Donegal fans

Alot of people have talked in glowing terms about Donegal's performance yesterday , But for me the sixteenth of Donegal yesterday were their fans. They were absolutely outstanding, They outnumbered Cork a good 5-1 or more , The noise they made was deafening .. i was delighted for every last one of them who made the long trip south in this day and age to support a team that they can be so proud of.. As for Cork fans , Many leaving before the end of the game , And i thought it was just us Dubs who do that .. ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 27/08/2012 17:08:13    1253301

well said wayno but no need for that dig at the rebels! it must have been fairly depressing getting vastly outplayed on the pitch and out numbered in the stands. at least they made the 3-4 hour drive up to croker, i'd be having a dig at the ones who didn't to be honest :-)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/08/2012 17:14:07    1253314

I wasn't too impressed with their jeering when Cork missed or at the start for the first couple of frees and also at the end cheering every pass. It's not soccer ye know.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 27/08/2012 17:18:16    1253320

OgraAnDun
County: Down

I wasn't too impressed with their jeering when Cork missed or at the start for the first couple of frees and also at the end cheering every pass. It's not soccer ye know.

How dare you!!! That couldn't have happened. We've been told time and time again on this forum that it's only the dastardly Dubs that get up to that type of behaviour.

There must of of been some Dubs mixed in with the green and yellow supporters.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 27/08/2012 17:28:26    1253337

OgraAnDun

The jeering at the end was very disappointing, Donegal supporters should've shown a bit more cop on, they've been beaten often enough in the past themselves.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/08/2012 17:29:26    1253339

OgraAnDun

1253320 I wasn't too impressed with their jeering when Cork missed or at the start for the first couple of frees and also at the end cheering every pass. It's not soccer ye know.

Have to agree. Didnt like it one bit. Must stop.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 27/08/2012 17:31:57    1253344

waynoI

Alot of people have talked in glowing terms about Donegal's performance yesterday , But for me the sixteenth of Donegal yesterday were their fans. They were absolutely outstanding, They outnumbered Cork a good 5-1 or more , The noise they made was deafening .. i was delighted for every last one of them who made the long trip south in this day and age to support a team that they can be so proud of.. As for Cork fans , Many leaving before the end of the game , And i thought it was just us Dubs who do that .. ?

you must not watch many games outside our own then pal as nearly very county leaves before the end when the match looks out of reach
croker emptied about 10 minutes before the end of tipp and kilkenny only a week before

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/08/2012 17:43:56    1253357

Don't get me wrong, as I've stated on other threads, I am delighted for their genuine fans but they have also amassed a serious amount of fair weather fans since the season began. I just hope that the genuine fans don't miss out on AI tickets or get tarred with the same brush as the fair weather fans - it has happened before with other counties

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 27/08/2012 17:58:45    1253374

I am now having flash backs to 92. Time to banish the memory of that ill fated day for the Dubs. I know Donegal people from Glasgow who got tickets for that one and have not been at a GAA match since. Once Mayo are out the way every Dub fan should scour the world for tickets to stop them falling into the hands of the Oe Ole brigade.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 27/08/2012 18:12:41    1253393

DLlegends

1253344 OgraAnDun

1253320 I wasn't too impressed with their jeering when Cork missed or at the start for the first couple of frees and also at the end cheering every pass. It's not soccer ye know.

I agree 100%, unfortuneately it seems to be part & parcel of many GAA games these days. I suspect that it is mainly kids & fairweather supporters who engage in it. I see most Donegal League games & you would never hear it then.
As for the passing sequence that led to the cheering at the end, I hope never to see it again. I suspect Jim will have something to say about it at training!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/08/2012 18:16:31    1253396

In the Ulster Final I had to stand and listen to half a dozen drunk Donegal fans refer to Down as English and northern b#st#rds, I doubt these fans had ever been to a GAA game prior to the arrival of Jim McGuinness. I hope the bandwagon jumpers don't give the genuine Donegal fans a bad rep.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 27/08/2012 18:42:44    1253421

artisan

In the Ulster Final I had to stand and listen to half a dozen drunk Donegal fans refer to Down as English and northern b#st#rds, I doubt these fans had ever been to a GAA game prior to the arrival of Jim McGuinness. I hope the bandwagon jumpers don't give the genuine Donegal fans a bad rep.

I wonder what other county gets the same stuff thrown at them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 27/08/2012 18:52:56    1253430

artisan

1253421 In the Ulster Final I had to stand and listen to half a dozen drunk Donegal fans refer to Down as English and northern b#st#rds, I doubt these fans had ever been to a GAA game prior to the arrival of Jim McGuinness. I hope the bandwagon jumpers don't give the genuine Donegal fans a bad rep.

I attended the Ulster semi final, Final and also yesterday game. And to be fair, Donegal fans are actually very dead on. And the Cork fans i seen yesterday were sound people too. Like you might get teenagers with drink in them shouting, but having attended many Donegal games over the years i cant say a bad word about them. Yesterday there was 40-45,000 Donegal fans in Croke park. Ulster semi final in Clones has 17,000 total, so id say Donegal had well over 30,000 extra fans yesterday, who wouldnt normally bother going to games.

All in all, the loyal Donegal GAA fans are good people who are friendly and respectful.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 27/08/2012 19:24:13    1253459

In all fairness artisan every county has these fans blue bag brigade air locked from the sniff of an apple most only go to the game once its finals day , we have a few lads who manage to bump on to one of our bus's every time its Ulster finals day with their soccer shirts on and a 1/2 bt of vodka and two red bull none ever manage to go to the games as the beer gardens tend to make a great place to sleep it off, so I would give those Donegal lads a break as 20 years is a life time for some people to get to an All Ireland , I was luck I go to all 5 the first two weren't so great after the 70 mins but you got to take the rough with the smooth.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 27/08/2012 19:30:55    1253466

Why is there not a thread on them booing free taking? First free cork took is all you need to see! Deafening it was!
Off course it wasnt the Dubs so not a word said!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/08/2012 19:33:58    1253469

well said wayno amazing support

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 27/08/2012 19:34:17    1253470

i agree with the dublin poster above. surely this is a mistake? we all know only the dubs do this.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/08/2012 19:34:35    1253472

Alas that has indeed crept into Ulster games the past few years artisan. I know some Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan fans love to wind up 6 county teams by giving out that guff AND indeed 6 county ones give it back pelters about Mexicans, Banana Republic, 3rd world country etc but they are usually drunken headers who shouldn't be allowed into games in the condition they are in. Stewarding and security at games is totally non existant at times and these hooligans are ruining games for the well behaved majority.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 27/08/2012 19:41:53    1253482

ulsterman how are they ruining games? what an over the top statement.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 27/08/2012 19:53:26    1253496

They're worth a couple of points to the team, every other top county (esp my own) should take note, everyone has a role to play and the Donegal fans done their bit.

Mayo support used to be near as good as that back in 89 and 96, since them days our support has dwindled and dwindled further, people are quick to slate soccer supporters but some could take note of the way soccer fans get behind there team when things are going bad for example when Man United got relegated in 76 (i think) there average attendance went up the following season " we'll support you ever more" . The amount of Mayo fans that have turned there back since 06 is nothing short of disgusting.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/08/2012 20:01:40    1253505