Dublin - Two in a row

Heard similar things about all things not being rosy about a month ago.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 29/08/2012 12:18:44    1254707

If this Dublin team wins 2 in a row, they will be rightly regarded as being as good a team as has played football in 20 years
As good as any Tyrone or Kerry team
If they win it, and they might, they can rightly lay claim to something Tyrone couldnt do and can rightfully claim to be on a par with any team to play football for years

Many here will still refuse to accept it and will still refer to them as a tin pot team but it wont matter a jot.

IF they do it....IF...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 12:20:23    1254711

Heard similar things about all things not being rosy about a month ago.
sedico , 29/08/2012 at 12:18

Elaborate so.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 29/08/2012 12:24:57    1254718

I know the Dubs on here won't like to admit it - but I'm sure there is a growing optimism that they this team could create their own small piece of history by being the first Dublin in 35 years to do back to back. Interesting to see what sort of stir this will create after next Sunday. I can't see anything other than a Dublin victory

______

I'd be the first to admit im confident of Dublin winning Sam, I'm convinced if we get past Mayo we would beat Donegal but at the moment i'm only concerned about the threat Mayo pose to us on Sunday, And anybody who thinks they dont pose a great threat i would say are mad. We dont fear Mayo but we certainly arent taking them lightly, You can be sure nobody in the Dublin camp is treating this game as a gull gone conclusion , We are well aware of what Mayo can do, Just look at what they done to us in the league back in late march. We are looking forward to sunday , And hopefully a chance of getting to another final , But all year the aim has be to win it and ive been confident we can do that ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/08/2012 12:30:14    1254725

If I did elaborate it wouldnt get past the mods.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 29/08/2012 12:38:11    1254732

Culann I tried to elaborate but unfortunately admin won't post it. Player bust up, rows about sponsorship and off the field indiscipline in a nutshell.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8403 - 29/08/2012 12:41:14    1254738

Culann I tried to elaborate but unfortunately admin won't post it. Player bust up, rows about sponsorship and off the field indiscipline in a nutshell.

All rubbish if you ask me and It won't matter a jot after we beat you on Sunday. I guess you will then start a thread 'why Dublin will not beat Donegal'

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 29/08/2012 12:58:26    1254756

It certainly isn't rubbish, the off the field indiscipline with one player will be public knowledge before the end of the year. I am not saying we will beat you due to this, player bust ups can galvanise teams as well. Just letting you know it is not all rubbish that's all.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8403 - 29/08/2012 13:05:04    1254765

If Dublin pull it off I will be the first to acknowledge them as a great side. We'll know a lot more about where they are on Sunday.
If they win in style it will set up a great final with nothing between the two sides. A lot of the hype around Donegal at the moment is because Dublin's form hasn't been great up to now. Sunday could change all that.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/08/2012 13:27:06    1254794

If Dublin beat Mayo then Donegal will not stand in their way. Dublin have been there and done it, and will be raging hot favourites and rightly so ;)

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 29/08/2012 13:29:04    1254797

MuckrossHead

1254794 If Dublin pull it off I will be the first to acknowledge them as a great side. We'll know a lot more about where they are on Sunday.
If they win in style it will set up a great final with nothing between the two sides. A lot of the hype around Donegal at the moment is because Dublin's form hasn't been great up to now. Sunday could change all that.
_________

Hopefully says you...

At the end of the day... we didnt beat Kerry and Cork in our last two games. Both of which needed late goals to paper over their obvious cracks that were exposed by Donegal.

Donegal won those games far more comfortably than the score board suggested.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 13:43:06    1254822

TheFlaker

1254765 It certainly isn't rubbish, the off the field indiscipline with one player will be public knowledge before the end of the year. I am not saying we will beat you due to this, player bust ups can galvanise teams as well. Just letting you know it is not all rubbish that's all

+1. It'll all come out eventually.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 29/08/2012 13:57:23    1254835

It would be quite a feat if Dublin were to retain Sam. I always said good teams win All-Irelands but great teams win back to back titles. However, Mayo will be a serious banana skin. Their midfield is very powerful and their defense is quite solid but their Achilles heel might be their creativity up front against a very strong Dublin defense. If Dublin's finishing continues to be as inconsistent as it has been then they might not see this one out. Alan Brogan's contribution will be pivotal if he even does play.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 29/08/2012 14:21:57    1254865

2 IN A ROW OH DONT YOU KNOW....................
COME ON THE DUBS..............

premiumdub (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 29/08/2012 14:35:35    1254887

MuckrossHead

1254794 If Dublin pull it off I will be the first to acknowledge them as a great side. We'll know a lot more about where they are on Sunday.

a 1 pt win will do just nicely for dublin thanks,wouldnt like to take all the hype away from donegal yea really deserve it .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 29/08/2012 14:45:05    1254908

I see the bould Jamie Clarke of Armagh is tipping the Dubs to win Sam

Good man Jamie :) I always liked that name....Jamie!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:01:23    1254922

Two in a row would be some achievement, especially these days. Still a bit to go to match Kerry who not only did it in 06/07 but also did it reaching 6 All-Irelands in a row.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 29/08/2012 15:07:25    1254927

bangbang, which six a row is this? Are u talking about in the 70/80's?
we did that ourselves actually between 74 and 79 and we won 2 in a row in 77,78 and had won one in 74 also

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:12:19    1254937

Liamwalkinstown

bangbang, which six a row is this? Are u talking about in the 70/80's?
we did that ourselves actually between 74 and 79 and we won 2 in a row in 77,78 and had won one in 74 also

He's talking about Kerry playing in 6 Finals in a row from 2004 to 2009.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/08/2012 15:20:46    1254959

Hoor would u believe I completely forgot ye did that!!
Feckin Awesome
6 finals in a row and how many wins....4 isnt it?
And some people say ye werent the team of the decade!!!

Cheek!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2012 15:25:34    1254966