Great display from Mayo for 50 minutes of play today. if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 02/09/2012 22:02:10 1257695 Link 0 |
Look today was mayos day, but calm O'Rourke said after the match that in his opinion VB had got bigger than football and his football suffered as a result. But I think it highlights one thing that the media build up of players is wrong they don't have the handlers to bat this stuff away, as said before I think VB is a awesome player and im sure he wil be back to his best soon,but for gods sake keep the media at bay for the lad, royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2012 22:04:28 1257696 Link 0 |
A***pirate FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 03/09/2012 08:47:21 1257712 Link 0 |
royaldunne cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 03/09/2012 08:49:32 1257714 Link 0 |
I agree Royal that Bernard Brogan is a good player but this year shows he is not a great player. Yes he has been promoted constantly and talked up by the Media and as a result too much was expected of him. Great players like Peter Canavan played well how should i put it, played bloody great year in and year out. There is a serious step up in class between a good player and a great one. Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 03/09/2012 09:00:43 1257723 Link 0 |
dublin are were they deserve to be now , out of the championship, yesterday was another bad performance and you cant get to all ireland finals playing poorly all championship, yesterday their defense was bad , midfield was bad and the forwards were bad, and the team management was bad, playing with a midfielder in the forward line doesn't work ! boyblue (Dublin) - Posts: 90 - 03/09/2012 09:40:31 1257758 Link 0 |
As predicted Mayo delivered!!!!!!!!! traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 03/09/2012 09:44:26 1257763 Link 0 |
Well done Mayo, a great performance overall. To kick 19 points when you supposedly don't have the same strength up front without Andy Moran is something else. Had a feeling in the pit of my stomach that Mayo could have one of those days in Croke Park where they simply couldn't miss and for 50 minutes of that game that's exactly what was going on. Some of the scores that Mayo got in the first half were out of this world. Great to see a team play quality football like that. NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 03/09/2012 09:50:04 1257775 Link 0 |
Mayo were the better team by a mile, some very suspect refereeing allowed the dubs back into the game, and how Dublin finished the game with fifteen on the pitch is a mystery. bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 03/09/2012 10:00:48 1257786 Link 0 |
sedico hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2012 10:38:13 1257832 Link 0 |
i think some people are being too harsh on bernard as regards media stuff when he is interviewed he gives nothing away he talks the other team up and says they will be tough to beat no harm in that,where as liam rushe and ryan o dwyer for the hurlers talk themselves and the team up thats what does damage in my opinion. hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2012 10:42:44 1257838 Link 0 |
the people who didn't see mayo's win coming know nothing about football............i've said it he before leinster football is poor...........dublin beat 4 leinster teams to get to the semi final...........they just ain't ready for Mayo yet............donegal will have to get themselves a new plan of action now.......they would have been preparing for a game with dublin but mayo's style will be totally different to that of dublins............the blanket defence wont inconvenience mayo. Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 03/09/2012 11:21:37 1257894 Link 0 |
yep Gammy Knee , leinster football is weak a bit like Munster only 2 teams in it!! Any comments on Mayo's time killing tactics and cynicism towards the end of the match. and before you all start this is not sour grapes - any team in their position with the present rules would do the same. I just suspect that if dublin or Donegal had employed such tactics that mcstay and the rest of the media would ha ve made a much bigger deal of it!!! fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 03/09/2012 11:38:50 1257915 Link 0 |
Jeez hill16 you're a bit over sensitive altogether. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 03/09/2012 11:51:33 1257939 Link 0 |
Soo delighted with the overall performance yesterday. Credit due to Dubs who nearly turned it around. Need to sort the mini collapse but for the moment its great to bask in the glory of a good Mayo performance in Croke Park. mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 03/09/2012 11:53:19 1257942 Link 0 |
Yew_Tree , 51longago , Paddyogall , pericles and the rest of the Mayo boys on this , Well played , the better team won , no complaints , no arguements , Delighted for yous and i hope you go on and win the final now. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/09/2012 12:00:18 1257950 Link 0 |
Being a neutral at the game yesterday first off can I say that both teams and supporters should be credited for a fantastic game and atmosphere - shows up how great gaelic games are compared to soccer etc. roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 03/09/2012 12:06:13 1257957 Link 0 |
Jesus I'm sick of all the women on Hoganstand giving out about Cynical fouling. Mayo were dead right to cynical foul yesterday fair play to them and for being physical aswell, that's what all Ireland winning teams do. I'm cheering for Mayo in the final cause they play the game in the right way unlike Donegal who are going to ruin the game I love. Hard luck to Dublin yesterday Bernard Brogans miss will haunt him for years to come. Our underage teams are hammering teams out the gate it's only a matter of time before we dominate. Again well done Mayo the best team won and I hope you beat Donegal. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2012 12:11:41 1257959 Link 0 |
its not mayo people are complaining about for the cynical fouling its the rule book that is to blame people have said it all year in fairness it should be a straight red card if you are in on goal and you haul a player down,the dissapointing thing from mayo was the play acting rolling around pretending they had cramp everytime dublin got a point it overshadowed there 50 minutes of great scoring before that,still for all that had bernard rounded the keeper and slotted it in the net we would more then likely be still in the race for sam hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2012 12:17:49 1257970 Link 0 |
Mayo were by far the better team. Unfortunately, unless you're super human like Kilkenny, it's near impossible to be able to win back to back All-Ireland's in this day and age. From the first game in the League against Kerry, you could see this Dublin team lacked the hunger and intensity of last year. I'm not one for kicking lads when they are down, but two lads in particular looked like they enjoyed the celebrity lifestyle a wee bit too much and it showed all year. Felt sorry yesterday for McAuley, Cluxton and Flynn who have been class all year and Kilkenny who stood out yesterday as a bit special. But it's not all doom and gloom for Dublin, underage teams are flying, Brigids won the Féile double and if Gilroy steps aside, Jim Gavin, the brains behind the under age success will step in. Congrats to Mayo, fully deserved their win and I wish them the best, although I think Donegal could be close to unbeatable, but you never know ~PHS Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 03/09/2012 12:37:14 1257997 Link 0 |