Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

I hope your apologies are as forthcoming lads...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2012 14:04:05    1259843

The same could easily be said about your own approach.
Turing a blind eye to such antics.

What game were you watching...

Anyway..I'm blue in the face saying it... well done, you deserved to win.. when you actually played a bit of football.

You'll be found wanting in a couple of weeks though.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 14:10:51    1259854

yew_tree

Pat McEneaney not happy with Mayo.....oh boo hoo - the feeling is mutual. Horan was dead right to mention the issue there, an issue which was brought up by a national reporter at the press night. In the past Mayo sat back and took everything coming our way and now a bit of cynical fouling and its outcry.

I though O'Se's piece was lazy enough to be honest. He failed to mention the Dublin dominance as being partly down to Kevin going off the field in a head clash. He al;so seemed to laugh at the way Mayo fans were blind to 50/50 decisions and could only see the Mayo side of things......where was the surprise there Darragh? - I doubt he would have said that about Kerry fans.

Better team national media - time to move on - The Dublin fans have and are not complaining.

Take everything Darragh writes or says with a pinch of salt.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/09/2012 14:13:42    1259857

Ah here...

I'll stop

Not fair winding you boys up... as I said several times.. better team won.

It's over. Just got sorted for a ticket on Sunday... what a battle we have... but sure we'll give it our best (I hope) cant be any worse than last year! (I hope)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 14:16:34    1259859

1259843 link

That's just someone repreating what Horan said! I hope you are not writing a phd. Need better sources than that.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/09/2012 14:19:31    1259864

i suspect pat mc enaney is just attempting to distance referees but in particular himself from any such practice...........look here when this story surfaced first dublin didn't refute it neither did joe himself nor did pat mcenaney............i imagine their would be serious implications for any referee who was found to be in cahoots with one team over another...........mcenaney's name has been mentioned to a degree that he too has been involved in a similar practice in the past and i don't think that would sit to well with the monaghan whistler to be honest..........the gaa don't like stories of this nature or similar that might reflect badly on the organisation..............this new development is just their way of clearing things up to be honest .........bit like when they came out and said the big screen/video evidence wasn't used to award dublin a point in their leinster final game with meath.......it was, we all know it was, but look if it's what they want us to believe well what the hell............by the way didn't darragh o'she say live on tv3 that star wasn't inside the square when he latched on to a ball in the game with donegal recently........the 2 other other pundits and mat cooper laughed at him..............a blind man could see star was in the square.............i wouldn't put much credence on what darragh would say after that...........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 05/09/2012 14:21:00    1259866

hurlingdub

1259864 TheMaster

1259843 link

That's just someone repreating what Horan said! I hope you are not writing a phd. Need better sources than that.

Sometimes not saying anything at all is better... he would have made several more references to it and made himself look even more daft..

Hurlingdub you're too honest. I respect that... you put him out of his misery. I would have let him dig the hole a little deeper before throwing him a rope...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 14:23:32    1259869

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

More conspiracies...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 14:27:11    1259879

hurlingdub, it is written by an umpire with years of experience at the top level, not to mention the inside track on what refs are doing what. The guy isnt from mayo, so starting a thread called 'mayo lies' isnt quite accurate is it? Will you be retracting it?
Also he makes the point that mc enaney is the guy selecting who gets what as regards games. That kinda renders his input on the matter as null and void, it is like turkeys voting for christmas, of course he is going to back him man, and by extension, excuse himself from totally overlooking it. The real issue here is if it was so untrue then why werent they saying it from the start? I think they should be taken to task over it, and I think the dubs need to take a look at he bigger picture. It was dublin this time, it might be dublin's opponents next time. The refs messed this situation up badly and trying to bully-boy their way out of it after the event shouldnt cut it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2012 14:34:07    1259888

gammy knee

it really doesnt matter to you anything invloving dublin means its always dublin in the wrong.

the master

why didnt dublin complain whine becuase they had a match to concentrate on regardless of what you say about the ref he is still going to ref the match i for one would rather focus on how to win the match the week of the game then have a war of words with rival mangers or officials in the media,simple fact most countys dont like dublin people anyway so i always feel the refs are of the same opinion so why make it worse by complaining about it the week of a match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2012 16:12:22    1259989

Interesting arcticle in the independent by Martin Brehany. Talking about injuries and stoppages. He claimed 8 mins of time added on would have been a fair amount at the end of the game. Another spots reporter claimed Mayo spent 17 of 35 mins in the second half feigning injury. Ps he wasnt a Dub!

Fair play to Mayo.....took their scores well.....

But 17 mins of time wasting is a disgrace. And Sunday game on Sunday night showed Varly broke his nose trying to shoulder a Dublin player off the ball.

Need the buzzer in ladies Gaa.....take timing away from ref.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2012 16:48:32    1260039

No not dublin, Im talking about the referess themselves. I mean surely if they were innocent then at the very least their professionalism and good name was being questioned? Also, it would be a bit much for dublin to complain when what was being said was 100% accurate. They werent thinking 'how dare they say that', they were thinking 'we could be in trouble here'. Also, the 'mayo lies' comment. This has been proven as inaccurate. Are you retracting it?

Jimbo must have got lost, he was all over this thread until it was pointed out that the article was from an umpire.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2012 16:53:18    1260046

the master

i never said anything about mayo lies.quite simply its over you should just move on and concentrate on yu team in the final instead of trying to argue

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2012 17:01:28    1260059

JayP
Eight mins was added near enough anyway.

What sports writer said this about 17 mins?

Mayo won the game by 2 points to one in the last ten mins btw.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/09/2012 17:03:44    1260064

all this bs about time wasting and the amount of time that was added on at the end is just pure silly...............dublin got the same playing time as mayo..........i don't know why dublin people could have any complaints about the time played or blame time wasting etc for failing to win...........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 05/09/2012 17:23:19    1260085

hill16no1man, apologies, I confused you with hurlingdub.

JayP
Keane went down twice with cramp. The second time he was substituted immediatly. McLoughlin went down with a gash on his head and was bleeding heavily. A O'Shea went down with cramp also, having missed most of the year, he was also substituted.

Im not getting the time wasting thing.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2012 17:30:13    1260092

Its a pity cause he was one of the better refs in the country. I think he proved his bias on Sunday though.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 05/09/2012 17:31:02    1260093

the master

no problem easy mistake.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2012 20:01:15    1260213

When counting time remember that its not like soccer were 30 secs is added for a substitute!!!! No time is added.

Also a referee has the right to stop the game for injury but not for cramp.

No complaints about the ref on Sunday, got things right and right.

Disgusted though with the people and the media who reported and repeated internet lies about him reffing Dublin A v B games.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/09/2012 09:46:51    1260447

This thread should be closed. It's a crackpot thread and belongs on a conspiracy theory website. HS do the right thing.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 06/09/2012 09:54:56    1260453