Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

I'm convinced that we'll get some calls... just as I'm convinced that we'll not get some calls

That's how it works.

Sometime those calls can be highlighted as important moments on either side

They can go for and against you.

Accept it lads. It's kind of how it's always worked. I'm not into conspiracy theories... you boys seem to be.

As can be clearly seen above. We don't appoint refs... we don't select where our games are played… we live by the same rule book as you do.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/08/2012 14:19:28    1256226

He doth protest too much.

It would be a shame if it turned out like last year. A lot of questions would need to be asked and a lot of answer forthcoming..

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 31/08/2012 14:20:57    1256229

sedico

1256229 He doth protest too much.

It would be a shame if it turned out like last year. A lot of questions would need to be asked and a lot of answer forthcoming..

I'm answering peoples questions.

I'm being honest. It's happened to us in the past... I accepted that it's been happening for years. How is something wrong and why should we be doing something different if it's not against the rules... I mean.. is that not logical?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/08/2012 14:29:56    1256238

Superglue

I should hope he hasn't got a big game these days as he's been retired for the last two years.

did he retire? or was he retired?

there's a difference!

a ref of pat's caliber should not be denied big games because he refuses to bow down to the GAA coffers. But he was and so had no real choice but to call it a day.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5306 - 31/08/2012 14:30:06    1256240

I have a feeling that I'll just be repeating myself on this thread.

All the answers to your questions can be found above.

Here's to a good game and lets hope Joe doesnt become the focus

but sure the ref can be in tight focus just as much as the star players. They are just as important and can win or lose a game just like any player... and all are capable of errors.

It's just the way it is.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/08/2012 14:37:10    1256251

Here's to a good game and lets hope Joe doesnt become the focus

We're even on a first name basis with him here in the capital.

;)

Joe for Lord Mayor of Dublin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/08/2012 14:48:49    1256261

Hopefully for Mayo, the sides won't be level going into injury time!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/08/2012 19:24:58    1256512

ye can always,
TALK TO JOE.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/08/2012 19:41:46    1256520

Hopefully for Mayo, the sides won't be level going into injury time!

yawn.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2865 - 01/09/2012 09:20:30    1256607

very arrogant responses from Dubs in relation to this topic.

Hopefully Mayo will do the job on ye come Sunday and do us all a favour. How can1 can justify the ref being impartial when he is working with one of the teams already is beyond me.

Joe McQuillian should be called to hand and any other ref that continues this practice.....

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 01/09/2012 13:15:18    1256690

In 2009 I made a formal and well written complaint to Croke Park about the performance of the ref in the ALL IRELAND HURLING FINAL. He hasnt reffed a big game since. I wont need to do the same for Joe.Sunday will be his last big whistling day in Croker. However, Joe, in the words of the the Glen Campbell song, will return to being " a linesman for the County"

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 01/09/2012 13:29:48    1256698

very arrogant responses from Dubs in relation to this topic.

Hopefully Mayo will do the job on ye come Sunday and do us all a favour. How can1 can justify the ref being impartial when he is working with one of the teams already is beyond me.

Joe McQuillian should be called to hand and any other ref that continues this practice.....

some very typical reponses from culchies in relation to this topic
up the dubs.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2865 - 01/09/2012 14:31:11    1256728

Ros2013
County: Roscommon

1256690 very arrogant responses from Dubs in relation to this topic.

Agree with you Sir. Dubin press and media are giving Mayo no chance, i feel Mayo will win this game on Sunday, esp now that James Horan has blown open the elephant in the room. Mayo to win, and make my Grandad proud man on Sunday. Mayo abu.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 01/09/2012 14:49:08    1256736

Dublin fans one word. Karma!

Mayo to win 2-12 to 1-14

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 01/09/2012 14:56:35    1256741

Firstly.....Joe McQuillan has given Dublin no advantage in games. Id say any examples people give on here of "soft frees" for Dublin, I guarantee in the same game he gave the other team wayyyyyyyyyyyyy more handy frees!!!!

Second thing is people saying this practice of having refs, reffing games.....should be outlawed???

Right, conflict of interest argument aside, if he is one of the best refs in the country it shouldnt matter how often he refs any team.

But think of this......if a junior soccer team organise a friendly in Ireland there has to be a match card with teams and subs listed and a qualified referee. This is for insurance reasons and in case there is a dangerous incident in the game. No think of the GAA, if you are a county team, you hardly want the local groundsman reffing your training games do you??? Do you want a poor ref who is inconsistent and will not ref like an intercounty standard? County teams get intercounty refs to ref these game:

a) Because they are intercounty players and want a ref who refs at the same standard that they are at
b) They need consistency in knowing what way they can tackle etc

Armagh, Kerry, Tyrone etc have been getting county refs to ref their training games for years. Dublin are no different. Dont see what the hullaballoooo is all about. If Mayo management think this will effect tomorrows game they are bonkers. Joe McQuillan will give Dublin a rough ride tomorrow.....he always does! Im guessing this is just Horan trying to get into the refs head to get some handy frees tomorrow. Dont worry, he will give Mayo frees all day, all they will have to do is fall on the ground.

Kilkenny also get county refs to ref their training....POINT.....everyones doing it. Dublin have just wised up and realised that other counties were trying to get every little advantage, so they are doing the same.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2012 16:58:26    1256801

They were talking about this on the radio and Bernard Flynn expressed himself as shocked that an inter county ref would referee training matches! And he's supposed to be leading pundit!!

If Mayo win tomorrow and ref is a factor then Horan can give himself a clap on the back. thankfully Dublin doen't engage in this pop psychology nonsense.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2012 17:05:19    1256807

JayP - possibly the biggest load of crap ive seen on here.

an A vs B game is a training session, in essence. joe mcquillan should not be attending dublin training sessions and certainly should not be involved in them.

and if you think he always gives you a rough ride, you must be the only dub who didn't see the 2011 all ireland final!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5306 - 01/09/2012 17:06:44    1256809

I think its a silly argument that he gives Dublin decisions in close games!!! Look over the years McQuillan has roasted Dublin!

And last years final he was man of the match for Kerry had they won. Dublin players almost need to get assassinated to get frees off most refs.

This is all irrelevent as when a team loses a tight game they ALWAYS blame the ref.

Dublin win games......and when they have won well etc.....I still give out about refs. Generally, they favour Dublins opponent. But I suppose at this stage we are just use to it so no use whining about it. Like how many other players would get sent off for tapping a fella in the tummy like Connolly did against Wexford. Nobody!!! Actually ....Paul Galvan might! But no other county player would have walked for that.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2012 17:12:48    1256810

cavanman47

JayP - possibly the biggest load of crap ive seen on here.

an A vs B game is a training session, in essence. joe mcquillan should not be attending dublin training sessions and certainly should not be involved in them.

and if you think he always gives you a rough ride, you must be the only dub who didn't see the 2011 all ireland final!

Whats wrong with what JayP said??
An A v B game is a training session but many teams will benefit more if that game is reffed by a full time ref rather than a coach as they learn more about what refs will let flow etc and the training session is more matchlike than if a coach/selector etc is reffing.
The pro's in rugby, soccer etc all get training sessions with top refs like top level rugby ref johnny lacey regularly does training sessions with munster. ideally it should be a dublin ref who would never be reffing dublin in an inter county game

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/09/2012 17:19:31    1256814

cavanman47

So you agree that Seamus McEnaney shouldnt have been up in Armagh and Tyrone regularly reffing in their training sessions???

Dublin have wised up in recent years.

Oh....and the 2011 final??? The free that Cluxton kicked was actually a free as the Kerry player had his leg in a position where he knew he might foul. Ive done it plenty of times. Sometimes you get away with them "little frees", but sometimes you dont. Did Dublin not deserve a penalty in last years final.....amnesia there Cavan man???

Actually I agree with the conflict of interest thing......But every other top county have done it and continue to do it....so Dublin have also got refs to ref their training sessions. So level playing field there PAL. And until people start condemning the Kerrys/Armaghs/Kildares/Tyrones/Corks of this world.....I wont be condemning Dublin for doing it....or the referee for reffing these games. Refs need practice too dont ya think......6-8 weeks of not refereeing county standard players is a bit long isnt it??? How else does he get that practice???

But you are from Cavan arent you.......you dont see that much football do ya???

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2012 17:20:21    1256816