Joe Brolly Vindicated

Joe Brolly is a very astute Gaelic football commentator. Last week he stated that when teams believe they can beat Kerry the Kingdom blinks first and that often costs them. He was castigated, abused and ridiculed from all quarters but today he has been completely shown to be correct. Donegal stared Kerry in they eye, took them, believed AND they won well. I hope that Spillane, Michael Lyster and The Sunday Game apologies on air to Joe Brolly tonight. Kerry are a great football county but they are human like the rest of us; it's time they accepted that.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/08/2012 17:40:28    1238824

Agreed ulsterman, once again Cooper wasn't there when needed most!!
Don't like Brolly but he is right about this one.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/08/2012 18:06:08    1238882

i agree brolly was so right

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/08/2012 18:09:24    1238890

bull s**t..............kerry have beaten more counties than anyone else.............most if not all of these counties would have believed they could beat kerry......are you saying tyrone didn't believe they would beat kerry a few weeks back ?...........donegal happen to be a very good side at the moment...........thats all.........they like many others will come and go.............kerry will always be the team to beat............if you dont believe this just ask jim mcguinness, mickey harte etc etc.....

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 05/08/2012 18:10:51    1238899

Lads, ye're only letting yourselves down with threads like this. Congrats to Donegal. When we put it up to them late on they held on and responded. No qualms and only good luck to them!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8858 - 05/08/2012 18:11:42    1238900

Haha ahhh the bitter northern brigade are out already! Fair play to Donegal but i dare say Gooch will rest easy for the winter knowin he retired yer Tyrone boys and numerous AI medals in his pocket!! History will show ling beyond yer bitter words that Gooch is the greatest ever!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 05/08/2012 18:13:02    1238903

I agree with his comments about Kerry blinking first but his comments about cooper are crazy. even 2d he was pretty good.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 05/08/2012 18:14:43    1238908

Joe Brolly - Derry's best performer in the championship this year.

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 05/08/2012 18:22:34    1238931

Kerry do not bottle it!!! Its bad refereeing decisions that are at fault!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/08/2012 18:24:14    1238935

The gloating from the Kerry crowd after the Tyrone game was of epic proportions but once again they are lousy in defeat and can't take it. Suck it fellas suck it up!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/08/2012 18:27:28    1238943

Gammy knee. If kerry were competing a level platform they would not have as many all irelands. Remember all those years when an all ireland could have been won from munster in 4 games. After 4 games in ulster you would just have won the ulster title. Do not get carried away. As long as the provincial decider is involved in the all ireland the advantage lies with munster.

0305 (Tyrone) - Posts: 41 - 05/08/2012 18:31:55    1238954

Ulsterman

There are a lot of unknowledgeable posters on this site but from what iv'e read today you've set the standard.

Kerry lost by two points.....

They lost two top class players during the game to injury......one probably the best free taker of the past five years

They are a class act unlike your posts.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 534 - 05/08/2012 18:36:51    1238968

Dry your eyes Ros; Kerry and most of you crowd outside Ulster give it pelters to us but can't take your own medicine. Even better ring Liveline tomorrow and tell Joe all about the big bad Ulstermen; he'll give you an ear.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/08/2012 18:38:59    1238974

ulsterman.........you know damn all about most things........your weather predictions last year sums you up to a tee..

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 05/08/2012 18:40:29    1238981

pity hoganstand turns into this...useless bickering at counties that succeed. And when they don't the gloves come off. Pathetic.

Fairly standard self-pity antrim attitude from a minority coming to fruition from ULSTERMAn. Always feels hard done by the other side of the border and an inferiority stigma about him.

Well done donegal. Hope ye beat Cork.Well sone Kerry. Battled on without two of their best players.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 534 - 05/08/2012 18:55:40    1239013

unclederry
County: Derry

1238931 Joe Brolly - Derry's best performer in the championship this year.

Classic...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 05/08/2012 18:55:53    1239016

Ros.....Savage Eye comes to mind with you...."how baaaaad r ye feeeelin.................Jeeeeeeeeez" Cue dwarf (small person) and French Horn.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 05/08/2012 19:07:56    1239042

Whilst i do think there us some merit to brolly's comments i don't think kerry blinked first so to speak today. They showed terrific fight to bring it back to a point near the end and missed a cgance to level before lacey's point. Gooch i thought played quite well as he normally does although he should have passed inside for a goal in the first half. The loss of sheehan especially cost kerry but i think that donegal were marginally better. If tom se calls it quits then we have seen the end of an absolutely wonderful footballer. Skill, guts and passion in abundance.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 05/08/2012 19:20:28    1239068

As a Tyrone man I never thought I would say this but Brolly is by a mile the best at reading the trends in GAA over the last 10 years. So as a betting man I took note of him more than the soundbits of Pat. His articles in the Gaelic life are excellent and even though it was painful to read his pre match article regarding Tyrone v Donegal this year was spot on. Even for the Ulster final while Jaralth Burns was giving reasons why Down would win Brolly nailed it. This week I knew he would pick Donegal while the rest mainly went for Kerry. In 2008 while O'Rourke and Pat were tipping Kerry Joe went for Tyrone. Joe understands the systems and teamwork that made the likes of Armagh, Tyrone and now Donegal so good. On TV3 today the panel had no real idea why Kerry had lost and I expect Joe will explain it better tonight.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 05/08/2012 19:35:04    1239106

Well done to Donegal today dont like the way they play football but a win is a win Cork will beat them. i think this Kerry team has been a credit to GAA and the All Irelands the county has won speaks for itself. But winning Ulster these days is like winning Munster in football in fairness. Armagh Tyrone and Down are considered as strong Ulster teams and they are useless. Cross would give teams a better game than Armagh. Tyrone won 3 All Irelands in over 100 years and by the look of them it will be another 100 before they win another 3. Kerry will be back.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 05/08/2012 19:42:53    1239124