Donegal fans

benjyyy

You talk about what Brendan Devenney said and then in your last sentence say how Donegal would want to cop itself on? Do you think that Devenney is speaking on behalf of the entire county?

Yes.

That's how it works.

One Donegal person says he thinks they'll do it means that the whole county has arrogantly declared yous All-Ireland champs already.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 28/08/2012 11:00:04    1253768

Yeah Sure they should be confident, but not arrogant... There's no given right to win sam maguire.

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 28/08/2012 11:01:25    1253770

Liamwalkinstown

1253717 Anyone head Brendan Devenney on Off The Ball last night! Talk about arrogant!!! if horan/gilroy want to motivate their players for the final all they need do is play this over the loudspeakers at training! He was pulled on it, and kept at it!! Its all over, nothing can stop Donegal, could be the best team ever!!
Basically saying Dublin or Mayo are peripheral and wont even feature!!

If Dublin beat Mayo, If, it will be 1992 all over again, with the roles reversed!!

Donegal would want to cop on to itself a little boys! Ye've won nothing yet!

Ah Liam that's harsh. DV has always had an opinion on everything. I think he retired and made more comebacks than Hulk Hogan. He enjoys the spotlight and gets carried away at times. As stated by others previously he has no mandate to speak for the people of Donegal. We know that there's a massive game ahead of us against either yourselves and Mayo and will not for one minute being taking either of you lightly. All-Ireland's aren't just handed out. They're bloody hard earned and I'm sure Jimmy and Rory will be drilling that into the lads' heads for the next 4 weeks.

Just another thing, the Tyrone fan complaining about the Donegal fans chanting of, "Do-ne-gal" etc and calling it annoying? That "Come on Tyrone, come on Tyrone" does your nut in!!!!! Haha each to their own I suppose!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9765 - 28/08/2012 11:04:29    1253778

I honestly hate to see Brendan Devenney speaking on tv, radio or writing in the paper. As a player he was talented but it was always about him. Mc Guinness would dump a player like him after one training session. I haven't heard what he said but looking at the quotes above I'm not suprised. I would hate to think that the rest of Ireland would take his words as the general consensus in Donegal.
We all know in this County that it takes a great team to win an All Ireland, Cork have a great team at present but have only one All Ireland to their name and no matter who we meet in the final will it will be a tough encounter.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 28/08/2012 11:04:40    1253779

Brendan was the same when he was interviewed at half-time of the Kerry match in Croke Park....so arrogant i was cringing in the seat.

RunOfThePigs (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 28/08/2012 11:06:21    1253780

28/08/2012 11:00:04
MesAmis

1253768 benjyyy

You talk about what Brendan Devenney said and then in your last sentence say how Donegal would want to cop itself on? Do you think that Devenney is speaking on behalf of the entire county?

Yes.

That's how it works.

One Donegal person says he thinks they'll do it means that the whole county has arrogantly declared yous All-Ireland champs already.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 11:07:15    1253782

120 mins ?
Was this when Devenny played for Portadown ? Cup match with extra time
ruanua , 28/08/2012 at 10:59
------------------------------------
120 mins over two games!.....2002 draw and replay!.....he went 120 mins between scores!

Just listing to him on newstalk now!.....Terrible arrogance, as texters are saying: "what a way to put people off supporting Donegal in the final"!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 11:09:32    1253785

There you go

Donegal getting ahead of themselves... but in fairness

They might as well... bevcause it's in the bag.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/08/2012 11:11:55    1253788

Fair point re my using Donegal as opposed to BD there lads
I accept that was silly

But listening to it again now....EVERY Donegal player should be an All Star.......they can win as many all irelands as they want, no one will beat them

He is basically saying the match this weekend is a non event and Donegal CoCo should have plans for a parade drawn up already

And then he goes and brings on some buffoon talking about Majella O'Donnell...???

I will tell you something, if a Cork or Dublin ex player said on national airwaves what BD said last night, it would be a story of its own on the HS mainpage!

The reason i used Donegal as a whole lads (wrongly I accept) was the floods of texts from Donegal into the show in the wake of his interview agreeing and saying the game this weekend was a consolation prize etc
I would genuinely think the whole Donegal thing needs to calm down a bit lads. Its so OTT its unbelievable and that kinda hype is not good. Donegal lads will spend the next month in Donegal being told by everyone they meet that Sam is theirs.....its will get into their heads and you just dont know what will happen

The Donegal hype machine is dangerous, very very dangerous, and Horan/Gilroy will love every bit of it

As I said, its like 92 all over again, except for donegal, this time, the shoe is on the other foot.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2012 11:13:21    1253790

cacsmckilly

Donegal fans are like little children at match day, all excited and nervous. Their chant is extremely annoying - Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal!!! Not the most imaginative of lyrics.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/08/2012 11:20:11    1253797

Lads i have to agree Brendan Devenneys comments were very cringe worthy. At the kerry match when he was introduced at half time to chat about the first half ya would swear it was Ronaldo that was coming onto the field!! For Donegal peoples sake lets hope he wont be doing any more interviews. Very average player to by the way Adrian Sweeney carried that man for long enough!

apple12 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 28/08/2012 11:23:59    1253802

Seems to me that the only people getting carried away are the Dubs
with their:

" We will be underdogs for the final"
even Gilroy is preparing for the final "under the radar"

Music to Mayo's ears.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 11:31:46    1253810

If you really want a chuckle at BD's expense

I suggest you listed to the radio commentary he was doing when Cassidy kicked the winner against Kildare.
It was "Unbelievable"

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 11:35:49    1253813

Snufalufagus

Their chant is extremely annoying - Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal!!! Not the most imaginative of lyrics.
cacsmckilly , 28/08/2012 at 08:30
--------------------------------------------
Then again, when somebody does come up with imaginative lyrics they are called 'soccer chants'!!!.....The above commet shows that ya just cant win can ya!

Aye and the Dub's chanting "Come On you Boys in Blue" to the Mary Hopkins "Those Were The Days, My Friend" tune? most imaginative maybe you could Change the words of Bagatelle's "Is it raining in Paris tonight " to " We'll be Booing on hill16 alright"

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 28/08/2012 11:41:30    1253819

Support has been better this year than any other year in my memory. I think that Sunday will go down as one of my all time best memories in the support in croke park. Dont like the booing of free takers, not a good thing to get involved in.

I think that Brendan Devenney will eventually be included in the new verse of the Donegal song Jimmys winning matches.

The final will b another 50/50 game. that is the reality of it. The great thing for me this year about supporting Donegal, is that you dont get that forboding feeling of dread when the opposition score that they might run amok. This has not happened for a while now, and it makes for a much better competition.

I also think that the Donegal games are a supporters dream. We are involved in the closest match offs of this year, Tyrone, Kerry and Cork were all within a score of winning or equalizing at the end.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 28/08/2012 11:42:59    1253820

Aye and the Dub's chanting "Come On you Boys in Blue" to the Mary Hopkins "Those Were The Days, My Friend" tune? most imaginative maybe you could Change the words of Bagatelle's "Is it raining in Paris tonight " to " We'll be Booing on hill16 alright"
DynamoDooher , 28/08/2012 at 11:41
------------------------------------------------
Jaysus wept!.....seems that up north they cant glean from plain English that somebody is on their side for once!

Thats 'A Levels' for ya I suppose!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 11:59:11    1253837

Anyone head Brendan Devenney on Off The Ball last night! Talk about arrogant!!! if horan/gilroy want to motivate their players for the final all they need do is play this over the loudspeakers at training! He was pulled on it, and kept at it!! Its all over, nothing can stop Donegal, could be the best team ever!!
Basically saying Dublin or Mayo are peripheral and wont even feature!!
Liamwalkinstown

Brendan Devenney's opinion is worthless, he never won anything for Donegal,not one inter-county medal in his pocket!
Donegal will be hard to listen to when they win, but sure it was the same with the
dubs this year! It doesn't last forever, whenever the ½ + ¾ fouls are dealt with
properly by the officials, Donegal will be found wanting!
For now, I hope they win, the lesser of 3 evils! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/08/2012 12:07:40    1253843

Ograanddun
Give it a rest about the booing lad, even the 'aristocratic' down fans boo under their 'stiff upper lips'!!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/08/2012 12:10:39    1253845

It just gets better and better!!
Direct tweet from Kevin Cassidy!

Tweets
26 Aug Kevin Cassidy ‏@KCASS7
Great result for Donegal today was the day they won the 2nd All Ireland Dublin or Mayo won't stop them well done

What can u say!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2012 12:12:14    1253847

Read my post above Liam.... For Devenney and Cassidy it always has been and still is all about them....pay no heed....there must be a name for the kind of guy that can't keep himself out of the spotlight....!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/08/2012 12:22:02    1253857