Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

This was posted as a new thread but because the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

hurlingdub
Dublin

05/09/2012
08:15

Mayo lies

Turns out that McQuillan has never taken a Dublin training match.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 05/09/2012 08:58:20    1259504

This was posted as a new thread but because the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

hurlingdub
Dublin

05/09/2012
08:15

Mayo lies

Turns out that McQuillan has never taken a Dublin training match.
Administrator , 05/09/2012 at 08:58

I know. As I said in many posts yesterday I feel Maigh Eo have brought cynisism/cheating within the GAA to a different level. Two blood subs put on with fresh legs in the last ten minutes who finished the game. No rules were broken but thats not right.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/09/2012 09:11:57    1259511

Very interesting piece in the Examiner yesterday based on interview with Pat McEneaney.

He is clearly not pleased with the stuff Mayo came out with about McQuillan and the fact that Flynn and others jumped on the band wagon without knowing the facts.

He is right however in that Dublin should have issued a statement last week. Sometimes our refusal to engage in gutter politics is a fault.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/09/2012 09:40:29    1259521

Not one of those people here who accused Dublin and McQuillan of basically attempting to fix a game have had the graciousness to apologise now that the whole thing was based on a cyncial lie.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/09/2012 12:14:23    1259697

A very good article from Daragh O'Se in this morning's Times. More or less agrees that McQuillan gave Mayo most of the close calls and took no action whatsoever to tackle the time wasting, feigning injury etc. of Mayo. Now i do not think most of you anti Dubs on this forum can accuse Daragh of being a Dub!!! So much for the crap about mcQuillan favouring Dublin - I just think he is a bad ref who gets it wrong in most games.
BTW any comme nts on the bias of that so called analyst Mcstay - looking forward to his analysis of the final after SAM is heading to Donegal!!!!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 05/09/2012 12:21:47    1259710

Worst error he made Sunday was turning his back on play in the first half when a Mayo player hopped the ball twice, a score followed then I think.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 05/09/2012 12:29:53    1259717

Wow can't believe how people just jump on something because of who said it, there is no merit in his article whatsoever, he uses hardly any actual incidents , he says four decisions went our way but never says what they were.

My main objection to the rules that were broken and not the right course of action taken would be ROC should of walked, absolute disgrace the way he threw an injured man about the place.

If you foul a player going towards the goal, its a free kick, you got your frees, simple as that, there is no sinbin in our game and there is no such thing as a professional foul , Mayo were punished accordingly, same as every other team.

The cramp thing that everyone keeeps harping on about, its been happening for years and again , Mayo did not break any rules.

You would think Mayo invented this stuff this weekend the way people are talking.

Mayo won fair and square, sin e.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/09/2012 12:34:49    1259726

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Worst error he made Sunday was turning his back on play in the first half when a Mayo player hopped the ball twice, a score followed then I think.

yeah agree with you there and from a kickout at 8v5 i think it was fennell won a ball and was fouled and he gave mayo the free which they got a score straight from

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2012 12:41:41    1259733

You are missing the point.

Lies about told about McQuillan reffing Dubs practice games. He didn't but the lies in all likelihood had an impact on the match and the way it was reffed.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/09/2012 12:48:16    1259744

Pat McEneaney not happy with Mayo.....oh boo hoo - the feeling is mutual. Horan was dead right to mention the issue there, an issue which was brought up by a national reporter at the press night. In the past Mayo sat back and took everything coming our way and now a bit of cynical fouling and its outcry.

I though O'Se's piece was lazy enough to be honest. He failed to mention the Dublin dominance as being partly down to Kevin going off the field in a head clash. He al;so seemed to laugh at the way Mayo fans were blind to 50/50 decisions and could only see the Mayo side of things......where was the surprise there Darragh? - I doubt he would have said that about Kerry fans.

Better team national media - time to move on - The Dublin fans have and are not complaining.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11733 - 05/09/2012 12:55:55    1259755

Wow can't believe how people just jump on something because of who said it, there is no merit in his article whatsoever, he uses hardly any actual incidents , he says four decisions went our way but never says what they were.

My main objection to the rules that were broken and not the right course of action taken would be ROC should of walked, absolute disgrace the way he threw an injured man about the place.

If you foul a player going towards the goal, its a free kick, you got your frees, simple as that, there is no sinbin in our game and there is no such thing as a professional foul , Mayo were punished accordingly, same as every other team.

The cramp thing that everyone keeeps harping on about, its been happening for years and again , Mayo did not break any rules.

You would think Mayo invented this stuff this weekend the way people are talking.

Mayo won fair and square, sin e.
51longago , 05/09/2012 at 12:34

Answer this honestly 51notlongenough. If these things happened against Mayo would your opinion be any different. Answer it honestly (or in a way that appears to be honest) and I for one will say no more on the matter.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/09/2012 13:10:17    1259780

Yew Tree, how was Horan right in "raising the issue"!!!!!

Dublin never fkn ever had McQuillan at a training session. He lied.

This and the other shennagains may backfire on you.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/09/2012 13:20:58    1259786

Culann
You're missing my point, i agree with you in terms of the rules have to change and the game has to be looked at because of the road we are heading down but Mayo were punished accordingly to the rules of the game in their present mode.

The lazy journalism nowadays is getting beyond description , i don't hardly bother with it tbh, there are better more informative posters on forums like this even.

We were told by all in sundry for years we were not cynical enough , now we join the club and we are near told we invented the stuff.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/09/2012 13:38:38    1259801

hurlingdub

Dublin never fkn ever had McQuillan at a training session. He lied.
This and the other shennagains may backfire on you.

No need for language like that lad. Then why did the media and the Dublin camp not correct him? As for "other shennagains" that other teams have been getting away with for years.....I couldn't care less mate. I have watched Mayo loose to many Final's to care how we win once anymore. I would die happy seeing my county win sam. In the past we have been shouted down for not being cynical enough.

If similar incidents come against us in a final, so be it - at least we will have gone down fighting this time. Also the whole issue of Mayo tactics and time washing is a non issue at this stage. Time to move on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11733 - 05/09/2012 13:42:03    1259805

Mayo's antics wont be nearly enough against Donegal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 13:43:25    1259806

I must say on the positive side for Dublin it was great to see S.Cluxton's fitness level increase dramatically this year. He managed to sprint up to take the final free.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 05/09/2012 13:50:14    1259815

Mquillan did ref AvB games with Dublin but when it came out, Mcennaney came out with he hadn't done one in two years, i actually don't believe that tbh as it took him too long to make the statement , it was more than likely workrd out that it couldn't be proved he had done one in that tomescale so they went with it, either way you're wrong as he most certainly had done them at some stage, that much is certain.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/09/2012 13:55:04    1259823

I read Darragh's article and fairly good. He pointed out about Mayo's late fouls but more or less said fair play to them,all teams do it. Also remember Darragh's comments after last year's final where he said that after the Dublin goal Kerry should have started a row to break up the flow of the game!Mayo got some ref breaks in first half but Dublin got them in the second. A late 45 that Cluxton scored was clearly wide and McQuillan played 1 min 50 secs over the alotted 'added time' Last year he added 5 secs.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 05/09/2012 13:56:20    1259826

Jimbo and Culann, ye are letting your county down with this rubbish. First off before you even start, what proof do you have that the A v B thing isnt true? Secondly, if wasnt James Horan who started that rumour, it appeared in an article that had nothing to do with mayo long before that.
Finally, culann, you have claimed over and over that mayo were diving in the game, I have asked you to give examples several times and you ahve ignored it. Another dublin poster agreed that there was no diving. So lts have it, where are these dives?

And then they try to start a thread called mayo lies?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2012 13:57:59    1259831

Ok so.

Did Joe ref Dublin A v B games?

Not that theres anything wrong with that

BUT

Horan should really have his facts straight before going to the newspapers... if anyone influenced the ref before the game

It was from the Mayo camp...

Seems Mayo used just about every dirty trick in the book... I've never witnessed such a level of codology in all my days attending games in Croke Park.

Its good to see it highlighted by former players and former refs

You'd swear some of these Mayo lads were watching a different game. I was even starting to doubt myself...

At least we bust them up a bit... if they want to roll around on the ground after every feckin tackle... we might as well make it worth their while.

For shame Mayo GAA... enjoy your dirty final.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/09/2012 13:58:56    1259832