Donegal fans

Ulsterman

1253482 Alas that has indeed crept into Ulster games the past few years artisan. I know some Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan fans love to wind up 6 county teams by giving out that guff AND indeed 6 county ones give it back pelters about Mexicans, Banana Republic, 3rd world country etc but they are usually drunken headers who shouldn't be allowed into games in the condition they are in. Stewarding and security at games is totally non existant at times and these hooligans are ruining games for the well behaved majority.

i've seen you use the term mexicans in many of your posts.............using drunkenness as an excuse for someones ignorance is a cop out........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 27/08/2012 20:50:00    1253560

the unmannerly fans were alway their even on the bad days some off the stuff they come out with is pure top drawer you could nt write that stuff ha ha

clougherna (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 27/08/2012 21:39:25    1253627

Why is there not a thread on them booing free taking? First free cork took is all you need to see! Deafening it was!
Off course it wasnt the Dubs so not a word said!

---------

Snuf and MesAmi, there aren't threads about it for a few reasons. 1) The booing of free takers weren't noticeable after the first few frees (although the jeering continued). 2) There were less Donegal fans at the booing that there usually is in the hill. 3) The Dubs are at it in every championship game whereas this is the first time I've noticed it from Donegal really.
I know it must be annoying that the Dubs are always the scapegoats as there's a lot of counties at it, but ye are the worst for it and it's the most noticeable from the Hill. If they're at it in the final hopefully they'll get the same response you boys get.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 27/08/2012 21:44:07    1253635

Sad to hear 1 of them won't be back for the final RIP

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 27/08/2012 21:44:32    1253638

Donegal fans are like little children at match day, all excited and nervous. Their chant is extremely annoying - Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal!!! Not the most imaginative of lyrics.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 28/08/2012 08:30:54    1253676

Their chant is extremely annoying - Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal, Don-e-gal!!! Not the most imaginative of lyrics.
cacsmckilly , 28/08/2012 at 08:30
--------------------------------------------
Then again, when somebody does come up with imaginative lyrics they are called 'soccer chants'!!!.....The above commet shows that ya just cant win can ya!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 10:08:40    1253716

Anyone head Brendan Devenney on Off The Ball last night! Talk about arrogant!!! if horan/gilroy want to motivate their players for the final all they need do is play this over the loudspeakers at training! He was pulled on it, and kept at it!! Its all over, nothing can stop Donegal, could be the best team ever!!
Basically saying Dublin or Mayo are peripheral and wont even feature!!

If Dublin beat Mayo, If, it will be 1992 all over again, with the roles reversed!!

Donegal would want to cop on to itself a little boys! Ye've won nothing yet!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2012 10:08:48    1253717

Yea heard that Liam, it was cringy to say the least. Devenney strikes me as one of these boys who has to centre of attention.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 28/08/2012 10:17:27    1253724

I know they train & work very hard for each other...but they seem to thinkl they have a devine right to win the sam... nobody has..not even the lovely don-e-gal

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 28/08/2012 10:29:22    1253731

people wont be long falling out of love with don-e-gal at this rate.........much the same as Laois in the early 00's!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2012 10:31:31    1253734

OgraAnDun
County: Down

Snuf and MesAmi, there aren't threads about it for a few reasons. 1) The booing of free takers weren't noticeable after the first few frees (although the jeering continued). 2) There were less Donegal fans at the booing that there usually is in the hill. 3) The Dubs are at it in every championship game whereas this is the first time I've noticed it from Donegal really.
I know it must be annoying that the Dubs are always the scapegoats as there's a lot of counties at it, but ye are the worst for it and it's the most noticeable from the Hill. If they're at it in the final hopefully they'll get the same response you boys get.

Go way outta that.

Yous always find a way to excuse the culchie booing/cheering of wides etc. "the booing wasn't that bad not like when those big bad Dubs are it!" Get over yourselves boys, yous are all it and yous should be consistent in your views.

If booing and cheering wides is terrible when the Dubs are doing it then it should also be terrible when one of the other 31 are at it. But as we've seen over the years booing seems to be acceptable when its culchies are it.

btw - the Donegal support was brilliant on Sunday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 28/08/2012 10:35:21    1253736

Youre spot on CKH... That has always been the way with Brendan Devenney....has to be the centre of attention in my opinion. Never out of the papers or off the radio.Another certain individual in the same mould and who was banished from the team last year for contributing to a certain book is the exact same. That's why Devenneys Donegal never made it and why a certain AN Other is no longer part of the Donegal set up.... There's no 'I' in team as they say and that's why Donegal are a different animal without either of them....pay no heed to Devenneys rantings...we know well in Donegal that we've won nothing yet...!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/08/2012 10:38:38    1253741

YES!.....Controversey, I love it!
Nothing like this sort of rebel rousing to riall everyone up...and it all starts here!
Tis like mayo warming up at the Hill 16 end in 2006.....but in verbal form....and with a Donegal accent.....(but from a county that has also won nothing nonetheless)!!

Well done Brendan!......I wonder how much RTE in conjunction with the Sunday Game payed him to stir that up!....Master stroke by the state broadcaster!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 10:38:44    1253742

Liamwalkinstown

1253717 Anyone head Brendan Devenney on Off The Ball last night! Talk about arrogant!!! if horan/gilroy want to motivate their players for the final all they need do is play this over the loudspeakers at training! He was pulled on it, and kept at it!! Its all over, nothing can stop Donegal, could be the best team ever!!

If Dublin beat Mayo, If, it will be 1992 all over again, with the roles reversed!!

You talk about what Brendan Devenney said and then in your last sentence say how Donegal would want to cop itself on? Do you think that Devenney is speaking on behalf of the entire county?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 28/08/2012 10:40:25    1253747

Devenney strikes me as one of these boys who has to centre of attention.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor , 28/08/2012 at 10:17
---------------------------------------------------
I remember a time when he was the centre of attention alright!......after Paddy Christie held him scoreless in 120mins of football!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 10:44:32    1253753

28/08/2012 10:08:48
Liamwalkinstown

1253717 Anyone head Brendan Devenney on Off The Ball last night! Talk about arrogant!!! if horan/gilroy want to motivate their players for the final all they need do is play this over the loudspeakers at training! He was pulled on it, and kept at it!! Its all over, nothing can stop Donegal, could be the best team ever!!

Hype rolls in peaks and troughs - 10 weeks ago Galway were the saviours of the beautiful game.
Its impossible to talk about pre-match favourites until we know who is in the match - If Diarmuid Connolly scores 8 points using alternate feet from the 45 (ie like v Tyrone) on Sunday or Bernard Brogans scores 2-8 it could be Dublins turn.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 10:45:54    1253754

In my opinion, Brendan Devenney does not represent the good people of Donegal....let's get that straight.... I could elaborate a lot more on this individual but my comments most certainly would not be posted on these boards...!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/08/2012 10:51:59    1253759

I gotta hear this!....listening back to it now as I type this!

Spread the word!....get Gilroy and Horan to listen to it!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2012 10:53:31    1253761

its not just bredan devenny, mark mc hugh talks as if there's no other team puttin in effort like jim mc guiness and the don-e-gal team.....i think thats BS

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 28/08/2012 10:57:50    1253765

28/08/2012 10:44:32
Snufalufagus

1253753 Devenney strikes me as one of these boys who has to centre of attention.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor , 28/08/2012 at 10:17
---------------------------------------------------
I remember a time when he was the centre of attention alright!......after Paddy Christie held him scoreless in 120mins of football!!!

120 mins ?

Was this when Devenny played for Portadown ? Cup match with extra time

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 10:59:11    1253766