you use professional football for your examples which is a very different world from Dublin on a All Ireland Sunday where fans mix free of segregation. Ireland is a far safer society to the UK which helps make the GAA so special and unique from other sports. Pat has nothing to apologise for and I completely disagree with what you are saying if GAA pundits have to be mundane like the BBC pundits cause they fear for their safety it is a very sad day not just for the GAA but for Ireland as a society.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 06/09/2012 16:38:51    1260930

Lockjaw

1260917 Re: Denn Man

"Flash a 50 & you ll loosen them of their ticket. Like candy from a baby.."

While we're on blatant stereotyping,
You Cavan boys wouldn't bring 50 euro notes down to Dublin, far too miserly for that imprudence.

what a hypocrite you are lockjaw!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 06/09/2012 16:44:40    1260936

This whole affair is an absolute disgrace, both Spillane getting thumped and donegal fans on here trying to pass the buck. Just simply apologise and forget these excuses such as "ohh but they were not actually true Donegal fans", even though they are from Donegal, have Donegal accents, where wearing Donegal colours and holding Donegal flags. It is nothing more but Violent thuggery from a set of fans who could not behave themselves in the countries capital.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/09/2012 16:47:55    1260938

This behavior cannot be condoned! Pat Spillane has had opinions on teams and counties for years,
this does not mean that the man deserves to be physically attacked because of them!
Every person is entitled to their opinion, including Pat Spillane. I disagree with a lot of what he says,
Every couny has a nasty element of supporters that need to be weeded out!

I feel for the real Donegal supporters now, some of the hypocrites on this forum will love a reason to

Jimbodub, you make interesting and valid points, but people will prefer to see past that and voice their own
inflated opinions!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/09/2012 16:50:04    1260940

disgraceul and these fans should have been arrested and charged , but the gaa has always had a vicious element so this comes as no surprise . from referees and managers and players getting assaulted to countys flags getting burned , ah but its a bit of craic they would say .us in the gaa have s**m in it as bad if not worse than any other sport .

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/09/2012 16:56:30    1260947

cacsmckilly

1260938 This whole affair is an absolute disgrace, both Spillane getting thumped and donegal fans on here trying to pass the buck. Just simply apologise and forget these excuses such as "ohh but they were not actually true Donegal fans", even though they are from Donegal, have Donegal accents, where wearing Donegal colours and holding Donegal flags. It is nothing more but Violent thuggery from a set of fans who could not behave themselves in the countries capital.

someone has a wee hatred fror Donegal and is sticking the boot in????

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 06/09/2012 16:56:51    1260948

Mans ear bitten off

Refs assaulted

Refs put in car boot

Flags being burned

Fights in the stands

Players being attacked don the pitch by supporters

Assault on ex famous players

Which one of these hasn't happened in our games? Time to wake up folks…

Listen it's just the way it is... Pat didn't have to use the terminology he used in order to describe a whole set of people.

It's as simple as that... many others made the same point without inciting and angering so many people.

He was very naïve and irresponsible

Those two traits mean big trouble in broadcasting. It's just outlandishly unprofessional stuff…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 16:56:57    1260949

Give it a rest cacs, you seem to forget about the dirt that was thrown our way earlier in the year!
We are not israeliis, the oppressed should know better than to become the oppressor!
Get the s**m involved, but leave the real, genuine supporters alone!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/09/2012 16:56:57    1260950

TheGateKeeper

1260940 This behavior cannot be condoned! Pat Spillane has had opinions on teams and counties for years,
Every couny has a nasty element of supporters that need to be weeded out!

inflated opinions

Thank you.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 16:58:17    1260951