Joe Brolly Vindicated

chicago09

1239357 Well obviously peter canavan name comes up about great players but cooper has been judged on all irelands won and not lost that means canavan had two good years 2003 and'05 . if he was such a great player how come only two all irelands then.Also brolly mentioned cavanagh scoring 5 points in '08 but he is gone missing since too. So if anybody has a better player in the last ten years let us know cause i dont know anybody who has done what cooper has on the field.

Cavanagh has not gone missing - HE IS INJURED. Stephen O'Neill fully fit is alos head and shoulders above Gooch. Some of his scores in Croke Park or text book and the stuff of legends.

Clips on YOU TUBE will testify that. And as for Canavan only winning two All-Irelands - In 2005 Tyrone had to play TEN games to win the title - That to me equates to three years in a Kerry jersey when you take into account meeting the footballing heavyweights that are Tipperary, Waterford, Limerick and Clare year in and year out

It is hardly a fair comparison - Canavan delivered on the field when needed - Can Gooch say the same?

lomanaiochtabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 05/08/2012 22:02:43    1239396

There is some amount of rubbish being talked on this forum. Colm cooper - 4 All Ireland medals, 7 All Star Awards, Footballer of the year '04, choker?? Go away and catch yourselves on! Coopers been playing senior county football since 2002, 10 years, and in those 10 years hes won more than any other county in Ireland has! Joe Brolly..it doesnt take Einstein to know hes chief windup and loves trying to belittle other players who are more successful than him.
Yes Donegal were the better team yesterday and i congradulate them! I will be supporting them for the rest of the All Ireland and hope for Jim Mcguiness' sake they take Sam back to the hills! But for the posters, alot of whom are from here in ulster that agree with brolly, dont kid yourselves!

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 06/08/2012 08:19:58    1239403

Its funny that the majority of the Kerry 'haters' are based in Northern Ireland! But hey look success breeds envy and thats the bottom line, the only reason people love seeing Kerry being beaten is because they were sick of seeing them win throughout all era's of the GAA! No matter what people say or do the facts remain the same, Kerry have 36 All Irelands & Colm Cooper is the highest championship scorer of all time and will be remembered as one of the all time greats an one of the most decorated footballers of all time. This Kerry team will also be remembered as one of the greats its as simple as that. They have given us many of our finest days out and we can only be grateful for that and some of the football they have produced particularly that 09' QF will be hard beaten as one of the finest displays of football ever seen ......

We are not finished yet despite the obituaries in the papers this morning (laughable) we'll be back!!

People can come on here and write them off and be bitter and knock Kerry all ye want but they are simply only lads who cannot accept that Kerry are .......... Well they are Kerry and thats says it all ;)

A Very Proud Kerryman ......... Ciarrai Abu!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 06/08/2012 08:36:14    1239406

Your up early this morning Ciarraiaboohoo, did you have a sleepless night son?! lol

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/08/2012 09:02:15    1239409

Well obviously peter canavan name comes up about great players but cooper has been judged on all irelands won and not lost that means canavan had two good years 2003 and'05 . if he was such a great player how come only two all irelands then.Also brolly mentioned cavanagh scoring 5 points in '08 but he is gone missing since too. So if anybody has a better player in the last ten years let us know cause i dont know anybody who has done what cooper has on the field.

Chicago09, believe it or not, Canavan was probably at his peak as a player from the period of 1990 to 1996. Unfortunately from 1990 to 1993 Tyrone were knocked out of the championship in the first round so the country never really got to see his talents. From 1994-1996 Tyrone had a decent side which played a lovely open brand of football but they did not win an All-Ireland, they were knocked out by the eventual winners in these three years, i.e Down, Dublin, Meath. They came close in 1995 when Canavan dragged the team to the All-Ireland final and scored 10 out of Tyrone's 11 points that day. In 1996 Canavan and Tyrone were completely out-gunning Meath before they were subjected to the nastier side of Gaelic football. Tyrone faded thereafter until they came again in 2003. Canavan also suffered some very serious injuries during this period.

The point I am making is that Canavan was already on the go as a senior county player for approx 10 years before Tyrone won their first all-ireland. Unlike Mr Cooper (who I think is an unreal player), Canavan did not have the luxury of playing his peak years of football with a successful team. That would explain why he has 'only' won two All-Irelands.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 06/08/2012 10:17:43    1239445

It comes down to the 'outside Nordie' syndrome that goes through a lot of their heads in which they refuse to accept or acknowledge that anyone 'not of the state', especially the rough Northern types

Ulsterman, Brolly does appear to be vindicated in that once more Kerry appear to have lost a tight game against well organised opposition, as he predicted. Whilst you do make a good point you then ruin it with your usual partitionist crap as above. You continually try to foster a North/South divide on this site and this really annoys me. I say this as a pround Republican from County Tyrone.

The GAA is a 32 county organisation, end of.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 06/08/2012 10:30:38    1239455

Have to say Brolly was talkin rubbish. Most of them kerry lads have done their talkin on the pitch. They came up against a very good Donegal outfit yesterday. It will take kerry a few years before they get back to where they were at a few years ago. Tom Walsh, Darragh O Shea. T Kennely are hard players to replace.

cheifexecutive (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 06/08/2012 10:44:38    1239470

Ciarrai Abu. Maybe if yous could stop Spillane mouthing about puke football and his clear disliking of every other team that has a chance of beating his beloved Kerry. Fair enough support and back your own county to the bitter end. But that is exactly what he is BITTER. Donegal will not be getting on their high horse yet. Cork are waiting quietly and not saying very much. This will be a tougher encounter for Donegal but Jim will have them prepared for it no doubt. I have never seen a Donegal team as fit, hungery or as strong as theses bunch of lads. Their attitude is so professional and they will be very very hard to beat. My prediction is that Donegal will overcome Cork to beat Dublin in the final on September 23rd.

stevieg1974 (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 06/08/2012 11:05:24    1239487

From a completely neutral point of view I thought Brolly was right in most of what he said and his argument was further backed up yesterday.

daradasi (Wicklow) - Posts: 120 - 06/08/2012 11:51:16    1239526

Brolly is getting criticised by people on here, yet he is the only one who called yesterdays game correctly. Brolly gave valid reasons as to why Donegal would win and was right. Also it seems people get very annoyed when Kerry are criticised but its ok to use words like puke football and to slag ulster football constantly like alot of people in the media do. No one is on here complaining about Spillane who has spent the last two years finding new ways to insult Donegal, and it was Tyrone before them. He is far worse then Brolly and acts like a child who lashes out because his county lost.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1663 - 06/08/2012 12:06:13    1239545

Peter Cananvan was a great player. Cooper is a great player.

But I suspect double standards from the Tyrone lads. You are only judging Cooper on the games that Kerry have lost and saying why didn't he go and win the game on his own.

Why not apply the same high standards to Canavan? Did Tyrone win every game that Canavan played in?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 06/08/2012 12:18:41    1239556

Kerry lost no problem with that, its sport and you take it on the chin. This bunch of players have won everything there is the game and have done Kerry proud. Spillane those not represent the views of every kerry person and id expect that posters would differentiate between spillane and Kerry , but it suits them to do this throw a few insults at Kerry which can only be but down to jealousy. It's funny I've been to so many games and the craic you have is great along with the respect you recieve and offer to other fans, you then come on here and so many keyboard warriors you'd question if they were gaa people at all.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 06/08/2012 12:23:30    1239562

Westkerry

+1

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/08/2012 12:38:17    1239577

ULSTERMAN & GATEKEEPER.......you amuse me no end!!! I think you must both lead very introverted sad lives. I accept it has
been a very wet summer and one tends to stay indoors BUT you two should get out in the fresh air more often. You do regularily
let your province down with your constant negativity.
Ulsterman....what County do you represent or are you just a provincial mounthpiece for spouting garbage?

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 06/08/2012 12:48:51    1239592

Joe sailed very close to the wind with his comments yesterday about Pat Gilroy and mangerial incompetence. Funny thing was he prefaced it with "Pat's (Gilroy) a friend of mine". Doubt that friendship will make it through his latest missive.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 06/08/2012 12:55:47    1239607

Have to say, it's class reading all these comments saying Donegal won't get anywhere with these negative tactics... Not saying we will or won't beat cork but Donegal football proves they are on the up and that 2011 wasn't a blip.

And I do not understand people when they still critcise the tactics used by the team as they turn defence into offence in a way I never witnessed before by a team!

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 06/08/2012 13:09:43    1239622

PK57
County: Louth

1239545 Brolly is getting criticised by people on here, yet he is the only one who called yesterdays game correctly. Brolly gave valid reasons as to why Donegal would win and was right. Also it seems people get very annoyed when Kerry are criticised but its ok to use words like puke football and to slag ulster football constantly like alot of people in the media do. No one is on here complaining about Spillane who has spent the last two years finding new ways to insult Donegal, and it was Tyrone before them. He is far worse then Brolly and acts like a child who lashes out because his county lost.

Correct and well said.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 06/08/2012 13:16:16    1239630

What a performance by Donegal. If you beat a Kerry team at its peak or on its way down, it always gives you a great lift. Just hope they can go all the way now. I was shocked to see Declan O'Sullivan coming off, big mistake from Kerry sideline I would say. I couldn't get over the energy levels of Tomas O Se for a guy of 34/35. The one good thing about this game is that it will mean the end of Kerry at the top table for 5 or 6 years with the retirements that will follow. Just hope it will give this Down panel time to regroup while Kerry are down. We were very very poor on Saturday but must give Mayo credit they played great football and they would be my dark horses for the All Ireland. Dublin well not sure what to make of them, and Cork got 2 lucky breaks in the first half, but never looked liked loosing. They looked so good in the second half but Kildare were never at the races in the second half. I fancy a Donegal v. Mayo Final............................On a final note alot of talk about Brolly,spillane,cooper and peter the great on here, but alot of it is hot air. I would like to mention one of the all round greats of the game over the last 12 years or so Tomas O'Se, what a player he always seemed to raise his game for them when they needed someone to drive them on in the past. Was yesterday his last game in Croker?...................I think so.

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 06/08/2012 13:26:38    1239641

Greengrass

PK57

1239545 Brolly is getting criticised by people on here, yet he is the only one who called yesterdays game correctly. Brolly gave valid reasons as to why Donegal would win and was right. Also it seems people get very annoyed when Kerry are criticised but its ok to use words like puke football and to slag ulster football constantly like alot of people in the media do. No one is on here complaining about Spillane who has spent the last two years finding new ways to insult Donegal, and it was Tyrone before them. He is far worse then Brolly and acts like a child who lashes out because his county lost.

Correct and well said.

+1

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12372 - 06/08/2012 13:31:57    1239651

To be fair,Spillane hates teams when they beat Kerry,he hates Meath since 2001..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/08/2012 13:32:19    1239652