jimbob, are you talking about Pat McEnaney. ?
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/08/2012 13:15:15
seems the dubs are very touchy on this subject altogether....
2006 fears must be be causing slepless nights once again. In fairness no Mayo poster was complaining....
I brought it up because I don't see how a ref can be impartial/fair come the big day. I would have wrote the exact same about Mcananey if I was on hogan stand then.
if the shoe was on the other foot the Dubs would be up in arms. Relax.... Mayo are missing one of the best creative and dangerous forwards in the country. Ye should win by 3/4 points if ye are worth you're salt. Maigh Eo Abú
Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 29/08/2012 13:17:30
Ros2013 County: Roscommon Posts: 338
1254780 seems the dubs are very touchy on this subject altogether.... ______
Seems that many culchies are clueless on the subject.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 13:25:51
There's a big difference between a ref defining the tackle for a team (no big deal, loads of clubs did this) and regularly reffing a v b games. He will have developed relationships with Dublin players.
killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 29/08/2012 13:28:27
Interesting re McQuillan. Simon Deignan another former Cavan ref from the past refereed the 1958 final Dublin v Derry but his Dublin connections were not stated at the time as his business was in Finglas.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 29/08/2012 13:33:26
Referee in refereeing match shocker!!!! I also heard some players were playing in a match too!!! Almost as bad as the supporters who started banging their hands together loudly at the end. Time the GAA got hold on this sort of thing alright...
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 29/08/2012 13:43:16
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 9503
1254775 LADS... Honestly I'd have to question some of you boys general knowledge of real workings of the GAA
It's nothing new... it's gone on for years! I'll say it again because as usual I'll have to repeat myself over and over again until it sinks in... IT'S NOTHING FECKIN NEW!!
Tyrone & Armagh had a certain celebrity Ulster ref showing them what he thinks a tackle is... and how to make one fairly.
No one complained... whys that then? Because it didnt make the news or you just dont care.. or you dont have clue?
It's the way it is...
and I'm delighted that we've finally wised up! and I say fair play to all involved for getting the likes of him involved in showing us what he see's as a fair tackle is!
Whats good for the goose...
I'd suggest you do the same because there's nothing stopping any county asking a ref to the same.
So please your shock and guff is wasted on me. Clue yourselves in a bit for heaven sake...
if dublin are using joe mcquillan in their preparations then mcquillan should NOT be refereeing any games where dublin is involved..........dublin will be well schooled by mcquillan on his take on the rules and what HE will accept and what HE won't accept...............we all know that referees are not consistent.............so dublin will know what to expect from mcquillan and therefore they will be able to play the game in a fashion that will suit mcquillans style of refereeing...........mayo will not have the same luxury......if mcquillan has been working with the dublin team then he has played a major part in dublin's preparations..............HE SHOULD NOT BE REFEREEING ON SUNDAY.................i do not believe it would be joe mcquillans place to personally inform dublin of the rules of the game or how he is going to oversee a game............to me this stinks of personal information being passed on to one team over another for purpose of their benefit.................worse still if he has been paid for his services then this should be reason for real concern.
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 29/08/2012 13:47:18
peter mcdermott of meath played in the all-ireland final of 1952. he refereed the 1953 all-ireland and then captained Meath to the all-ireland title in 1954. the refs in those days were often players too and would even ref teams that they themselves would come up against later in the competition... at least we have moved on from that.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/08/2012 13:48:27
bad.monkey County: USA Posts: 3118
1254823 Referee in refereeing match shocker!!!! ______
Jaysus the chewing gum just feel out of my mouth... not to mention the damage I just did to my Monicle!
Does this actually go on in other counties too... never!!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 13:49:33
killer_88_ County: Mayo Posts: 1469
1254796 There's a big difference between a ref defining the tackle for a team (no big deal, loads of clubs did this)
How do you think they defined it to them.. sat them down in a class room. Ok lads take out your homework from last night...
Ehhhh no it was by watching them play....
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 13:52:06
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 1038
Then why is he?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 14:04:14
jimbodub Tyrone & Armagh had a certain celebrity Ulster ref showing them what he thinks a tackle is... and how to make one fairly. No one complained... whys that then? Because it didnt make the news or you just dont care.. or you dont have clue?
Was that same ref getting all their games in the championship? I posted on the A v B thing on another thread a while back and it wasnt posted. The dubs initially asked him to come in and define tackles for them etc. He then done a few internal games for them. Clearly, they are going to be very familiar with his reffing style and what he will let go and what he wont. He has defined it for them, and then they have had chances to practice with him. I dont mind that, the dubs are trying to develop their game. But the same ref should not be assigned to their games, let alone all their games. It is unfair on the opposition and Horan was 100% correct to bring this into the public domain.The dubs might be saying he is moaning, but put yourself in his position, would you have done any different? McQuillan has put pressure on himself here, and whoever keeps appointing him to their games has a case to answer for. We need guidelines set out so this cannot happen again.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/08/2012 14:20:58
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 1038
1254826 jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 9503
1254775 LADS... Honestly I'd have to question some of you boys general knowledge of real workings of the GAA
It's nothing new... it's gone on for years! I'll say it again because as usual I'll have to repeat myself over and over again until it sinks in... IT'S NOTHING FECKIN NEW!!
Tyrone & Armagh had a certain celebrity Ulster ref showing them what he thinks a tackle is... and how to make one fairly.
No one complained... whys that then? Because it didnt make the news or you just dont care.. or you dont have clue?
It's the way it is...
and I'm delighted that we've finally wised up! and I say fair play to all involved for getting the likes of him involved in showing us what he see's as a fair tackle is!
Whats good for the goose...
I'd suggest you do the same because there's nothing stopping any county asking a ref to the same.
So please your shock and guff is wasted on me. Clue yourselves in a bit for heaven sake...
if dublin are using joe mcquillan in their preparations then mcquillan should NOT be refereeing any games where dublin is involved..........dublin will be well schooled by mcquillan on his take on the rules and what HE will accept and what HE won't accept...............we all know that referees are not consistent.............so dublin will know what to expect from mcquillan and therefore they will be able to play the game in a fashion that will suit mcquillans style of refereeing...........mayo will not have the same luxury......if mcquillan has been working with the dublin team then he has played a major part in dublin's preparations..............HE SHOULD NOT BE REFEREEING ON SUNDAY.................i do not believe it would be joe mcquillans place to personally inform dublin of the rules of the game or how he is going to oversee a game............to me this stinks of personal information being passed on to one team over another for purpose of their benefit.................worse still if he has been paid for his services then this should be reason for real concern.
yes........you .......are right................its rediculous and shouldnt........BE ALLLOWED.......it stinks............
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2865 - 29/08/2012 14:38:08
Dublin are not the only county who use inter county panel refs to take internal games. Whether any of them ought to be is another thing.
And yes McEneaney did show Armagh how to 'tackle' :-) And he was certainly a factor in at least one of Dublin's defeats.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/08/2012 15:09:23
I'll ask the question again....
Then why is he?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 15:12:56
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 4105
1254930 Dublin are not the only county who use inter county panel refs to take internal games. Whether any of them ought to be is another thing.
And yes McEneaney did show Armagh how to 'tackle' :-) And he was certainly a factor in at least one of Dublin's defeats. _______
You got in before me... thank you... it feels like I'm on my own in here sometimes....
Now wheres the scandal lads... wheres the threads setup...!
It's been going on for years... and I'm feckin delighted that we're finally using it to our advantage... I remember Kernan getting praise for being so clever, it wasnt against the rules and it was a very shrewd move etc etc...
Dry your eyes lads.. a ball hasnt even been kicked and your on here whinging and moaning...
The fact is you country boys are an awful suspicious and paranoid bunch. Sure you still leave trees in the middle of your fields that the tractor has to drive around because you're afraid to cut them down in case the fairies come after you!
A big paranoid, conspiracy theory trusting, suspicious bunch of whingers...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 15:20:37
McQuillan injured himself during the A/B games last night, it was decided that Gilroy and Horan toss a coin to see which one of them will ref and Gilroy won.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 29/08/2012 15:42:09
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 9517
1254957 hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 4105
1254930 Dublin are not the only county who use inter county panel refs to take internal games. Whether any of them ought to be is another thing.
And yes McEneaney did show Armagh how to 'tackle' :-) And he was certainly a factor in at least one of Dublin's defeats. _______
You got in before me... thank you... it feels like I'm on my own in here sometimes....
Now wheres the scandal lads... wheres the threads setup...!
It's been going on for years... and I'm feckin delighted that we're finally using it to our advantage... I remember Kernan getting praise for being so clever, it wasnt against the rules and it was a very shrewd move etc etc...
Dry your eyes lads.. a ball hasnt even been kicked and your on here whinging and moaning...
The fact is you country boys are an awful suspicious and paranoid bunch. Sure you still leave trees in the middle of your fields that the tractor has to drive around because you're afraid to cut them down in case the fairies come after you!
A big paranoid, conspiracy theory trusting, suspicious bunch of whingers...
yep jimbodub thats it in a nutshell.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2865 - 29/08/2012 15:43:20
goldrick County: Cavan Posts: 1558
1254778 jimbob, are you talking about Pat McEnaney. ?
Yes.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 16:07:23
The ref is bound to be under pressure on Sunday. I have a feeling he will make a call that will be the talk of this thread for days or weeks after. But it may not be in Dublins favour. I have a feeling it may be in our favour. He will be double and maybe even treble guessing his own instincts. Also, I feel there will be an unusually high number of discussions with his umpires and linesmen on the day. Not to mention furtive glances to the big screen after a dubious call by one of them!
ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 29/08/2012 16:10:46