Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

cacsmckilly

51longago

1260769 No reflection on Donegal supporters as a whole, few idiots found in every counties following.

So who does this action reflect then? Kerry Supporters maybe.
It was done by Donegal fans end of! A total disgrace.
Hang on their lad, was it done by the entire Donegal GAA fraternity, I'm surprised he's still alive to tell the tale in that case. Whats your hang up with Donegal any way cacs, did you get your heart broken on Bundoran, or worse?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2012 15:26:15    1260836

An act of violence that should never have taken place by a group of fans, Donegal fans don't worry everyone with a bit of cop on know you all dont behave like that, this attack could have happened from any counties fans, its just sad when its your own! People can say what they want, but he didnt go the Gardai which was very big of him! fter all he achieved in the game he has the right to say what he wants weather it is right or wrong!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 06/09/2012 15:27:28    1260837

I think jimbodub and ulsterman actually have a point here and think one or two are mis-interperting what they're saying. Of course anyone who is in the limelight on a weekly basis should be more careful about how they phrase or label people or what words they choose - especially given some of the nutters out there. Take Ally McCoist for example. Twice within a few weeks he came out with idiotic statements which was immediately followed by death threats to board members of other clubs and high profile people but then tried to distance himself from them. Nelson McCausland is another guy who falls in to this category on a regular basis.

Now, its not saying that any attack on them is right in any way shape or form but they should have the intelligence to realise that what they are saying is inflammatory to certain people. In Spillanes case its not a case that he made a once off remark which you could say was a slip but he has been bleating on about Ulster in one form or another for many years now. At the end of the day if you are given a platform it doesn't give you the right to say whatever you want about whoever you want. Or if you do go down this route then you have to accept some responsibility for whatever reaction your words provoke.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/09/2012 15:30:18    1260840

TheFlaker

Jimbob he is employed to stir up controversy. Anyone with half a brain doesn't take his comments to heart!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2012 15:36:32    1260847

Shocking - Spillanes comments (which were last year) should be taken for what they are - In reality nothing more than opinion and Banter. If you are offended - hope that your team proves him wrong on the field or make up a witty banner or what ever you are into.

Assaulting a man in his sixties on his way home from work is cowardly and a disgrace.

Regardless of if this was reported to the Guards or not surely it must have been witnessed - someone tried to intervene or at worst came to his aid afterwards
if there was 10,000+ people on clonliffe road, surely someone recognised the gang - or recognised club colours/jackets etc.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 15:37:47    1260848

i think it is absolutely abhorrent of those so-called donegal supporters to have assaulted pat spillane. He is a pundit who although controversial at times, usually calls it right. there is no backdoors with him, he calls a spade a spade, something which i respect him for. he is an all time great and for him to be treated like this is an utter disgrace.

ballinderryman (Derry) - Posts: 98 - 06/09/2012 15:40:28    1260854

06/09/2012 15:19:13
Floops

1260823 A man with eight All Ireland medals attacked by knuckle draggin hillbillies outside Croke park? This is a new low.#

And to Ulsterman and jimbo and anyone else trying to condone this behavior (that is what you're doing) - you're just as ignorant for those comments.

Donegal fans: get your house in order - Spillane has never been attacked before, nor Brolly by Kerry fans - It's a obviously a Donegal problem so don't trying to pass the buck!

I will accept that this is totally out of order and without any excuse whatsover and I'm not trying to pass the buck. But before you start making derogatory comments about an entire county I would point out that the GAA club I am from went to an All Ireland final 20 years ago and came home with one person less.
I appreciate it was thugs that were involved and hence would not tarnish the entire county of the opposing fans for the acts of a minority

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 15:43:47    1260858

Liam

I have spent years surrounded by professional broadcasters

In my experience which to my credit is not half bad... 15 years+

I know how broadcasting works, I understand the attitudes and theres just some things that you need to be incredibly careful with.

I do not condone such actions but I understand the implications of words - especially from a broadcasting point of view.

I guess I've probably got a unique insight on this very topic. Instead of condemning my comments perhaps you should shut up and listen.

In my opinion, Pat has been acting incredibly unprofessional. He wouldnt be in a job over in the UK after such comments. In fact he probably would be... because he wouldnt have said them in the first place. Because labelling a soccer team Puke or Sh**te live on TV... will probably result in your house being burned down.

He attracted this violence by being so outspoken. His comments have in fact incited this violence.

I know what I'm saying may not be popular...but I know this game very well.

There's do's and donts in brodcasting... especially in Sport. It's fanatical... you have to be very careful.

I hope these people are identified, I hope Pat is ok...

But Pat... you know well of the implications of live TV. You attract the nut jobs... theres a TV in every home in the country.

You wuldnt make such a comment reagrding say Everton being Puke or Sh**te or a disgrace etc etc etc.... and then walk out in the middle of their fans and not expect something to happen. Thats not how the world works.

You'll attract the wrong sort. Thats exactly what happened...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 15:45:56    1260859

06/09/2012 15:24:47
Keane16

1260834 Been watching Pulp Fiction I see Snuf???

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/09/2012 15:46:01    1260860

If any one of us came out of Croke Park, went up to a group of fans and criticised their team to even half the extent that Pat has we'd be hit a slap. It's no different for him. This assault should not have happened. But you have to be responsible for what you say and be aware of the impact that these words will have, especially to a bunch of boozed up idiots. Maybe Pat has learnt the hard way to tone his comments down a bit

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/09/2012 15:47:06    1260861

51longago

1260769 No reflection on Donegal supporters as a whole, few idiots found in every counties following.

So who does this action reflect then? Kerry Supporters maybe.
It was done by Donegal fans end of! A total disgrace.

I think any decent person would agree that this was a seriously isolated incident, a few idiots as was described.

For the Tyrone man to come on and push the incident back on Donegal supporters as if we were all like that is a complete joke, considering the horrendous incidents in club games in his own county on a not-so-isolated basis!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 06/09/2012 15:51:47    1260868

It's like dealing with a bunch of Joe Duffy listeners.

I put out an opinion from a long time employed broadcasting/production background. Namely me...

Take it for what you will.

I know what I'm fecking talking about.

I know the true implications.

It's terrible what happened. I don't know why anyone would think I'm condoning such actions... I'm in reality talking just that. Reality.

Broadcasters have been murdered in the past. This is the dangerous back ground nature of being in the public eye and making comments that incite hatred, anger, violence.

It's not a fecking game. It's real to the nut jobs… and you are sitting in their sitting room. Insulting them to their face…

Take my opinion for what you will... it's one based on over a decade of experience at the highest of levels.

Your outrage is noted.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 15:53:38    1260869

I was shocked to hear that Pat Spillane was attacked outside Croke Park, that is wrong and should not have happened.

I have attended many Donegal county matches in recent years, be it McKenna Cup, National league or Championship. And I found the regular Donegal fans to be very friendly good natured people. I don't think it is fair to taint the reputation of genuine Donegal fans with this attack.

I suspect that the large crowds included a lot of Ignorant Gulpins/Louts who normally are kept locked up in the hills ( Every county has them, and I mean every county ).
If you look at crowds at Donegal championship games this year, you will see a huge jump in crowds from Ulster final attendance to the All Ireland Semi final. Now i attended the Ulster final, and had no issue getting tickets on the day. So when you see an additional 20-25,000 people at the Cork game, I can't help but wonder were they all crawled out of.

The Donegal v Cavan game had had just over 12000 fans at it in total.
The Donegal v Derry game had just over 12000 fans in total at it in total.
The Ulster semi final against Tyrone and there were approx 17500 fans at that in total.
The Ulster final against Down had over 35000 fans in total.

That Semi final against Cork attracted 40,000+ Donegal fans alone, probably more than 4 x times there normal support. #

While its no excuse for Pat Spillanes treatment, I don't think Donegal fans should be singled out for this. As its not a true reflection of their genuine regular support.
4 or 5 drunken rowdy people should not be allowed to taint the Image of the good people of Donegal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 06/09/2012 15:54:05    1260870

Most definitely not good to hear this. I think that as a pundit, Pat Spillane has a right to say what he feels and sees. He has several all ireland medals to his name, and it doesnt matter how inflammatory his remarks are, he has walked the walk and has a right to say what he likes about the game. Disagreeing with him is part of the craic too, the analysis of the match can be better than the game sometimes especially when Brolly is on the old high horse too.

As a GAA fan and a person aside from being from Donegal, this has disgusted me. We would never hear the end of it if it were a group of Dublin fans who had done this. I would like to think that these guys stay at home from now on, as they obviously dont know how to behave in public when away from their locality.

Was this something waiting to happen? I would hate to think so. We are going down the road of condoning attacks on the street if we say yes. I would say alcohol abuse has a huge part to this disturbance. I am glad that Pat is ok and can get on with things. As for the cowards who did this.... I hope they are promised tickets for the final only to be let down at the last minute. S**m.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 06/09/2012 16:00:56    1260878

feckin meat heads...

You wouldnt know an intelligent informed post if it walked up and kicked up up the ****.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 16:04:02    1260883

Lock jaw

yet another tarnished stain on Ulster football. Your replies only focus to dicredit my sanity.

Maybe you should step back see what we see. every nuetral who wants to watch the All Ireland go up to Quinns . Half the rally fans & idiots who travel from Donegal will succumb to the "sweaty athmosphere & chants of the Hills of Donegal" that Quinns will provide. Flash a 50 & you ll loosen them of their ticket. Like candy from a baby..

casinos chicken ranches i'd legalize them all
we'd have our own las vegas in the hills of donegal
yeah las vegas in the hills of donegal

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 06/09/2012 16:04:04    1260884

I didn't think we would see you posting for at least a week Snuf,did you enjoy your day in Croke Park last Sunday,don't forget to do your homework tonight.

Regards
Snuf.

Hardasnails (Monaghan) - Posts: 288 - 06/09/2012 16:04:27    1260885

I had a bad experience of Donegal fans in the quarters finals when they were playing Kerry. They seemed very aggressive and the use of bad language was appalling. It did put me off Donegal fans that day but I understand every county has these yobs.

KieranMcg (Kildare) - Posts: 8 - 06/09/2012 16:04:41    1260886

Jimbodub, Ulsterman and pplocal

While I understand your viewpoint that is essentially, 'there are nutcases out there so he should take a bit more care with what he says', its just saddening that it should come to this. I mean it hasn't happened before so why should it start happening now?

I know that I would rather Pat give his honest and frank opinion, one which I might forcefully disagree with (most of the time!), rather than having him have to tiptoe around issues and give the bland PC comments that many analysts are fond of.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 06/09/2012 16:05:42    1260889

was in front of a few donegal fans at our match against them !! the bile that came otta them was abnormal ! now i hear this ! the fans are getting carried away with themselves ! jim will love all this !! not

reece (Tyrone) - Posts: 30 - 06/09/2012 16:08:38    1260893