Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

Absolutely disgusting behaviour!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=176945

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2012 14:02:50    1260702

These were posted as new threads but as the subject matter is the same they has been incorporated here.

hurlingdub
Dublin
06/09/2012
13:38

Pat Spillane assaulted

Absolutely disgraceful behaviour. These s**m should be identified and banned from any match in the future by Donegal County Board

Mayo
06/09/2012
13:48

Assault on Pat Spillane

An absolute disgrace.

cacsmckilly
Tyrone
06/09/2012
13:56

Thugs from the hills

Cant believe the news that Spillane was assaulted by Donegal fans. Desptie what he has said about Ulster Football i am shocked that Gaelic football fans would actually wish to physically assault the man. He's been quite fair to Donegal this year and has acknowledged their change in style to more offensive attacking football. Donegal fans should be utterly ashamed with themselves - disgraceful!

TheFlaker
Mayo
06/09/2012
14:01

Spillane confirms he was assaulted

No matter what you think of the man, the Donegal fans who carried out this shameful act should be named and shamed. Muppets. More embarrassment, could be a long 3 weeks lads!

benjyyy
Donegal
06/09/2012
14:07

Pat Spillane assaulted

Shocked to read this today. Utterly deplorable attack. Can't believe we have supporters who would do such a thing. One of the things which makes the GAA magic is the respect that supporters have for each other (ok maybe not during the games sometimes but we all shake hands at the end win or lose) and I hope this is never lost. Massive blow to the image of Donegal supporters as a whole unfortunately. Hope to never see or hear about an incident like this again!

cacsmckilly
Tyrone
06/09/2012
14:10

Spillane Attacked

Cant believe the news today as Bono would put it. Spillane attacked by Donegal Fans? I dont think the man deserves to be physically assaulted despite what he says in his punditry. And the odd thing is he has been quite fair to Donegal this year acknowledging that they are more of an attacking side. Disgraceful behaviour from some of the Donegal fans, brings shame on Ulster.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 06/09/2012 14:18:51    1260733

they were just giving him an example of the zealous Donegal tackling system, wont do him one bit of harm.

Regards
Arrogant Dublin fan

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 06/09/2012 14:20:02    1260734

Unfortunately there are muppets everywhere. There is no excuse for such behaivour and its something that would disgust every GAA follower. Disgraceful!

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 06/09/2012 14:20:40    1260735

I've been supporting Donegal for over 30 years and always prided myself on being a Donegal fan but if what Pat says is true this is the lowest I have felt in them 30 years. The Cork game to me showed the passion that the Donegal players and fans have but unfortunately some of these so called fans have tarnished the name of Donegal fans and should be ashamed of themselves. I can guarantee these are not true fans and wouldn't know what a Mc Kenna Cup match night is like!! I have rarely seen a problem with violence at a GAA match and never by a Donegal fan so it appals me to see this.

To Pat Spillane and his family, I may not always agree with your appraisal on matches but I respect your right to opinion and I can only speak for myself when I say that I am truly sorry that it was a fellow county man of mine that carried out this attack and would hope that the rest of the country realise that true Donegal GAA fans would want no part in such a disgusting act and hopefully we true fans can start to re-build what is now a tarnished image of the Donegal fan.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 06/09/2012 14:31:02    1260753

Don't recall ever hearing of any other supporters attacking Pat I have to say now DL.....

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/09/2012 14:32:29    1260754

Anyone attacking any man of 60 odds is just a pure s**mbag and coward, imagine if that was an assault on your father/grandfather etc? Having said that words can be very emotive and those in the public eye should think and reflect on what they say and do, their actions and outpourings reach a large audience and some people do react to them. Spillane should be responsible and fair in what he says instead of pushing his own agenda against Ulster.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 06/09/2012 14:35:17    1260755

This is a shameful incident and I whole-heartedly condemn the drunken imbeciles involved. Every county has that minority, who turn up on the good days, drunk and boorish and who make a scene. All I can say is that in no way do they come close to representing the true Donegal GAA fan. It was probably the likes of them who started the Olés near the end of the Cork match...absolutely disgusted. But you know what? Whatever about attending a GAA match these types of idiots would probably be doing something similar no matter what part of the country they choose to inflict themselves on any given weekend.

Apologies to Pat Spillane from a genuine Donegal fan.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 06/09/2012 14:39:44    1260758

Ulsterman what any person in the public eye says or does is completely and utterly irrelevant. It is Spillane's job, just as it is Brolly's, to be controversial and outspoken in order to encourage audiences to watch.

The idea that some people have an excuse that they were "riled up" by comments made by him is pathetic beyond words.

I know you are condemning what happened also but think that Spillane's football opinions and outspoken nature should not even be brought into the conversation.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 06/09/2012 14:45:42    1260761

Ulsterman

1260755 Anyone attacking any man of 60 odds is just a pure s**mbag and coward, imagine if that was an assault on your father/grandfather etc? Having said that words can be very emotive and those in the public eye should think and reflect on what they say and do, their actions and outpourings reach a large audience and some people do react to them. Spillane should be responsible and fair in what he says instead of pushing his own agenda against Ulster.

cant believe you are trying to validate this behavior?

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 06/09/2012 14:48:01    1260763

I do not condone this violent and thuggish behaviour... obviously carried out by a bunch of cowardly simpletons

But

Has he had this coming...? Has he brought this upon himself?

You can't keep on making the comments he's made on our national broadcaster for the entire country to hear.

Branding counties "Puke" using the term "S****te" to describe a county... I mean... it's incredible he still has a job.

He's been hugely outspoken and some of his phrases in my eyes have been hate filled and have in fact incited this violence.

He's been walking a very dangerous line... you have to be take into account the level of reach that some of his outlandish comments may have had.

There are dangerous people out there.

... Would he have got a belt in the guts if he hadn't taken it upon himself to insult thousands of people live on TV?

I hope the culprits can be identified...

I also hope that Pat takes a step back and really thinks about the impact of his comments.

Words are a very powerful thing... especially when they are broadcast live to the entire nation.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 14:48:43    1260765

Just hearing this now i just cant get my head around this i did see him leave croker the day of the semi final walking to his car and people were having the craic with him never noticed him getting bunched or pushed to the ground??? But people do not tar us donegal folk all with the one brush. the so called donegal supporters who done this are a bunch of wasters and more or less a bunch of bandwagon supporters.

apple12 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 06/09/2012 14:49:12    1260768

No reflection on Donegal supporters as a whole, few idiots found in every counties following.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 06/09/2012 14:49:19    1260769

Horrible thing to have happened. Opinions and personality aside no true Gael would assault anyone never mind someone with 8 All Ireland medals.

Donegal fans are the best fans in the country - those responsible for this are not Donegal fans or true Gaels. They are drunken thugs who were probably on their first trip to Croke Park. Unfortunately, it really does tarnish the rest of us.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 06/09/2012 14:51:15    1260770

Having said that words can be very emotive and those in the public eye should think and reflect on what they say and do, their actions and outpourings reach a large audience and some people do react to them

I've worked in broadcasting my entire adult life.

I've worked in the BBC with some of the leading soccer pundits and I can tell you now...

You wouldnt have seen them make the same level of comments that Pat Spillane have made.

Ulsterman - Your above comment is absolutely true.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/09/2012 14:52:35    1260773

I am not trying to validate this behaviour, I have condemned it but reiterate that unfair, bitter, spiteful comments and words from the media can be cutting and offensive to people and they can and do react as we have seen these past few weeks in North Belfast.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 06/09/2012 14:55:30    1260777

A disgrace if this alleged incident actually did happen, sadly we'll never know for certain because Pat, for whatever reason, won't go to the Police about it. But if you are deliberately provocative then some idiots will respond and some will respond with violence. It reminds me of the Neil Lennon situation last year with Celtic, he antagonised opposing fans to the point where he got a reaction from a tiny minority. Saying that though if this alleged incident did occur then I hope those who are responsible are dealt with, there's no excuse for such behaviour

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 06/09/2012 14:56:22    1260778

Reminds me of when a Dublin player with his mot was beaten by mayo supporters in Coppers after the 2006 semi final!
Disgraceful!

Why does that cavan lad sign off as an 'arrogant Dublin poster'??......Its like as if anyone except a Dublin man is allowed to comment on this!!...whats his beef??!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/09/2012 14:58:02    1260782

Quick,.. whats Joe Duffys number?

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 06/09/2012 14:58:36    1260783

Branding counties "Puke" using the term "S****te" to describe a county

S****te was to describe Doengal's style of play not county in 2011. We wasn't wrong. Very few disagreed with him including Brolly.
Pat's been full of praise of them this year.

As for 'Puke'. That was almost 10 years ago. Get over it!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/09/2012 14:59:30    1260785