Dublin - Two in a row

Liamwalkinstown

Hoor would u believe I completely forgot ye did that!!
Feckin Awesome
6 finals in a row and how many wins....4 isnt it?
And some people say ye werent the team of the decade!!!

Cheek!

You're forgiven Liam!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/08/2012 15:30:55    1254974

Dubs did 6 in a row in the 70's

Of course there was no back door back then....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 15:37:53    1254989

to be honest hoor, i think that kerry team and their achievments are taken for granted at this stage, hence
me forgetting that!!!
Tells you all you need to know about them tho!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:38:26    1254992

Jimbo i said that in my earlier post there also
some achievment

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:45:21    1255010

To be a proper All Ireland champion you have to beat Kerry in Croke Park. Dublin yes last year but if they win this year devalued.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 29/08/2012 15:47:46    1255015

If Dublin win Sam again this year, they have to be considered the first great side of this decade. It's tough enough getting to two finals in a row, never mind winning two in a row. Not even the great Tyrone team reached consecutive finals. Only Kerry, Cork and Armagh have done so in recent years. And Dublin in 94 and 95 again.

More luck to Dublin if they pull it off.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/08/2012 15:49:11    1255021

RKF, nothing but nothing but nothing is as good as beating Kerry in Croke Park
your dead right
if we win it this year it wont be devalued, but it wont be greeted with the same manic scenes of delirium as last year :)
wont be too far off it , but beating Kerry, thats the daddy :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:51:38    1255025

Real Kerry Fan

To be a proper All Ireland champion you have to beat Kerry in Croke Park. Dublin yes last year but if they win this year devalued.

Total rubbish.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 29/08/2012 15:58:35    1255033

I think its becoming harder and harder for teams to win back to back championships nowadays, especially with all the effort they put in for the first title. You never saw Tyrone win a back to back title. Could it be that these teams put such hard work and commitment into one year that they cannot replicate it for the following year..? I would be very surprised should Donegal win the All-Ireland this year that they could go for another one straight away. At the end of the day these guys aren't full time professionals and surely as extreme as Donegal's training is supposed to be, isn't burnout likely to occur..?

At present Dublin could buckle that trend which would be quite remarkable, but yet it still remains to be seen whether they can replicate their form of last year.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 29/08/2012 16:05:56    1255039

There's a lot of rubbish talk on this thread about in house fighting amongst the players and about sponsorship deals and all ,complete rubbish the team spirit is better than its ever been and after the week in Kerry there flying. After the Laois game there was an incident but it has nothing to do with the panel as a whole only one player and it has no affect on other players.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2012 16:19:04    1255063

Royalclass
As I've said previously I read an article by Tadgh Kennelly who outlined the training regime of the AFL players and how their lifespan at the top was 4 - 5 years. It could be the case that teams putting the extreme work into fitness and conditioning will only last with their county for that time before their bodies break down, the key then will be to add to the squad every year to keep the team at the top. 2 and 3 in a row might become more difficult but could happen. I can see the day of a player representing his county from teens to 30's becoming a thing of the past!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 29/08/2012 16:23:21    1255070

I think the more worrying thing if Dublin don't win it this year will be certain elements of the media will claim Dublin's win last year was a fluke with late controversial frees (kildare donegal kerry.) That i feel would be a injustice to the team as regardless of how they won they were best team last year and although i can't see Dublin coming within a asses roar of donegal, their achievement last year should not be devalued. And for that alone id like to see them do it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2012 16:40:25    1255090

Good sides win All Ireland great sides retain it. Are Dublin a good or great side i guess we'll find out!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3630 - 29/08/2012 18:48:49    1255236

Gaa_lover
County: USA

1255236 Good sides win All Ireland great sides retain it. Are Dublin a good or great side i guess we'll find out!

Think thats about right.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/08/2012 19:13:55    1255257

Im very sorry, but you do not 'win' back to back All Irelands if one of them is via the BACKDOOR!!....its tainted!

Remember the age old saying in the GAA: "An All Ireland 'won' without your province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"

Cringeworthy to think anybody can claim 'back to backs' have come via the back door!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/08/2012 19:22:46    1255262

Question for yous; so if Donegal win it this year and next year does that make them a great team? Cause for me there not a great team it's there system that is great. For me this is no good for the game of football cause when everyone copies Donegal its going to be terrible to watch. Basically I'm very worried for the future of our game. Donegal people are blinded and I don't blame them but there has to be a bigger picture here for the game of football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2012 19:23:20    1255264

Snufalufagus

1255262 Im very sorry, but you do not 'win' back to back All Irelands if one of them is via the BACKDOOR!!....its tainted!

Remember the age old saying in the GAA: "An All Ireland 'won' without your province is not an All Ireland 'won' at all!!"

Cringeworthy to think anybody can claim 'back to backs' have come via the back door!!

The Dubs have been the worst team to win sam over the past 20 years. It will be like 95 all over again.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 29/08/2012 20:04:25    1255288

Question for yous; so if Donegal win it this year and next year does that make them a great team?

________

BLASPHEMY !!

Donegal are already a great team !! They are the team of the decade , The team of the century

Jimmys winning matches ....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/08/2012 20:19:30    1255299

kerryrowz

The Dubs have been the worst team to win sam over the past 20 years. It will be like 95 all over again.

An allireland win.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/08/2012 20:24:16    1255302

1255264 Question for yous; so if Donegal win it this year and next year does that make them a great team? Cause for me there not a great team it's there system that is great. For me this is no good for the game of football cause when everyone copies Donegal its going to be terrible to watch. Basically I'm very worried for the future of our game. Donegal people are blinded and I don't blame them but there has to be a bigger picture here for the game of football.

Dublin do the exact same thing as Donegal, the difference this year is that Donegal do it better. When Dublin don't have the ball, how many men do they have back in their own half???? Usually 13 is the answer. Don't get me wrong, it obviously worked very well last year and so far this year, hence ye are All Ireland Champs and in the last 4 this year. But to say the Donegal style of play makes you worried for the future of our game is very hypocrital, you should be looking closer to home if you're going down that route.

Boherman (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 29/08/2012 21:27:22    1255351