03/09/2012 12:11:41 clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 2697
1257959 Jesus I'm sick of all the women on Hoganstand giving out about Cynical fouling. Mayo were dead right to cynical foul yesterday fair play to them and for being physical aswell, that's what all Ireland winning teams do. I'm cheering for Mayo in the final cause they play the game in the right way unlike Donegal who are going to ruin the game I love. Hard luck to Dublin yesterday Bernard Brogans miss will haunt him for years to come. Our underage teams are hammering teams out the gate it's only a matter of time before we dominate. Again well done Mayo the best team won and I hope you beat Donegal.
___________ Fair Play you must have been part of 500 (1%) of Dublin fans that watched the first half of the minor match In fact the number of HS posters talking about the minor match is nearly more than the attendance for the first half
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/09/2012 12:40:02
dublin's paul flynn almost ripped lee keegans index finger off his right hand...............have a look at the incident and you'll see when keegan catches the ball flynn immediately tries to rip his right hand of it thus causing the index finger to open fracture at the first joint.
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 03/09/2012 12:56:16
NavyNBlue County: Dublin
So yew_tree, killer_88, master, 51longago, WB and all the rest of the Mayo posse on here, well done, will be shouting for yis in the final boys. I don't think anyone would begrudge ye an All-Ireland
Cheers NavyNBlue. Yourself and others on here have been very gracious in defeat. As were all your fans yesterday id have to add so thanks for that
whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 03/09/2012 13:38:35
It was an exciting match for sure. Mayo goalkeeper David Clarke did a great job in stopping 2 or 3 possible goals. He also managed the ball well; clearing it out of the square to the full backs and directing good kick-outs.
mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 03/09/2012 13:59:52
So yew_tree, killer_88, master, 51longago, WB and all the rest of the Mayo posse on here, well done, will be shouting for yis in the final boys. I don't think anyone would begrudge ye an All-Ireland
_______
To be fair , Whoever wins it now i wouldn't begrudge them. Both have great sets of fans and both sets of fans and players deserve it.. unfortunately there will only be one winner. I reckon Donegal will win it but i would prefer Mayo to do it. Its nothing personal.
Good luck to both sides in the final ..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/09/2012 14:23:43
As we seen yesterday Mayo still have a touch of the weak legs when they are under severe pressure and Donegal will give them no time on the ball at all. Mayo took some hard physical knocks as well yesterday and that may leave some residue. If Donegal play they way they have this year they will win but Mayo have that look about them that Dublin did last year.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 03/09/2012 14:47:18
First off, to Wayno, Navy, Liam, snuff, Jackeen, Culleen and other Dubs I have forgotten - Hard luck yesterday and credit to the very gracious Dublin fans around me after the game.
Yesterday was a great day to be a Mayo fan. Some of the crap we have hurled our way down the years has gone beyond football and even a certain so called expert on the Sunday game which I have just watched could no help himself. Mayo outclassed Dublin for the first 50mins and I actually couldn't believe what I was seeing and then to Dublin's credit they came back at us which I knew they would even when we were 10 points up. We never do things the easy way and I fairly went through the emotions yesterday.
We have been here before though and an improved performance will be needed in the final and I believe we can do it.
MAIGH EO ABU
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 03/09/2012 14:51:36
Hard luck yesterday and credit to the very gracious Dublin fans around me after the game. yew_tree , 03/09/2012 at 14:51 --------------------------------------- Fair play to ye lad and well done, I will be shouting for ye in the final!
.....but, wait a minute, whats all this about graciousness??.......surely there were planes flown into coach loads of mayo pensioners and anthrax attacks on pubs full of mayo supporters, NO??!!
Wheres all the abuse about Dublin fans gone to this year after we lose a game?......surely somebody yesterday got attacked in the toilets of the lower hogan, NO??!!
Surely somebody has a 'fantastic' tale of woe and dread after yesterday!!!!......please dont tell me 'nothing happened'......could it be true??!! Well we aint heard anything yet!!....usually 'fantastic stories' are the very first thing!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 03/09/2012 15:17:23
Great performance by Mayo yesterday, well done lads and hard luck to Dublin aswell, they only seemed to really play in fits and starts but that's the way they've been all year for some strange reason. The hangover from an All-Ireland isn't all that uncommon though, I mean it happened to us in 97 and 00 after winning the AI the previous seasons and it happened to Tyrone after all three AIs particularly in 04 and 06 when they went out pretty tamely after winning titles.
But my point is keep the heads up, I hate driving the boot into teams after crushing defeats so while being a Meath man wouldn't make me the biggest Dub fan in the world I'm not gonna start driving the boot in now. Tyrone bounced back after poor 'hang over' seasons twice before so there's no reason why the Dubs can't do it aswell.
Now not to forget the winners of course, very well done to Mayo yesterday, you's were brilliant for 50mins, a very solid display all round and I wouldn't really worry about the last 20mins to be honest. Building up such a big lead often causes complacency plus the Dubs fought back well, but I honestly don't think you's will be 10 points up on Donegal at any stage in the final, and I'd say most of the Mayo players and management know that.
If you's can maintain that level of intensity and excellent point taking then there's no reason why Mayo can't put this Croker choker monkey to bed and win their first AI in 61 years but it will be on of the toughest finals you've faced yet!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/09/2012 19:02:12
Surely somebody has a 'fantastic' tale of woe and dread after yesterday!!!!......please dont tell me 'nothing happened'......could it be true??!! Well we aint heard anything yet!!....usually 'fantastic stories' are the very first thing!!
I heard that some Mayo lad pulled one of the handsome girls (heard she had a face like a dropped pie) in Coppers at 3am last night, he'll be walking like John Wayne for a while
NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 03/09/2012 19:45:48
03/09/2012 12:11:41 clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 2697
1257959 Jesus I'm sick of all the women on Hoganstand giving out about Cynical fouling. Mayo were dead right to cynical foul yesterday fair play to them. I'm cheering for Mayo in the final cause they play the game in the right way unlike Donegal who are going to ruin the game I love.
Clondalkin, Can I take it from this that you don't think cynical fouling is ruining the game. What terrible crimes against humanity are Donegal committing that is so much worse? I would remind you that in the semi-final against Cork Donegal had only one man booked and Cork scored only one point from a free.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/09/2012 19:53:33
cant believe were out thought yesterday was going to be our day when we started to peak then we went to far behind with not much time on the clock great comeback but just wasnt enough
well done mayo all the best in the final yesterday was deserved
COME ON THE DUBS WIN LOSE OR DRAW THIS IS WHAT ITS ALL ABOUT :-)
dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/09/2012 20:04:15
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 484
1257714 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 2343
I agree Royal that Bernard Brogan is a good player but this year shows he is not a great player. Yes he has been promoted constantly and talked up by the Media and as a result too much was expected of him. Great players like Peter Canavan played well how should i put it, played bloody great year in and year out. There is a serious step up in class between a good player and a great one.
I think BB has shown enough in previous seasons to earn the great tag. One of the greatest ever, only time will tell. He scored something like 3-21 this year in the championship but didn't feature in the league and O'Byrne Cup. That was one of Gilroy's many mistakes this year. 3-21 from an off-form player is an awesome tally all the same.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 03/09/2012 22:01:13
Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 865
1258635 cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 484
1257714 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 2343
I agree Royal that Bernard Brogan is a good player but this year shows he is not a great player. Yes he has been promoted constantly and talked up by the Media and as a result too much was expected of him. Great players like Peter Canavan played well how should i put it, played bloody great year in and year out. There is a serious step up in class between a good player and a great one.
I think BB has shown enough in previous seasons to earn the great tag. One of the greatest ever, only time will tell. He scored something like 3-21 this year in the championship but didn't feature in the league and O'Byrne Cup. That was one of Gilroy's many mistakes this year. 3-21 from an off-form player is an awesome tally all the same.
Glad to see ye Dubs didn't lose your sense of humour following Sundays defeat. Fair play.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 04/09/2012 08:20:40
In my opinion, Brogan is over rated and seems to do all his scoring against the lesser teams!
Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 04/09/2012 08:35:41
First off I'd like to commiserate with all the Dubs lads and Jackeen: there are a lot of begrudgers trying to rub it in, but in truth ye were exemplary champions imo, and a model for Mayo or Donegal as 2012 champions. As for Sunday's match, I can only say I'm very proud of the lads, I never lost faith, though they almost gave me heart failure before the end! They played some great stuff, and proved what I believed beforehand - as great a loss as Andy Moran is, Mayo is a team of many hearts, so no shortage of heartbeats! The ultimate compliment to the team we've just beaten would be to show that the final isn't the foregone conclusion some pundits have been suggesting. Performance is everything... results will always follow. We look forward to facing our fellow westerners and friends, respecting the challenge they'll represent, but will stay grounded as a result of Dublin's terrific fightback - the management and panel have a lot to take from Sunday, and I'm convinced it'll bring the team on hugely. If injuries don't deplete us further, we'll enter this final with a right chance, and even if we need to delve further into the panel the lads coming in will be well-prepared and willing to give their all... as fans we can't ask for anything more. Good luck to the Dubs and to Gilroy - the man really knows how to conduct himself and he did the hard bit for ye... he broke the cycle and delivered. I've no doubt that more will follow for Dublin during the course of this decade, possibly under Jim Gavin or Dessie... the great structures ye have guarantee the talent will be there.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/09/2012 09:15:26
Joxer That was one of Gilroy's many mistakes this year. 3-21 from an off-form player is an awesome tally all the same.
Not bad for a player who had his worst year yet. I'd be surprised if everyone on this site wasn't in agreement on that one.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 09:25:20
Fair play to Mayo they were hungrier, faster, stronger. Like a lot of Dubs I'm not surprised with the result in fact I was kind of expecting it.
Although I'm gutted I'm glad that we'll have five different champions in a row - this is great for the game and what sport should be all about. Best of luck to both teams in the final and happy hunting for the tickets!
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 04/09/2012 09:44:47
Just back today. Great day Sunday. Result didn't go the way I wanted, but when your current champions, the pain of losing isn't quite as bad. Don't get me wrong, I was gutted and cut a sad picture back in GC after it, but by 2am in Flannerys I had gotten over it!!
Just wanted to say this. I have been on hoganstand since 2004. Have seen many users come and most of them go. I have enjoyed a decent relationship with the majority along the way. However there was always an underlying current between the Dubs fans and a few, not all, but a few of the Mayo mafia who have come and go here in that time. There was a LOT of hostility and it wasn't nice at times. Even in the wake of 06, it wasn't nice. It was nasty. Try as hard as you can, that does give you a certain …impression of a county and its people. I wasn't a fan. Sunday changed all that. Completely. I was sat in the upper Cusack surrounded by green and red. It should have been a horrible experience. My team were torn apart in front of my very eyes, and here was I stuck in enemy territory, surrounded. But…..the Mayo lads around me were as nice and genuine and daycent as you could meet. No OTT in your face rubbish, no rubbing it in, no cockyness. Myself and our few waited for a good 20 mins after the whistle before we left. In that time we were cheered up no end by the scenes as The Green and Red of Mayo was belted out. A father, mother and 2 kids in front of me, the little boy about 5 years old, you could see it in his face, what it meant to him. Sure how could I begrudge him! As a father of a little fella myself, I was actually delighted for him! Myself and his dad had a chat shook hands and I asked the little man "will ye beat Donegal"….he was too shy to answer! But he shook my hand
Fast forward a few hours and inside in Flannerys, I may as well have been in Westport! It was chaotic! Us few Dubs stuck out like sore thumbs, but it was great. To see what it meant, to feel the joy. The Mayo fans could not have been better. There was no gloating no slagging no animosity, It was all good and we had a great night. Savage craic.
Lads, and I mean no disrespect to Donegal here, I 100% hope ye win it now. Mayo's need is greater, Mayo's football is better. Mayo deserve this after the last 15 years. Come September 23rd, this is one Dub who will sit in his sitting room, biting his nails roaring for the green and red, and I hope that little boy in the Cusack stand goes home happy Up Mayo!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/09/2012 11:07:00
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 3714
1258771 Just back today. Great day Sunday. Result didn't go the way I wanted, but when your current champions, the pain of losing isn't quite as bad. Don't get me wrong, I was gutted and cut a sad picture back in GC after it, but by 2am in Flannerys I had gotten over it!!
Just wanted to say this. I have been on hoganstand since 2004. Have seen many users come and most of them go. I have enjoyed a decent relationship with the majority along the way. However there was always an underlying current between the Dubs fans and a few, not all, but a few of the Mayo mafia who have come and go here in that time. There was a LOT of hostility and it wasn't nice at times. Even in the wake of 06, it wasn't nice. It was nasty. Try as hard as you can, that does give you a certain …impression of a county and its people. I wasn't a fan. Sunday changed all that. Completely. I was sat in the upper Cusack surrounded by green and red. It should have been a horrible experience. My team were torn apart in front of my very eyes, and here was I stuck in enemy territory, surrounded. But…..the Mayo lads around me were as nice and genuine and daycent as you could meet. No OTT in your face rubbish, no rubbing it in, no cockyness. Myself and our few waited for a good 20 mins after the whistle before we left. In that time we were cheered up no end by the scenes as The Green and Red of Mayo was belted out. A father, mother and 2 kids in front of me, the little boy about 5 years old, you could see it in his face, what it meant to him. Sure how could I begrudge him! As a father of a little fella myself, I was actually delighted for him! Myself and his dad had a chat shook hands and I asked the little man "will ye beat Donegal"….he was too shy to answer! But he shook my hand
Fast forward a few hours and inside in Flannerys, I may as well have been in Westport! It was chaotic! Us few Dubs stuck out like sore thumbs, but it was great. To see what it meant, to feel the joy. The Mayo fans could not have been better. There was no gloating no slagging no animosity, It was all good and we had a great night. Savage craic.
Lads, and I mean no disrespect to Donegal here, I 100% hope ye win it now. Mayo's need is greater, Mayo's football is better. Mayo deserve this after the last 15 years. Come September 23rd, this is one Dub who will sit in his sitting room, biting his nails roaring for the green and red, and I hope that little boy in the Cusack stand goes home happy Up Mayo! Very deep. I think I am going to cry.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/09/2012 11:31:58