i think its sad to see some posters on here who are supposed to be genuine gaa supporters trying to put the boot into dublin players after the match. instead of congratulating mayo and being happy for them their seems to be more posters just delighted dublin lost it wouldnt matter to who.
onto the match itself i will start with mayo. i thaught they were outstanding in the first half played terrific football and were kicking excellent points which of course we were told by the pundits and media that they hadnt got a forward line without andy moran well i think all six of them scored in the first half and 12 points at half time is a massive score. their last 20 minutes performance was disgusting though it was a complete win at all costs job. time after time they pulled dublin player to the ground when he got insde the 21 yard line i reckon we must have nearly scored most of our points from placed balls in second half,its up to the gaa to simply give straight red cards for these proffesional type of fouls,also the cynical behaviour of players to lie down and pretend they were injured everytime dublin kicked a point to stop any sort of momentum was bordering on cheating really.they were the better team for the 50 minutes.
onto dublin i have said all year that the tactic of playing 3 midfielders was making us put far too much pressure on the inside forwards and alsomade us play far more defensivly.after winning the all ireland last year playing with four attackers it was a shame gilroy wnet into a shell and tried to not lose the all ireland this year instead of going out to win it again.i realy thaught the pressure was off us this year and he should have played a more attacking brand of football this year and use the players confidence of winning an all ireland instead of being defensive.we actualy playe extremly well in midfield today mdma was outstanding at his winning possesion but justcannot solo the ball at all.it was only in the last 20 minutes that gilroy through off the shackles and played a proper forward line of 6 players and it proved it is still the best way to play as we outsocred mayo 9v2 in that 20 mins and realy went at them.the goal just wouldnt come partly because of mayo defenders pulling dublin forwards to the ground anytime they got near the 14 yard line and also when the goal chance did come it unfortunatly fell to the 1 man who was low on confidence bernard brogan,any other day he would be the man you would want in that position but his confidence was on the floor. he should have gone around the keeper and slotted it home and would have had the goal at his mercy but bernard has been the hero on many a day so you have to take the good with the bad.i think there was 4 mins to go 3 down i think we would have gone on to win if went in.i wont put the boot into pat gilroy he brought us an all ireland and 3 leinster titles so he has been brilliant and i reckon he will decide to move on as he only wanted to stay one year,if he goes he think dessie farrell looks the man to take over and may return to amore attacking gameplan like does with our minors,as next year we would realy have some forward line alan and bernard,kilkenny,connolly,costello,mcmannoman,o gara could all do real damage,i reckon cullen and cahill,mossy quinn,casey may all retire but theres definatly enough players come through to make sure we will be back next year
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 20:00:44
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2429
its funny that a dub is giving out about cynical fouling, i seem to remember dublin doing an awful lot of cynical fouling in the leinster final and i dont think you would have had a problem with that did you?? alot of dubs are giving out about mayo players going down injured, well jesus what would you do if you had gotten a kick to the head or a broken nose? would ye have carried on playing eh i dont think so! there should have been a dublin player sent off in that game, there was two or three mayo players who went off with blood injuries and the dublin players barely got a yellow card for it. also players go down with cramps all the time and i too hate when teams try to waste time when they are winning but i actually dont think mayo were, it was a very physical game so your going to get players going down injured more in a game like that.
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 02/09/2012 20:13:18
Well done to Mayo!
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 02/09/2012 20:14:47
You mean Mayo actually thought for once, instead of other teams slowing down the game and getting imaginary cramp, that we might actually do the same, cycnical.....yes but the first team to do it?.................blow it out your hole!
Can't wait for a great final, and thanks for a good game to the Dubs.
Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 02/09/2012 20:14:48
AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 984
1257502 Well done mayo, first half performance won it for you. ye have some brilliant players. bringing an injured brogan on in an allireland semi ,with kevin mc on the bench is crazy. gate keeper i dont usually get enjoyment in coming on after other counties loses, you seem to, good man. same to you sedico, we will be back.
Enjoyment? I was simply offering my opinion.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2012 20:22:58
meathalltheway County: Meath Posts: 436
1257545 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2429
its funny that a dub is giving out about cynical fouling, i seem to remember dublin doing an awful lot of cynical fouling in the leinster final and i dont think you would have had a problem with that did you?? alot of dubs are giving out about mayo players going down injured, well jesus what would you do if you had gotten a kick to the head or a broken nose? would ye have carried on playing eh i dont think so! there should have been a dublin player sent off in that game, there was two or three mayo players who went off with blood injuries and the dublin players barely got a yellow card for it. also players go down with cramps all the time and i too hate when teams try to waste time when they are winning but i actually dont think mayo were, it was a very physical game so your going to get players going down injured more in a game like that.
i have always hated cynical fouling but if you look at how mayo played today for 50 minutes they were outstanding and kicked great scores all i said was it was a pity that they spoiled this by reducing themselves to dragging a dublin player down everytime we got near the goal and if you were there you would have clearly seen that they werent injured or suffering with cramp at all it was conveniently everytime dublin kicked a point they stayed down injured as i said they played great for 50 but when dublin played 6 forwards and went at them they hung for dear life by doing this and if bernard had of scored the goal it would have seen them lose
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 20:26:59
Superglue County: Kerry Posts: 561
1257506 bob_dolphin County: Limerick Posts: 287
1257273 McCauley's inability to do anything other than run down an infinite amount of blind alleys re-affirms my confusion as to how he is rated so highly as a footballer by a lot of posters on this site.
Thought he was Dublin's best player today.
Says it all really Superglue doesn't it? He improved massively in the second half after I posted, but you need your actual footballers to step up in order to be able to win the game. Mayo's did, and they are deservedly in the final as a result, a full hearty congratulations to them for that!
bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 02/09/2012 20:28:19
Hill16, it's not putting the boot in. It's called analysis. In this instance, players who have been inflated to the last by posters such as yourself have not performed to the level they are supposedly made out to be at. If you're not able to take the flak when this happens, then please don't grate on us "non-Dubs" with hyperbole all through the season.
bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 02/09/2012 20:30:31
bob_dolphin County: Limerick Posts: 289
1257574 Hill16, it's not putting the boot in. It's called analysis. In this instance, players who have been inflated to the last by posters such as yourself have not performed to the level they are supposedly made out to be at. If you're not able to take the flak when this happens, then please don't grate on us "non-Dubs" with hyperbole all through the season.
when have i EVER INFLATED any player you are way out of order there.analysis is about the match most posters are trying to just get digs in at dublin and not analyise why mayo won the game,as for your comments on mccauley i think you are the only man in ireland who could think he was poor today i agree his soloing of the ball is bad but his all round play was excellent today he fielded ball after ball and drove at the mayo defense he was a real leader for the comeback
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 20:36:32
sedico County: Kildare Posts: 732
1257562 AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 984
1257502 Well done mayo, first half performance won it for you. ye have some brilliant players. bringing an injured brogan on in an allireland semi ,with kevin mc on the bench is crazy. gate keeper i dont usually get enjoyment in coming on after other counties loses, you seem to, good man. same to you sedico, we will be back.
Enjoyment? I was simply offering my opinion
this coming from the man who only a couple of days ago started a thread of dublin for two in a row
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 20:38:59
Just popped on to say congratulations to the Mayo lads from a not so sunny Spain! Well deserved victory! To both Donegal and Mayo I say enjoy the build up. It's something only a few teams get to experience and you've both earned it. To my fellow Dubs I say we've had our day in the sun and we will have more. Just not this year with our senior team. Our minors are a serious team and we have an all Ireland to look forward to. Now if you'll excuse me, I have several San Miguels waiting to drown my sorrows :). True blue forever!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2012 20:55:43
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2438
1257592 sedico County: Kildare Posts: 732
1257562 AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 984
Enjoyment? I was simply offering my opinion
this coming from the man who only a couple of days ago started a thread of dublin for two in a row
Because I thought Dublin would win. I was wrong and from what I saw today Dublin have a lot of ordinary footballers. Seems like some Dubs have no problem criticising other countys but can't stand it when someone tries to do the same to them.
If you can't stand the heat then get out of the kitchen.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2012 21:00:04
sedico
a good team doesnt become ordinary after one game if you ask me you were hedging your bets building dublin up with a two in a row thread so if they did do it you could say you were spot on but at same time coming on here to boot the boot in when they didnt. i havent criticised any other county players i focus on my own team maybe you should do the same
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 21:07:22
lot of dublin players didnt perform like they havent all year...dublin seem to be carrying too many athletes and not enough footballers...still could have won or got a draw though had bernard scored that goal and they deserve enormous credit for their comeback
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 02/09/2012 21:14:07
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2443
1257634 sedico
a good team doesnt become ordinary after one game if you ask me you were hedging your bets building dublin up with a two in a row thread so if they did do it you could say you were spot on but at same time coming on here to boot the boot in when they didnt. i havent criticised any other county players i focus on my own team maybe you should do the same 02/09/2012 21:14:07
I beg to differ. They are a totally different team to last year. IMO they now look an ordinary team.
If that hurts your feelings then so be it.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2012 21:21:05
ffgg
we have been playing too defnsive all year was only last 20 minutes that we played an orthodox forward line and won that 20 minutes 9v2 on the scoreboard and i agree if bernard had of rounded the keeper ans slotted it in the net we would have probably won from there in
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2012 21:22:36
sedico County: Kildare Posts: 733
1257625 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2438
1257592 sedico County: Kildare Posts: 732
Because I thought Dublin would win. I was wrong and from what I saw today Dublin have a lot of ordinary footballers. Seems like some Dubs have no problem criticising other countys but can't stand it when someone tries to do the same to them.
If you can't stand the heat then get out of the kitchen.
no problem taking the criticisim, only obvious lads will take the pi!! afterwards, just personally i didnt get a good laugh coming on when kildare were hammered saying they had ordinary footballers, if anything this Dublin team in the last 20 mins showed what they will be like next year (they didnt throw in the towel),playing 3 in midfield hopefully is a thing of the past. very few ordinary players on that team, a lot of young lads too. Again WELL DONE MAYO enjoy the next few weeks. We enjoyed it last year and hopefully again next year.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/09/2012 21:27:18
Dublin have some class players. Flynn and Michael Dara Mc were class and brought the fight to Mayo. However Bastick and Fennell are poor and a few of the Dublin players seem to be fans of themselves. Mayo did very well today and hopefully can finish the job. McLoughlin is vital as we found out when he went off injured. Lost every break while he was gone. Dublin need to go back to basics, more football less photoshoots.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 02/09/2012 21:30:56
I think if posters are going to analyse players they should be objective. Alan brogan wasn,t fit. It was worth a go when things were bleak. Bernard brogan like every forward that has ever played the game had an off day, and despite that could still have won it. BB toke Dublin over the line v donegal last year so saying he s not a big game player ? Flynn scored two superb points and was unluckybnot to get a goal Mdma was superb and drove the comeback Kilkenny looked impressive Connolly whilst scoring superb points showed poor judgement in shooting from 55 yards ROC as i state above should have walked. Man had a broken nose Midfield were by-Passed so hard to judge Whilst cluxton kicked 3 scores i thought his kick outs were poor
Super 50 mins from Mayo. Mcloughlin , dillin, cafrey, moran stand out for me, o connor showed nerves of steel especially kicking into the hill
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 02/09/2012 21:43:48
Cluxton seems to be getting a hard time of it but apart from one obvious miss-kick which led directly to the ball being kicked straight back over his head I don't think you can too much of the blame on him for their inability to retain posession. A huge part of Dublin's game stems from building off quick kick-outs but Mayo seem to be the one team that have cracked this. They did it in the league and they did it again today. You only needed to watch O'Connor's immediate reaction after kicking his frees to see that every time the ball went dead Mayo were already pushing up on his kick outs. And I mean straight away. There was a stat floating about that from when a score or wide occurred to win the ball is kicked out by Cluxton is on average 6 or 7 seconds. Every team playing Dublin should study what Mayo did today. Great tactical play and management by Horan. It had a huge bearing on the game and there's only so much Cluxton can do about that.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/09/2012 21:53:28