Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

ClassApart

1258214 Culann - The better team won, get over it. For once no matter what the ref did Dublin were not going to win. Great to see the boo boys on the hill silenced.

I know. I have stated that a few times already today. There is no doubt about that. The better team won. What agrieves though is the new level of synicism Maigh Eo reached on their way to victory. I can understand the time wasting and the taking down of players outside the 21 as they are going through on goal but the diving was very sad and Horan trying to influence the referee before hand saying that he was refereeing Dubs training games. Just a number of things that left a sour taste! We can let on those things didn't happen or we can discuss them here.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 03/09/2012 15:07:21    1258239

Just on viewing the game yesterday, there seemed to be numerous basic mistakes/fouls/handling errors on both sides. There were lots of foul throws that were not pulled up and one or two double-hops that went unnoticed.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/09/2012 15:26:42    1258265

I was at the game and I have to say that I felt a lot of the injuries 'feigned' by Mayo were genuine. The referee approved 3 blood subs, you have Varley's belt in the face, Kevin Mc's knock in the head, the disloacted finger to name a few. Also the game was stopped for Kevin Keane a few times. It was obvious whenever he tried to sprint a few yards he was cramping up. I dont blame him for going down but there was no need in those situations for the ref to stop the game. I can understand the Dubs frustration but I think there is a bit too much focus being put on it.

If I was a Dub supporter I would be most aggravated about the constant cynical fowling going unpunished. Now don't get me wrong I do it myself when I am playing, but generally one does it with the knowledge that you would be likely to get booked for it.

Either way I'm delighted with the win and I have to say any of the Dublin supporters I met afterwards were not begrudging of it in the slightest. Roll on Donegal!

Doritos (Mayo) - Posts: 64 - 03/09/2012 15:36:57    1258276

Always think lads are entitled to have a go off the ref if its merited. In this case its not so move on Cualann et al.

Ye're future is bright indeed so ye've that to look forward to. Try being a Kildare man with no Ai since 1928!!!

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/09/2012 15:47:30    1258291

Says a Cill dara lad, who (Cill Dara people) are still going on about 'that free' against the Dubs in 2011 to name just one example!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 03/09/2012 15:57:17    1258304

Indeed they are. And I wish they'd whist up about it too.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/09/2012 16:51:35    1258367

For me the ref had a good game , I thought Nolans over carry free was harsh but other than that I thought he did well. For me Mayo were dead right to be cynical they knew we needed a goal and they made sure we weren't going to get one and I salute them for that. I would expect the exact same from Dublin players if it was the other way round yesterday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2012 16:59:07    1258379

If any of ye are on facebook i would advise ye yo have a look at the dubs banter page. It is the funniest thing i have ever seen with a load of senseless women going mad on it. They obviously were out making the tea when varley got a blow to the nose and then repeatedly lifted and smashed to the ground by Ro'c. Ye can talk about feigning injury all ye want but when it comes to your own team, they arent all saints either. Bernard hits the ground every time he is under pressure inside the 50. I would also love to see how much of a big man cluxton would be if Aidan or Seamie O'Shea were involved on them goal-mouth scuffles in the 2nd Half.

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 03/09/2012 17:21:00    1258402

dubs cant say anything about mayo's cynical fouling, in the leinster final dublin done alot of cynical fouling at the end to stop us getting gaols and i bet yous didnt have a problem with it then?

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 03/09/2012 17:22:28    1258403

My problem with cynical fouling is meath don't do it. We were shown a master class in it this year by laois but in particular by Dublin in the leinster final, and let's be fair that was worse than yesterday as I said non of us complained. Only hope new meath manager would tell the lads to do it if we defending a lead next year

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2012 17:55:12    1258428

One thing's for sure though, it was great to give the yella bellies another hiding at HQ. Coupled with the U21 title the future is certainly looking bright for the jackeens. Up the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 03/09/2012 18:35:26    1258459

yea this year epecially meath have suffered from cynical fouling against laois and dublin and we probly should be doing it just because everyone else seems to but id prefer if it was just stopped and punished more, rather than all teams having to do it now because some teams are doing it to them.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 03/09/2012 19:12:34    1258486

Culann. What diving are you talking about? The only dive I can remember in the entire game is Kevin McManaman on the touchline, and in all fairness to him it wasnt an awful bad one

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/09/2012 20:02:02    1258524

Culann. What diving are you talking about? The only dive I can remember in the entire game is Kevin McManaman on the touchline, and in all fairness to him it wasnt an awful bad one

Have to say I didn't see much diving. Lots of unpunished cynical fouling (Mayo not to blame but refs should punish) and lots of lying on the ground with "cramp" brought on immediately after each Dublin score it seemed. Some gamesmanship for sure but to be expected to stop the Dublin onslaught in the last 20. Dubs left themselves too much to do. Simple as that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 03/09/2012 21:48:17    1258624

Are you serious? Time wasting by pretending to be injured? I suppose a possible broken nose, a lasseration to the head and a badly dislocated finger are all make belief injuries so? Mayo slowed the game down but did not go out of their way to waste time.

Now pipe down, finish your evening meal of sour grapes and come back next year when ye have a team capable of competing with Mayo.

razor99 (Mayo) - Posts: 186 - 03/09/2012 21:57:25    1258631

sedico

1258291 Always think lads are entitled to have a go off the ref if its merited. In this case its not so move on Cualann et al.

I have just read that again. What is it about people on this site? I never once said anything about the ref apart from saying that he had no bearing on the result. Is it that you want me to be giving off about the ref or something? What's wrong with you man? I thought the ref was consistent if nothign else. If you are going to come on here cririzising me do not misquote me please or make up things I didn't say.

Ye're future is bright indeed so ye've that to look forward to. Try being a Kildare man with no Ai since 1928!!!

I wouldn't say that is easy and would love to see you make a breakthrough but without SJ. I think yopu might have cursed yourself however. I am very piseogach (superstitious as Béarla I think). However, i do believe that a strong Cill Dara, An Mhí, Loch Garman, Laois agus An Longfort is good for the Dubs.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 08:55:38    1258653

Are you serious? Time wasting by pretending to be injured? I suppose a possible broken nose, a lasseration to the head and a badly dislocated finger are all make belief injuries so? Mayo slowed the game down but did not go out of their way to waste time.

Now pipe down, finish your evening meal of sour grapes and come back next year when ye have a team capable of competing with Mayo.
razor99 , 03/09/2012 at 21:57

Come on Dún na nGall. This Dub is rooting for you. If someone lends me a Dún na nGall jersey I'll promise to wear it with pride.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 09:17:02    1258666

For me Mayo were dead right to be cynical they knew we needed a goal and they made sure we weren't going to get one and I salute them for that. I would expect the exact same from Dublin players if it was the other way round yesterday.

And people talk about Donegal ruining football!!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 04/09/2012 10:10:04    1258699

id say james horan studies the owl gaa rule book before he goes to bed though
8 subs he used and kept on the blood subs that didnt actualy have to go off,i always thaught if you were over a certain time on the pitch it became a permanent sub you would imagine it should but its not whats to stop team doctors bringing in a little razor and nicking a player finger to use up another sub.
had a plan to get players to go down injured with cramp whenever dublin score in the second half.
make sure you haul players down if they get near the 21 yard line and make sure its a differant player each time.
himself and jim mcguinness are certainly thinking outside the box to be fair and will give pat spillane blood pressure problems at this rate

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/09/2012 10:22:48    1258712

For me Mayo were dead right to be cynical they knew we needed a goal and they made sure we weren't going to get one and I salute them for that. I would expect the exact same from Dublin players if it was the other way round yesterday.

All the top teams in the country are cynical. Limerick lost to Kildare this year after E.T, Kildare got a late late point to draw it, everyone in limerick were sayin that night and next day why didnt they bring down the kildare player out the field nd slow down play r kickaway the ball. On the sunday game, Kevin Mcstay says limerick werent cynical enough in order to win the game, if this was the other way around im sure emmet bolton would have brought down ger collins if he was running through the kildare midfield r half back line.

I for one salute mayo for bringin down the dublin player in order to concede a free(s) instead of a goal(s).

TheHighFielder (Limerick) - Posts: 182 - 04/09/2012 10:36:25    1258727