Dublin V Mayo. What a game!

I have just read that the Dublin County Board are meeting today to decide if they are going to appeal the Maigh Eo substitutions. I hope they don't. Maigh Eo dererved their win regardless of how many subs were or weren't used.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 11:42:56    1258813

Culann

1258803 Liamwalkinstown

1258771 Just back today. Great day Sunday. Result didn't go the way I wanted, but when your current champions, the pain of losing isn't quite as bad. Don't get me wrong, I was gutted and cut a sad picture back in GC after it, but by 2am in Flannerys I had gotten over it!! 

Just wanted to say this. I have been on hoganstand since 2004. Have seen many users come and most of them go. I have enjoyed a decent relationship with the majority along the way. However there was always an underlying current between the Dubs fans and a few, not all, but a few of the Mayo mafia who have come and go here in that time. There was a LOT of hostility and it wasn't nice at times.
Even in the wake of 06, it wasn't nice. It was nasty. Try as hard as you can, that does give you a certain …impression of a county and its people. I wasn't a fan.
Sunday changed all that. Completely.
I was sat in the upper Cusack surrounded by green and red. It should have been a horrible experience. My team were torn apart in front of my very eyes, and here was I stuck in enemy territory, surrounded.
But…..the Mayo lads around me were as nice and genuine and daycent as you could meet. No OTT in your face rubbish, no rubbing it in, no cockyness.
Myself and our few waited for a good 20 mins after the whistle before we left. In that time we were cheered up no end by the scenes as The Green and Red of Mayo was belted out. A father, mother and 2 kids in front of me, the little boy about 5 years old, you could see it in his face, what it meant to him. Sure how could I begrudge him! As a father of a little fella myself, I was actually delighted for him! Myself and his dad had a chat shook hands and I asked the little man "will ye beat Donegal"….he was too shy to answer! But he shook my hand 

Fast forward a few hours and inside in Flannerys, I may as well have been in Westport! It was chaotic! Us few Dubs stuck out like sore thumbs, but it was great. To see what it meant, to feel the joy. The Mayo fans could not have been better. There was no gloating no slagging no animosity, It was all good and we had a great night. Savage craic.

Lads, and I mean no disrespect to Donegal here, I 100% hope ye win it now. Mayo's need is greater, Mayo's football is better. Mayo deserve this after the last 15 years.
Come September 23rd, this is one Dub who will sit in his sitting room, biting his nails roaring for the green and red, and I hope that little boy in the Cusack stand goes home happy 
Up Mayo!

It's hard to square this romantic, rose tinted old guff as coming from the same man who has stated that he has no problem at all with cynical fouling & only wished that Dublin had engaged in more of it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/09/2012 11:45:05    1258817

No appeal we were beaten fair and square by the better team. Jesus if they appeal I'll flip . We're Dublin we don't cry like Kildare, Kerry or Donegal.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/09/2012 12:25:40    1258861

"We are Dublin we don't cry......" what a load of guff. I seem to remember a lot of crying about Connolly's red card in last years all ireland semi final.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 04/09/2012 12:49:48    1258897

Muckross head, what are u on about? When did I ever say that??????

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/09/2012 12:55:36    1258907

Liamwalkinstown

1258907 Muckross head, what are u on about? When did I ever say that??????

Liam, a thousand apologies. I got you mixed up with Clondalkindub, a mortal sin I know. Put it down to a culchies lack of knowledge of the geography of the big smoke. I would now like to put it on the record that I regard your post as a classy analysis and summary of the day, your support of Mayo notwithstanding.
I am now off to do some flagellating. Mea culpa, mea culpa.......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/09/2012 13:28:02    1258952

Ahh clondalkin . Donegal don't cry I'd agree with kildare and Mayo and I'd throw in louth for obvious reasons

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/09/2012 13:45:24    1258979

1258861 No appeal we were beaten fair and square by the better team. Jesus if they appeal I'll flip . We're Dublin we don't cry like Kildare, Kerry or Donegal.
Ah now. Did not get much of a chance to cry really ove the past 15 years.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 04/09/2012 14:12:30    1259020

Real Kerry Fan

1259020 clondalkindub

1258861 No appeal we were beaten fair and square by the better team. Jesus if they appeal I'll flip . We're Dublin we don't cry like Kildare, Kerry or Donegal.
Ah now. Did not get much of a chance to cry really ove the past 15 years.

When did Donegal cry????

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/09/2012 14:32:23    1259043

Ah lads come on now leave ClondalkinDub alone he has had a tough few days in the knowledge Dublin will win F All for another 15 years and at last finding out that the myth surrounding B Brogan being a great player .... really is just a myth!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/09/2012 14:37:31    1259051

Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey that's all I've heard from Donegal cryers the last year after our semi final victory.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/09/2012 14:39:39    1259052

Yeah ok clondalkin ill accept that. But not as bad as one county you mentioned. Square ball no square ball ref was from meath and robed us, it's all to make sure dub win all ire, we are best team in country only gaa don't want us to win, of course all the great players want to play for us, so what if he lives and works in another county, we didn't approach him, we are real all ire champs, and on and on and on. You know the one im talking about

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/09/2012 15:00:07    1259085

Good post Liamwalkinstown & commiserations

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/09/2012 15:04:19    1259091

1259052 Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey Karl Lacey that's all I've heard from Donegal cryers the last year after our semi final victory.

Jesus, if that's the best you can come up with then that sound in the background is the barrel being well and truly scoured

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/09/2012 15:27:12    1259123

Hahaha love it royaldunne. May-O May-O Sam Maguire is coming home to Mayo

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/09/2012 15:40:10    1259141

Congrats WB
Best of luck in the final mate
i hope ye win it now and I think ye can

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/09/2012 15:54:16    1259155

I think that's the first post from royaldunne that doesn't have the word Kildare in it. Well done!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/09/2012 16:21:46    1259184

Oh my..... cant count the amount of times I have been told this year that dublin were saving themselves for September. I think that is the most delusional and cocky statement out there. I am in no way delighted for the dublin fans after the loss because i know how it feels and its not a nice feeling but after the grief some of them dublin fans gave here even after the Leinster final and now they are posting up that they are fighters because they came back at mayo in the last 10 minutes. Funny I didnt hear you say meath were fighters for coming back against you lot but I heard plenty of nasty comments about how bad we were and how you were saving yourselves. For them stupid comments I am truly happy those posters were proved wrong. Dublin couldnt of been given a better time to produce their BIG performance. Never leaving croker and having your fans on the doorstep. Sad really.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 04/09/2012 16:26:38    1259189

Cheers clondalkin haha
But im afraid ill be shouting for the hills in the final can't stand thinking about next 3 weeks listening to mchale going on about 96

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/09/2012 17:47:27    1259269

Fair play Liam, good post. I ave been on and off these boards under a couple of different names due to "technical reasons!" But U have to echo what you said there re the atmoshpere on here of late compared to that of Sunday. It was a very different feeling compared to 06 also. I was in the lower Canal/Hogan corner and had quite a few Dublin fans around me. I'd say at least 6 or 7 shook my hand on the way out. Very gracious in defeat. And to the Dublin fans who stayed behind to A) Applaud their champions and B) witness the scenes of Mayo fans celebrating, well done, fair play, and much respect.

Was rarely as proud as I was last Sunday. There was a little tear, my God what a feeling though. Still, a long way to go for the big one.

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 04/09/2012 18:15:27    1259290