Dublin V Mayo. What a game!

Too right clondalkin. Rory got robbed two years in a row. Pivotal to us this Sunday. Great reader of the game. Such a cool level headed lad. Nobody getting past "the roc" on Sunday, no O'Conner, no Dillon, defo not Moran, not nobody!
Remember mayo...... Rory's going to get ye!!!

Penguin1985 (Dublin) - Posts: 119 - 30/08/2012 14:35:54    1255647

Fair points Liam and as it gets closer if i'm honest i'm staring to have some doubts myself.

As a supporter you have to believe, that's the way i see it anyway, no sense in heading into hq on Sunday with a defeatist attitude, even if you don't believe truly , believe for the sake of your team.

This Mayo set up under Horan, has done mighty, no matter what anyone says, we are up there in the top 5/6 on anyones list , that has a bit of cop.

How will we cope if Dublin get an early couple of goals say, this team won't crumble like teams of the past, that is down to Horan, steel bars don't bend too easy.

I believe Dublin have another gear to what they have shown so far this year,of that there is no doubt, can they find it, is the question.

People have questioned their hunger and other have dismissed such notions. I would not use the word "hunger" as such but what i do believe for example is, if Mayo were to go up by 4/5 points in the second half, the massive intensity level required to comeback against a resolute defence could prove a step too far and there would be that thing in their heads " ahh **** it , we won it last year" = not the same hunger as last year.

Overall , all messin aside, it is an impossible contest to predict with any great confidence. Won't stop me dreaming of winning and encouraging our proud county onto victory.

Have a good day out everyone, Mayo fans especially , we are constantly told how we fail in finals etc but here we are in a big semi final again, some counties like Roscommon never see these days.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/08/2012 14:38:47    1255650

Flaker, for the record if our forwards dont perform, if Alan doesnt make it, if ye lord MF I havent a doubt in my mind ye will beat us
And if ye do I will be 100% up for Mayo in the final

Heres to a great game and great craic with the Mayo fans

Lads, for 2 of Footballs powerhouses, we dont meet half enough!
And as for Galway!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 14:40:28    1255651

ROC is the best 3 in Ireland. Thats just a fact. He is.
McGee got the All Star last year as much on what the 2 boys beside him did as himself. Fine player that McGee is, ROC is simply better.
He is also better then Michael Shields by a distance.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 14:43:23    1255656

AOS will toss the ROC out of his way like a pebble. Bang, early goal, and the dubs, who have manged to get their in time to see it, will be heading for the exits.

(Good look making a quip out of AOS)

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/08/2012 14:51:43    1255661

1255661 AOS will toss the ROC out of his way like a pebble. Bang, early goal, and the dubs, who have manged to get their in time to see it, will be heading for the exits.

(Good look making a quip out of AOS)

Master, if your going to make a quip about a player making a quip, you should make sure you spell every thing right :) Good LUCK with that :)

Going to be some craic on Sunday Master :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 14:56:18    1255663

Fair points Liam and as it gets closer if i'm honest i'm staring to have some doubts myself.

As a supporter you have to believe, that's the way i see it anyway, no sense in heading into hq on Sunday with a defeatist attitude, even if you don't believe truly , believe for the sake of your team.

This Mayo set up under Horan, has done mighty, no matter what anyone says, we are up there in the top 5/6 on anyones list , that has a bit of cop.

How will we cope if Dublin get an early couple of goals say, this team won't crumble like teams of the past, that is down to Horan, steel bars don't bend too easy.

I believe Dublin have another gear to what they have shown so far this year,of that there is no doubt, can they find it, is the question.

People have questioned their hunger and other have dismissed such notions. I would not use the word "hunger" as such but what i do believe for example is, if Mayo were to go up by 4/5 points in the second half, the massive intensity level required to comeback against a resolute defence could prove a step too far and there would be that thing in their heads " ahh **** it , we won it last year" = not the same hunger as last year.

Overall , all messin aside, it is an impossible contest to predict with any great confidence. Won't stop me dreaming of winning and encouraging our proud county onto victory.

Have a good day out everyone, Mayo fans especially , we are constantly told how we fail in finals etc but here we are in a big semi final again, some counties like Roscommon never see these days.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/08/2012 15:03:17    1255673

'luck'
'there'
'everything'

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 30/08/2012 15:13:51    1255683

51........Wouldnt it be great if we all got on like this all the time :) ha ha

As I said above, if we bring our A game, we will win, if we dont, we will lose. And are Mayo in the Top 5 teams? Without a doubt they are.
Dublin, Cork, Donegal and Mayo are the 4 best teams in Ireland at the moment. Its no co-incidence those 4 are the semi finalists. They simply ARE the 4 best teams in Ireland and anyone who says other wise is either a Kerryman, a Kildare man or just wrong.... man :)

If we play anything less than 90% we WILL be beaten and I will tell you this, if Andy Moran was playing, I wouldnt be half as confident. I rate him very highly.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 15:27:20    1255695

Liam and 51

Are you two planning on booking a room after the game regardless of the result ? Some serious lovin' going on there :) !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 30/08/2012 15:42:09    1255705

Will you join us Wayno!
Youd only love that....wouldnt you!!!
Look at ya....there looking at me.....with your....your eyes......ya durty ol............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 15:50:33    1255709

waynoI

Liam and 51

Are you two planning on booking a room after the game regardless of the result ? Some serious lovin' going on there :) !!

Ahh i wouldn't go that far but sure isn't that what our game is all about , hell for leather for 70mins and the build up, i could have sweat drippin off me, near goin to blows with the man beside me but no better buachaill to shake his hand at the end win/lose or draw and buy him a pint after.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/08/2012 15:53:50    1255713

Liam, both you and I know that when you are resorting to spelling correction you are really at the bottom of the barrel!
Actually I dont believe AOS will be in ff, he might take a spell in there but that would probably be a good indicator that plan a isnt working, so I hope I see him out the field for the full game.

If this one is as good as the one in 06 those 35000 yanks wont want to watch another game of american football again.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/08/2012 16:40:10    1255755

If this one is as good as the one in 06 those 35000 yanks wont want to watch another game of american football again.

I believe the two american college teams have been invited to croker for the game no to mention a few yanks no doubt will go along for the look - 8,000 tickets left I believe - should be a good weekend - especially in coppers with all them american cheerleaders about ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 30/08/2012 17:19:27    1255795

The love in is almost as nauseating as that Royaldunne thing sucking up to us all summer, shudder!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 30/08/2012 17:20:38    1255796

Spare a thought for lil 'ol me stuck in Spain on my jolliers!! Have a pub sourced for the match but I'm gonna be sooooo homesick I'll be bawling if we win and moreso if we lose!! Hope it's as good a match as the other semi. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2012 20:04:13    1255878

Yeah and guess what jackeen! Its 32 degrees here too ;)

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2012 20:21:25    1255890

Ah Floops it's overcast today I'm telling ye I'd be better off over there. Nobody understands me nerves here!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2012 20:35:31    1255898

This game is going to be fascinating! Mayo, a team slowly developing into contenders from a previous billing as pretenders. They take on Dublin, All-Ireland champions, who haven't performed to date, but theres a good month in that team. Anyway I think Mayo have the beating of Dublin around the middle third! The influence of Kevin McLoughlin and Paul Flynn from breaking ball will have a big bearing on the game. Mayo will not fear Dublin, they will dog them out of it from the throw-in onwards, it'll be hard hitting, intense and genuine raw passion on display in this encounter. The only reason I think Dublin will win is that they have experience, a big game in them and Andy Moran's loss may upset the flow of Mayo attacks. Having said that Mayo are hungrier, a more down to earth united group. And they love coming in as underdogs into Croke Park with no hype surrounding them. Mayo are every bit as good as Dublin and they know it. There won't be much in this! In a word, Dublin! Mayo for the All-Ireland within the next two years though is now a realistic proposition.

rover08 (Longford) - Posts: 446 - 30/08/2012 21:06:36    1255907

Alan and Ger in for Philly and o Gara. That's the only changes from the last day

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2012 21:21:48    1255918