Dublin V Mayo. What a game!

Ulsterman

1254081 Tough one to call, I have fancied Mayo to win this but now I am not so sure. Usually it's the Dubs who are overhyped and the centre of the media storm but Donegal may have taken some heat off them in this respect and that may go in Dublin's favour. They have been pretty ordinary this year and may now play without the big expectation. Mayo looked good against a very, very poor Down side so it's a 50/50 game; the crowd may swing it Dublin's way.

WELL F*** ME!!!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 28/08/2012 15:45:36    1254084

But ulsterman, the media hate the north and only follow dublin. I thought everyone knew that!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2012 16:07:32    1254106

RoyalClass

Last year Dublin won the all ireland but they got a serious amount of luck in the process.. Just look at the last minute free against Kildare , The Own goal against Wexford.. There where some very dodgey phases through-out that year where things could have so easily been different. Its the exact same this year, We destroyed a muck Louth side. We got lucky against Wexford , We outplayed Meath for 60 minutes and let them back into the game due to complacency, A Meath side who had just beaten Kildare out the gate , And then went into the Laois game in a lose lose situation in that all the pressure was on Dublin as they where expected to win that game , Yet had they won by 15 points they would have learned very little from it.

As for this hunger not being the same , Its rubbish , Dublin have the same will and the same hunger as every other year to win the all ireland , its what every intercounty player strives for , Kilkenny hurlers win it year in year out , Dublin footballers and other countys footballers want to keep winning it too , the hunger never goes away .. Dublin have a great chance of winning sam this year but if Donegal or Mayo beat them its cause they played better on the day wether its this sunday or sunday 23rd. The fans want it just as much as last year , and you can be certain the players want it just as much , if anything they have shown in their games this year that although they might be suffering with a small hangover , the effort and hard work is still there , that hunger and will to win is as strong as ever in the Dublin camp and dont be fooled by our bad performances , Same way the hunger is there in Mayo and Donegals camp too. All 3 team's players and fans should be confident of AI success now.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/08/2012 16:21:25    1254121

Wayno1 - one thing is for sure Mayo or Dublin wont get credit for winning this semi final. If Dublin win it will be "ah sure they beat Mayo...." while if we win it will be because Dublin had no hunger or werent bothered.......same thing last year when we beat Cork - then Donegal beat them and it all hail Donegal.

I am not saying Donegal should not be praised because they should but when we do it its a different story and some excuse is washed up. God willing the day we ever win an All Ireland and ram it down the so called experts throats

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 28/08/2012 16:22:28    1254122

51longago

Well i got a tip for a horse called Mayo lad for this evening at epsom 3.55, if it wins it'll be Mayos week. lol

ha ha horse called mayo and there was me thinking freeman or varley would replace moran 51 you will have ed the horse aka "mayo" to replace him lol :-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/08/2012 16:44:45    1254144

Yew_Tree

Yeah thats true enough but sure at the end of the day i don't think you or I will give a rats if our team is in the final on sunday night what people on the RTE panel or people in the papers say.

Will you be indulging in a few sociables before or after the game in Quinns on Sunday fella ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/08/2012 16:47:15    1254146

I didn't realise young Patrick Mcbrearty is a Dub. He played for St James Gaels in Crumlin before moving to Donegal as a youngster. Page 47 of tonight's evening herald if yous don't believe me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2012 16:51:08    1254149

waynoI

Will you be indulging in a few sociables before or after the game in Quinns on Sunday fella ?

More than likely after and the Hill 16 on Gardiner Street before hand which is owned by a Mayo man.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 28/08/2012 16:53:13    1254151

i'll buy you a pint in Quinns afterwards if you beat us. ill have number 4 on my back and the jersey wont be blue but will have the dublin crest , you should see me if your in quinns ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/08/2012 17:01:05    1254163

28/08/2012 16:51:08

1254149 I didn't realise young Patrick Mcbrearty is a Dub. He played for St James Gaels in Crumlin before moving to Donegal as a youngster. Page 47 of tonight's evening herald if yous don't believe me.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 17:09:24    1254172

Rua did you know this?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2012 17:13:56    1254178

waynoI - Sound job - rock on

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 28/08/2012 17:21:43    1254192

Wayno1

I think your perception of the term "hunger" is slightly different to the one I'm referring to. You interpret it as a desire to succeed felt by most inter-county footballers. However, the way I define hunger is the way a team fights for each other to attain a certain goal. Only by the sheer effort you see them putting in can you see how much they want it. For example, the last 10 minutes of any tight football game usually concludes with the team who fought hardest at the end to win it. Cue the mythical term, "hunger"..!

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 28/08/2012 18:26:06    1254275

RoyalClass

1254275 Wayno1

I think your perception of the term "hunger" is slightly different to the one I'm referring to. You interpret it as a desire to succeed felt by most inter-county footballers. However, the way I define hunger is the way a team fights for each other to attain a certain goal. Only by the sheer effort you see them putting in can you see how much they want it. For example, the last 10 minutes of any tight football game usually concludes with the team who fought hardest at the end to win it. Cue the mythical term, "hunger"..!

you mean like the way dublin have played in last years final and have done all season the hunger is alive and kicking as ive said before donegals desire and hunger for sam after 20 years will be equally matched by dublins hunger and desire to win back to back all irelands..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/08/2012 18:34:25    1254286

28/08/2012 17:13:56

1254178 Rua did you know this?

I didn't but its not unusual
A huge amount of people in Donegal (and assume the same anywhere in the west of Ireland) would have lived in London/glasgow/Dublin as youngsters
Parents moved to the City from Donegal in their late teens/Twenties - met got married and once the family are school going age decide they prefer rural life to bring up a family and move back in their early thirties - Build a house on a family site if the family have land etc etc. The reason why half of Gweedore people are mad Glasgow Celtic Fans - Doesn't make them want to play for Scotland though !!

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 28/08/2012 18:38:49    1254291

ruanua

28/08/2012 17:13:56

1254178 Rua did you know this?

I didn't but its not unusual
A huge amount of people in Donegal (and assume the same anywhere in the west of Ireland) would have lived in London/glasgow/Dublin as youngsters
Parents moved to the City from Donegal in their late teens/Twenties - met got married and once the family are school going age decide they prefer rural life to bring up a family and move back in their early thirties - Build a house on a family site if the family have land etc etc. The reason why half of Gweedore people are mad Glasgow Celtic Fans - Doesn't make them want to play for Scotland though !!

Refreshing to see people that are cultured and know the craic. There are lots of examples like this and in another way to, i have cousins for example who were all born and bred in England but they are Mayo mad and never miss championship. Some people like to tar people like that as "plastics" but i believe a lot of people don't understand the whole culture of the Irish dispora.................sort of going off on one here lol

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 28/08/2012 18:56:47    1254320

Rua I know all that, I just didn't realise he grew up in Dublin that's all.I'm not like 51 I couldn't care where someone's da or Ma is from as long as there born in Dublin and doing the business on the pitch the rest means nothing to me.51 is like a yank

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/08/2012 19:12:54    1254337

To the Dublin and Mayo fans here
Ponder this
So far this year the "best team in the history of football ever" have beaten
- A woeful Down team, what proved to be an even WORSE Tyrone team, The worst Kerry team in living memory for a 33 year old, and Cork, who last year lost to.........Mayo.......
And also remember that Dublin have beaten Donegal twice in 12 months......

Lads, heads up, chests out, this game this weekend will be a cracker and who ever wins, I sincerely hope they go on and win Sam and shock the entire country into silence by beating "the best team to ever play the game".....!!!

Liam doesn't like Donegal much! Donegal will eat Dublin(if they get that far)
in the final, putting right the wrongs of last year, the only hope Dublin have
in the final (if they get that far) is the referee! Again!!!!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/08/2012 19:59:24    1254383

TheGateKeeper

1254383 To the Dublin and Mayo fans here
Ponder this
So far this year the "best team in the history of football ever" have beaten
- A woeful Down team, what proved to be an even WORSE Tyrone team, The worst Kerry team in living memory for a 33 year old, and Cork, who last year lost to.........Mayo.......
And also remember that Dublin have beaten Donegal twice in 12 months......

Lads, heads up, chests out, this game this weekend will be a cracker and who ever wins, I sincerely hope they go on and win Sam and shock the entire country into silence by beating "the best team to ever play the game".....!!!

Liam doesn't like Donegal much! Donegal will eat Dublin(if they get that far)
in the final, putting right the wrongs of last year, the only hope Dublin have
in the final (if they get that far) is the referee! Again!!!!

lets get sunday out of the way first but!!!
i firmly believe in liam's post and further more i think it might you eating these words after the final "you want salt with that comment"

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 28/08/2012 20:08:04    1254389

The worst Kerry team in living memory for a 33 year old

If you are that age then you should remember the Kerry team that lost to Clare in the 1992 Munster final and they reached their All Ireland first in over a decade in 1997.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 28/08/2012 20:14:48    1254396