Dublin V Mayo. What a game!

Good man Dave, catch of the day. ;)

Seriously though, Dublin(or mayo) will have to improve significantly to beat a very hungry Donegal
team in the final, they would need A Brogan back to his best, get an early brace of goals and make
Donegal take the game to them.

Dublin haven't shown the hunger and flair of last year yet Dave. Yet! Here's hoping they hammer
mayo, and get that auld hype-machine rolling. You Dub's just hate that everyone think Donegal
are the best team in the country, prove us wrong! Everyone thought that Cork were unbeatable
until sunday. The Dubs or Mayo could prove us all wrong. Doubtful though.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/08/2012 20:21:22    1254400

TheGateKeeper

1254400 Good man Dave, catch of the day. ;)

Seriously though, Dublin(or mayo) will have to improve significantly to beat a very hungry Donegal
team in the final, they would need A Brogan back to his best, get an early brace of goals and make
Donegal take the game to them.

Dublin haven't shown the hunger and flair of last year yet Dave. Yet! Here's hoping they hammer
mayo, and get that auld hype-machine rolling. You Dub's just hate that everyone think Donegal
are the best team in the country, prove us wrong! Everyone thought that Cork were unbeatable
until sunday. The Dubs or Mayo could prove us all wrong. Doubtful though.

i feel sunday will show all whole new dublin squad we have been poor for mostof the season true but we have been winning done enough to pull of a victory without breaking the back now sunday the level and tempo will be raised if the right dublin squad comes out it might be lights out for mayo by half time,as for donegal if we do beat mayo as i said before we beat donegal twice already i think the right question should be "can donegal beat this dublin "because there going to come across the best defence in the country again if they meet in the final and as good as donegal are playing im sure every player on the donegal squad will be thinking about this too and been in a final in 20 years can be very daunting for some players also imo...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/08/2012 20:36:56    1254414

dubbydave

ya we will be up in croker to make up the numbers ;).

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 28/08/2012 21:55:11    1254494

Great response from James Horan on the referee's appointment, will only ensure McQuillan is having to think to himself about every free he gives Dubs the weekend! Pressure is on boys!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 29/08/2012 08:59:37    1254514

Out in Front Podcast this week has a decent preview of the game with interviews from Collie Moran & Aiden Kilcoyne.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 29/08/2012 11:04:52    1254607

We all know that it's Mayo's game to lose on Sunday. According to their no.1 fans on here, they already have their hotels booked for the final. Dublin might as well not turn up with all the talk of Mayo being red hot favourites. I'm disappointed with the disrespect coming from the Mayo camp recently, I thought they were better than that and I'm not talking about their fans.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 29/08/2012 15:09:13    1254929

What the hell is this thread doing on the second page? Get back up where you belong!

There's only one show in town and people are talking about replica jerseys? Mother of God! It never would have happened in ballboys day!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2012 10:02:46    1255434

Any word on the full forward for Mayo on Sunday, Some rumours that O'Shea is going to be pushed forward from midfield. I personally think they will go with a two man full forward line and play a permanent sweeper to put pressure on the kicker putting the ball into BB.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 30/08/2012 10:22:07    1255449

This will not be an attractive game of Football on Sunday - Mayo are pure Dongal in disguise. The way they played against Sligo was dire stuff, rolling rucks, blanket defense, cynical fouling all over the place. It wont be pretty thats for sure.....

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 30/08/2012 10:50:03    1255459

Tir Conaill Abu - Rumour in Mayo is that O'Se will stay in Midfield which is a good call I think. He can also be moved to centre half if need be and McGarrity/Gibbons and move to midfield.

Enda Varley is supposed to be starting

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 30/08/2012 10:53:47    1255462

yew_tree
I think that's a good call, Mayo have been unreal in midfield in the last few games and although Dublin's midfield is pretty good, especially some of Basticks catching I think if Mayo win the midfield battle they have a great chance of winning the game. IMO they will need to create almost twice as many scoring chances as Dublin to win and retain as much possession as possible.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 30/08/2012 11:05:45    1255470

Best of luck to Dublin this week - it would be good to see a Leinster team in the final again this year.

Likewise if the Dubs minors win it will be a Dubs v Meath Minor final - the standard of Leinster improving all the time again

roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 30/08/2012 11:31:21    1255482

Lads put O Shea , Varley, Dillon , O Connor or whoever in full forward and there will still be only one winner and the winner is Rory 'The Roc' O Carroll. Best full back in Ireland.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2012 11:50:00    1255500

1255500 Lads put O Shea , Varley, Dillon , O Connor or whoever in full forward and there will still be only one winner and the winner is Rory 'The Roc' O Carroll. Best full back in Ireland.

Thats why he got his All-Star last year.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 30/08/2012 12:03:41    1255509

cacsmckilly

This will not be an attractive game of Football on Sunday - Mayo are pure Dongal in disguise. The way they played against Sligo was dire stuff, rolling rucks, blanket defense, cynical fouling all over the place. It wont be pretty thats for sure.....

I think you got the wrong team that day, Sligo are the one's who came out trying to prevent Mayo scores. The game got brought into a digfight then and Mayo had to adapt which they did and won.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 30/08/2012 12:04:44    1255511

Two years in a row the gaa all stars have been a joke. Firstly it was a joke in '10 when no Cork forwards or The Roc were picked and last year it was a joke again when The Roc was robbed again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2012 12:43:35    1255544

I'm not sure either team can afford to concede alot of frees as both have free takers that will punish the other. Could this game be won on the line or on the team sheet !? Cork showed that if you worry too much about what the opposition is doing you will suffer defeat. I want Dublin to go with two mifielders on the field try to get a lead then revert to the 3midfielders as the game goes on if needs must. Our fowards have the beating of that backline if we go for it with shrewd fast kick passing.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 30/08/2012 12:44:53    1255546

I'm beginning to feel that you are either in love with or are The ROC!! If not you are definately his PR man.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 30/08/2012 13:01:47    1255558

Why Dublin will beat Mayo

We have one of the best defences in the Ireland, we have faced far more dangerous forward units than this and held them to low scores

If the 2 Brogans's are on form, or even one of them and DC, and we score anything from 15 points upwards, I think that will be enough.

I cant see Mayo scoring 15 points on us bar something horrific or a rake of stupid frees

So break even in the middle of the park, no consistent fouling and I think its a Dublin win

No offence meant to any Mayo lads now. Thats only an opinion is all. If we are beaten I will be 100% behind ye for the final

I just cant see an Andy Moran less Mayo scoring 15 points off the Dublin defence and I could see the Dublin forwards, if they are on form, Scoring 1-12 or 1-13 around that mark.

If I am wrong I will gladly hold my hands up and congratulate ye Mayo boys.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/08/2012 13:55:41    1255610

Fair enough Liam, I think Mayo will win if the opposite to your post happens, which it could. Should be a good game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 30/08/2012 14:15:42    1255628