Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

Not true Jayp, history has shown that referees in general have been good to Dublin when it mattered most, AI finals.
Last year was a prime example, the free that was never a free which won the game! And the same in 1995 with the
'disallowed point'! And what about what Brian Mullins and co used to get away with! Take off the blinkers lad!!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/09/2012 17:23:00    1256822

Everyone know that Kerry have been going down hill since 2009,in truth in last years final, kerry were average.

In 2012 having Joe Mcquilan as ref is a joke for the Mayo game, fair enough Dublin can get any intercounty ref A v B games but then should not be allowed to ref their games. Just shows how Mayo and James Horan has come on as a team and manager, they can bring up this matter. Mayo have been training hard all year and all could be in vain if the ref gives soft frees against them.

Mayo to win.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 01/09/2012 17:26:11    1256823

Look over the whole year Dublin deserved their win last year. However since people here are debating decisions. The free Cluxton scored was not a free and McMenamin took 8-9 steps for his goal, nobody on Rte brought it up after the game which I found laughable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 01/09/2012 17:31:43    1256828

Ah well, at least you have your excuses ready for this time tomorrow evening :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2012 17:34:47    1256831

And the penalty Dublin should have got??? Blinkers off lads ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2012 17:41:35    1256836

There will be no excuses, not from me anyway.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 01/09/2012 17:51:11    1256847

to be honest, i think the last free was a free.

but mcmenamen took too many steps, and a free was given against galvin shortly beforehand aswel, allowing dublin back into the game. .but that was last year.

at the end of the day, it is simply unfair that mcquillan is allowed to referee this match following last years final and these latest revelations.

for what its worth, i think dublin will beat mayo anyway. andy moran is too big a loss IMO.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5306 - 01/09/2012 18:02:11    1256864

Cavanman ..... they are hardly revelations. Seamus McEnaney was allowed ref Armagh and Tyrone against Dublin. And he was up there reffing their training sessions all the time. Nobody was complaining about him at the time. Psychological BS by the Mayo management. If Mayo are good enough they will beat Dublin without trying to get inside the refs head before they game.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2012 18:09:56    1256873

There will be no excuses, not from me anyway.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 01/09/2012 18:42:44    1256903

its pat mceneany

and he publicly offered his services to ANY county that wished to seek clarity on the rules of the game.

the difference here is that joe mcquillan and dublin have tried to keep this one quiet - would they do this if it was all innocent?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5306 - 01/09/2012 19:22:22    1256926

cavanman how did Dublin try to keep it quiet? I heard what happened at Armagh training sessions and beleive you me it was more than just Pat instructing them on observing the rules!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2012 19:27:35    1256929

Fair play to Seamus McEnaney, inter county manager as well as inter-county referee,
how did the GAA allow that?!
Yer a bit mixed up there jayp! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 01/09/2012 19:28:18    1256930

Jasus no wonder banty didn't cut it in meath he was too busy reffing those Armagh lads im disgusted, hehehe. Anyway it's not against the rules so Dublin have done nothing wrong but going forward it should be prohibited. Just cause Kildare can get another counties player to transfer using thirty sec playing hurling in the process and do it legally does make it right. I'm surprised at joe for allowing himself open to these accusations, he is in a no win situation, if a call goes dub way he will face accusations of helping them due to his association, if he gives one to mayo it will be cause he wanted to distance himself from Dublin. He can't win and no ref of a semi final should be in that position, think it's time to put in a code of practice regarding this in the future

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2012 20:22:47    1256966

how the hell is joe mcquillan in a no win situation ????........if he refs the game as per the gaa rule book and not his own interpretation of the rule book then nobody can have an qualms about his performance.............too many referees are applying their own take on the rules and that's the reason why we have so many disgruntled people both on and off the field.............there should be no such thing as one referee letting one thing and another not.........all referees show apply the rules the same way.......if they deviate away from the book then they should not be refereeing.............by the way what has kildare got to do with joe mcquillan refereeing dublin and kildare ?......grow up royaldunne and stop acting an age that equates to the amount of times meath have beaten kildare in recent times....

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 01/09/2012 21:36:29    1257036

Yeah guys I got his name wrong.....

About the only thing I got wrong in what I said....

Someone else has said it........lets outlaw this practice.....but until its outlawed Dublin or McQuillan have done nothing wrong. They are doing the.same thing other counties have done.for years

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/09/2012 10:03:38    1257080

Ahh jayp we all have done it with regards names etc, but my main point is that in future this should not be allowed but for now dub or any other County has done nothing wrong and cannot be accused of doing anything wrong, but in future no ref should be left in a situation where these questions are hanging over them. In meath we have a ongoing thing with a certain ref and I do think that when there is a legitimate question it should be taken on board by gaa and not appoint them to matches .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2012 11:35:07    1257122

so after all that...

Hope Gaa members will put a stop to refs colluding with intercounty teams.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 02/09/2012 18:23:01    1257443

Well as expected McQuillan tried with all his might to hand it to Dublin!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/09/2012 18:45:47    1257470

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1257470 Well as expected McQuillan tried with all his might to hand it to Dublin!

He definitely should have red carded Rory O'Carroll for man handling Enda Varley, he was looking straight at it. His umpires would have seen it also, but despite him consulting with them and his linesman he failed to send off the Dublin full back. This for me was his only real misdemeanor.

I don't think he tried with all his might to hand it to Dublin.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 02/09/2012 19:03:05    1257484

Horrendous incompetence from all the officials for the Varley / O'Carroll incident. However, Varley did himself no favours by going looking for trouble in the first place. He should have just pointed at the scoreboard and walked away if he had any sense. As it is he'll be under pressure to make the final now.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 02/09/2012 19:15:19    1257491