Dublin V Mayo. What a game!

Absolutely delighted! One of the best results of all time. COME ON MAYO.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 02/09/2012 17:13:53    1257301

Well done Mayo, we left it far too late!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 02/09/2012 17:14:19    1257302

Well Done Mayo. Should be a great final

the circle has 2 sides (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 02/09/2012 17:15:17    1257306

This was posted as a new thread but because the subject matter already exists it has been incorporated here.

slayer
Limerick

02/09/2012
17:11

What a game

Possibly the greatest game of Gaelic football I have ever seen. Mayo - superb Dublin - great heart to score 0-8 without reply. Absolutely top top play, shame there had to be a loser, well done Mayo.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 02/09/2012 17:15:44    1257307

delighted for the dubs
derfil1

;) The main forum will be a dublin free zone for a while, that is very welcome.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/09/2012 17:15:47    1257309

A lot of ordinary footballers on that Dublin team. They've been found out today.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/09/2012 17:21:03    1257319

dubs are just terrified of the red and green jersey- thought the ref would kick a point for dublin at one stage :D

theboydog (Mayo) - Posts: 52 - 02/09/2012 17:21:08    1257320

UP MAYO. Dont go into hiding now SNUFFY. 2 IN A ROW I DONT THINK SO. Only good teams do that.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 02/09/2012 17:21:47    1257322

What game were you watching slayer?! Good not great, a lot of negative play,
dirty fouling by the dubs and cynicism from mayo!
I'm looking forward to hearing 'the master' opinion regarding mayo's cynicism!
Since he is one of Hoganstand's most critical posters
on this issue!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/09/2012 17:22:34    1257323

Exciting game, was jumping around the place here. See yous in Dublin for the final Mayo friends ;)

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 02/09/2012 17:26:51    1257333

Kerry 74 now i think me and you both know we wont see Snuff for many months! He is holidaying in Mayo for the winter!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/09/2012 17:29:07    1257338

Hon the lads!! Joe mcquillan had a good performance and tried his best but at the end of the day the rest of his team let him down. His ball supply to them was unreal

pitch_invader (Mayo) - Posts: 154 - 02/09/2012 17:29:22    1257340

Today's performance just reinforced that Dublin were
lucky to win an AI last year, the luck ran out today!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/09/2012 17:29:30    1257341

Hard luck Dublin, ye had my heart in my mouth for a good 20 mins: it was a great comeback, I thought our cynical fouling was bad near the end but ya have to win dirty. ! I thought it was gonna be a mirror result of 2006! Thought our lads got stuck in when they had to, jaysus they had to dig deep! Hope they can finish the job now, Donegal are a different animal. We have plenty to do to improve and thats not a bad place to be. Forwards put their hands up, Dillon was immense. UP MAYO!

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 02/09/2012 17:29:46    1257342

01/09/2012 15:22:35
kerryrowz

1256756 Karma!

Mayo to win

Congrats Mayo, i thought it was a brillant game of football. I felt though, the ref was anti Dublin and should of given at least 9 min of injury time as there was alot of stopages in the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 02/09/2012 17:38:29    1257358

pitch_invader

1257340 Hon the lads!! Joe mcquillan had a good performance and tried his best but at the end of the day the rest of his team let him down. His ball supply to them was unreal

I thought at least 9 min of injury time should of been played.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 02/09/2012 17:40:36    1257361

well done mayo and hard luck dublin. cant believe how much i was actually cheering for mayo at the end haha. id love to see them win the all ireland this year :)

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 02/09/2012 17:41:02    1257363

Snuffy where are you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 02/09/2012 17:44:50    1257375

Moran's catch towards the end was a huge moment. Massive! A great piece of skill. Overall Mayo deserved it although when Dublin get that run on you with the crowd behind them they really are very hard to stop. Should never have come down to the deliberate fouling at the end but there's no county who can take the high line on that sort of thing anymore.

For Dublin the decision to put on Alan Brogan backfired badly. Kevin McManamon should have been brought on at that stage if he was making a change. O'Gara did very well when he came on too. Connolly is pure mad, very unreliable. Gilroy will probably go now given his business commitments. Kilkenny might go to Oz although funnily enough he'd probably have been more likely to go if he had gotten his Ai medal. Still probably a period of transition in Dublin football coming up. I've no doubt they'll be there or thereabouts next year though.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/09/2012 17:56:49    1257399

It was a decent game but there was a lot of poor play as well with some bad misses on both sides and a lot of sloppy ball given away so let's not go overboard. Mayo deserved it and should have won by more but Dublin have looked very off this year as the effort they put in last season seems to have caught up with them. Back to back SAMS are very difficult and you seen it today with Dublin and Cork and Tyrone over the past few years. Dublin have looked very tired and heavy legged in their games this year.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 02/09/2012 18:05:03    1257416