Joe McQuillan - Dublin Gaa Fling/Affair?

Does anyone have any clarity on the relationship Joe McQuillian has with Dublin senior set up? From reading the above article on home page it would appear that he has reffed Dublin A vs B games??? Internal practice matches? I must be reading this wrong.

1 He wouldnt be doing this out of the kindness of his heart.

2 An automatic relationship is thus created with Dublin players. Less inclined to give them yellow/red cards ( Time allowances!!! )

3 Unfair advantage to Dublin. Proper neutral ref should be appointed.

Not trying to wum ye up lads just saying what I think from reading the article.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 29/08/2012 08:56:08    1254513

hmmm.. nice piece of psychology by Horan.. McQuillan will now be ultra careful not to be seen to favour Dublin

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/08/2012 09:06:01    1254525

Does anyone have any clarity on the relationship Joe McQuillian has with Dublin senior set up? From reading the above article on home page it would appear that he has reffed Dublin A vs B games??? Internal practice matches? I must be reading this wrong.

1 He wouldnt be doing this out of the kindness of his heart.

2 An automatic relationship is thus created with Dublin players. Less inclined to give them yellow/red cards ( Time allowances!!! )

3 Unfair advantage to Dublin. Proper neutral ref should be appointed.

Not trying to wum ye up lads just saying what I think from reading the article.
Ros2013 , 29/08/2012 at 08:56

I presume its just tabloid journalism with a lot of spin or with an agenda. I'd like to see clarity on this myself though.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 29/08/2012 09:08:34    1254529

He summed it up well alright when stating it's relevance for a second time

,I'm sure that reffing 'A' versus 'B' games will have no bearing on his performance against us in Croke Park."

Hes dead right though in fairness.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 29/08/2012 09:09:27    1254530

If its true it shows very poor judgement on McQuillans part. Any intercounty ref getting involved with an intercounty teams prep work defo brings his impartiality into question. Good move from Horan to highlight it and I think Michael Curley could do with making a comment on the guidelines around this sort of crack.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 29/08/2012 09:41:25    1254552

blacknamber

1254552 If its true it shows very poor judgement on McQuillans part. Any intercounty ref getting involved with an intercounty teams prep work defo brings his impartiality into question.

Its been going on for years...

Nothing stopping anyone else from doing it! Only their own ignorance... about time we wised up... a certain high profile Ulster ref was only too happy to show up to Armagh/Tyrone training sessions

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 10:51:26    1254593

Keep up the good work Joe of not awarding blatant penos to Dublin in AI finals...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 10:53:40    1254595

Take the 2005 Laois v Dublin leinster final. Laois leading by a point with a minute left. Gives the dubs a disputed 45 , then as munnelly races towards goal is fouled, waves play on and in the next play gives the dubs a free in in which mossey quinn slots over. Dubs win by 1.

For alot of Laois people , that match is still very sore, its not that dublin beat us is that the ref kicked the winning points for dublin as well as making a last minute tackle at the other end. The ref was Joe McQuillan!! If a close game expect Dublin to win!!

Ben (None) - Posts: 108 - 29/08/2012 10:56:40    1254598

If anything it could go the other way ,50,50 decision he's thinking better not give it Dublins way or people will say its because of refing their matches. Heres hoping the ref is not the talking point after the match. UP THE DUBS.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/08/2012 11:01:22    1254603

s goldrick

1254525 hmmm.. nice piece of psychology by Horan.. McQuillan will now be ultra careful not to be seen to favour Dublin

_______

hmmm.. nice piece of psychology by Gilroy.. to just keep his mouth shut and not believe in conspiracy theories and get on with the job in hand.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 11:25:05    1254634

I don't believe the ref will be the difference however the amount of Dublin games he has reffed is questionable. 4 or 5 last year if I remember correctly and in fairness he was kind to them in the final last year. Horan is dead right to highlight it, it will make sure of an honest game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 29/08/2012 11:41:37    1254656

Yeah fair play to Mayo

A ball hasnt even been kicked and they are moaning about the ref.

Somethings aye...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 11:43:37    1254661

Jimbob I have already said he won't be the difference, if we are good enough we will win, simply stating Horan has been very smart in what he said.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 29/08/2012 11:49:42    1254666

jimbob

don't see any Mayonians complaining at all. it's ridiculous that Joe McQuillian is reffing Dub a vs B teams.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 551 - 29/08/2012 12:19:41    1254709

Jimbo all joking aside surely you can see how reffing internal training games for Dublin makes McQuillan impartial?

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 29/08/2012 12:28:48    1254723

Jimbo - I have no issue with Dublin bringing in McQuillan or any other ref to work with the squad. Points I was making are that 1) It shows very poor judgement on his part if he wants to maintain his impartiality 2) referees body (headed by Curley) should have guidelines in place to drop refs from the inter co refs panel if they are involved in the prep work of any interco squad - simple as. Taking a view that everyone should be drawing inter co refs into their prep work - now thats the ignorant way to look at it.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 29/08/2012 12:47:49    1254745

I have no problem with Joe McQuillan and its not been talked about here in Mayo.......the journalist actually asked Horan about it so the media must have something against him being appointed.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11733 - 29/08/2012 12:55:14    1254751

Another excuse being prepared in advance to use when Mayo lose on Sunday. if anyone thinks mcQuillan favours Dublin, get the video of last years QF with Tyrone!!!!!

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 29/08/2012 13:01:41    1254760

LADS... Honestly I'd have to question some of you boys general knowledge of real workings of the GAA

It's nothing new... it's gone on for years! I'll say it again because as usual I'll have to repeat myself over and over again until it sinks in... IT'S NOTHING FECKIN NEW!!

Tyrone & Armagh had a certain celebrity Ulster ref showing them what he thinks a tackle is... and how to make one fairly.

No one complained... whys that then? Because it didnt make the news or you just dont care.. or you dont have clue?

It's the way it is...

and I'm delighted that we've finally wised up! and I say fair play to all involved for getting the likes of him involved in showing us what he see's as a fair tackle is!

Whats good for the goose...

I'd suggest you do the same because there's nothing stopping any county asking a ref to the same.

So please your shock and guff is wasted on me. Clue yourselves in a bit for heaven sake...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/08/2012 13:10:26    1254775

fingalman

Another excuse being prepared in advance to use when Mayo lose on Sunday. if anyone thinks mcQuillan favours Dublin, get the video of last years QF with Tyrone!!!!!

yes but in all fairness that was a day when he could pretend that he was harsh on yis. yis were never going to lose that one. it's in the close games that the ref becomes a factor.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/08/2012 13:13:29    1254776