Laois v Dublin

wayno

we wont win the all ireland if we play the same gameplan as we have done in the last 3 matches
if we go back to the way we played last year in the championship,this year in the league against armagh and donegal and this year in the championship against louth we have every chance of winning it.its quite simple we need to play with more then 1 forward we need 4 like we did last year that way the counter attacking game works last night and the meath match proved 1 man inside slows down the game too much allowing the opposition to get back in numbers and stop direct balls inside

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 12:28:16    1238384

did laois score from play in the second half ?
did laois have a wide in the second half?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 12:38:08    1238399

Haven't read anything on the forum yet so don't know what the opinions are but fair play to Laois I didn't think they had a chance but how wrong was I? I had to laugh at the final whistle doh the Laois supporters booing the ref, you didn't score from play in the second half the ref gave you soft free after soft free. Well done to Kilkenny I thought he done very well for such a young age. I pray Alan is ok for the Mayo game cause were half a team without him. We were poor today but every game is different and hopefully were better the next day. What's the story on Morans injury? Massive loss to Mayo if he's out

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2012 12:57:29    1238430

its the whole gameplan thats the problem playing 1 forward in the laois 45 yard line was awful to watch we nned to go back to last years gameplan of playing 4 forwards to on the 40 and two inside.thaught kilkenny done really well when he came on and was far more suited to that role that alan brogan plays then connally was who was asked to play a game that doesnt suit him at all, connally needs to be inside

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 13:06:53    1238448

we wont win the all ireland if we play the same gameplan as we have done in the last 3 matches
if we go back to the way we played last year in the championship,this year in the league against armagh and donegal and this year in the championship against louth we have every chance of winning it.its quite simple we need to play with more then 1 forward we need 4 like we did last year that way the counter attacking game works last night and the meath match proved 1 man inside slows down the game too much allowing the opposition to get back in numbers and stop direct balls inside

______

Hill16no1man

If you compare our results last year to some our results this year (championship only) you will see that 3 of our 4 games so far have been eerily reminiscint. I'll explain ..

Leinster Q/F 2011 v Leinster Q/F 2012. - a handy enough win against Laois in 2011 , Bar the laois keeper playing out of his skin that 8 point victory could have been 11 or 12. Dublin cruised to victory, Similarly we cruised to victory against Louth in 2012 , But lets not fool ourselves Louth are far from a great side, We where given the room of Croke park to go out .. It was shooting practise .. very similar

Leinster S/F v Kildare 2011 v Leinster Final v Meath 2012 - These two games where similar in that in both games Dublin built up a lead. Where very very comfortable but in both games conceeded late goals and in the end had to hold on for a win. A kick of a ball separated us in both these games. very similar

Leinster final v Wexford 2011 v Leinster S/F v Wexford 2012 - Both of these games we where behind and in both games had to come back in order to win the game very similar

The only difference so far is our two All Ireland Q/F games : Last year we destroyed Tyrone thanks to in part a marvellous performance from Diarmuid Connolly , That was a day that everything went right , You dont often get days like that, Even Kerry dont often get days like that , you wont see a dublin performance as complete as that again for years , However this was against a very off Tyrone side , Against Laois yesterday though we played with a pressure of being all ireland champions in a one off knock out game against a team we where expected to beat , all the pressure was on us , on our home patch aswell , Unlike last year we didnt run amuck , But we did show great composure to win the game ..

Anyway my point is 3 of our 4 championship have been similar to championship games of last year. Maybe the performances have been indifferent , but like this time last year we are going into a semi final , If you want to be negative you can say if we play like we did in our last 3 games we will lose , But you can try positive thinking and say if we up it (which we are capable of doing) then we have every chance of winning. Have a small bit of faith, We are still in with a shout dispite our poor performances , 30 teams (after 5.30 pm) wont be

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 05/08/2012 13:07:26    1238449

God what happened us last night hard to watch. Credit to laois on brilliant performance they gave. Thankfully for us still in the championship. Roll on the semi,s and hopefully much improved display...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 05/08/2012 13:21:25    1238476

waynoI

yes they may be simliar results but we are not playing with the same gameplan.
last year we went out to win games where as this year apart from the louth match we are going out to stop the opposition and trying not to lose games
that is the massive differance between this year and last year and unless we go out to beat mayo we will be in trouble

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 13:21:32    1238477

Totally agree hill and we need to put mdmc back in midfield cause we take away pace from are forward line with him up there. Connolly would break your heart , when he's bad he's shocking bad. That O Gara point was wide as a gate by the way. Hill how could the Laois crowd boo the ref? And what do you think are chances are against mayo?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2012 13:26:39    1238486

Totally agree hill and we need to put mdmc back in midfield cause we take away pace from are forward line with him up there. Connolly would break your heart , when he's bad he's shocking bad. That O Gara point was wide as a gate by the way. Hill how could the Laois crowd boo the ref? And what do you think are chances are against mayo?

yeah its a toss up between fennell and mccauley to join bastick in midfeield for me as we cannot keep wasting a forward for them.
yeah i think connally is good close to goal not out the field.yeah there was only a handfull from laois and mayo there so they must have joined forces.
good down crowd though must say.
if we play with the four forwards against mayo and two midfielders and play the attacking gameplan i think we will win
for me it has to be a forward line along these lines of flynn and cullen in their usual roles with alan brogan and kilkenny on the 40 and bernard brogan and either mcmannoman or connally inside

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 13:40:21    1238504

dubbydave.

1238496 it was very entertaining match close is an understatement but we did well with players been taken off and the wides we missed we must be doing something right ,we need to bring the scoring boots i can see big improvements for mayo also can see us beating mayo too our defence is brillaint and for me last night fennel was amazing fielding the ball won plenty in the air thought we needed alan but great move not taking any chances.bring on the mayo

fair play to laois they really put it up to dublin last night hard luck lads.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/08/2012 13:43:10    1238510

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Liamwalkinstown
Dublin
07/08/2012
09:12

FAO Laois Fans

All week I was giving it the big one, Dublin were going to destroy and humiliate Laois, Game would be over by half time etc etc So now the weekend is over and we were very very lucky, I want to be honest and say to the Laois fans here like the 2 horses etc that lads, ye were right, I was wrong. I was dismayed with how bad we were Saturday, and disgusted with our manager and his complete loss of all common sense, but, I have to acknowledge we only played as well as we were let by a Laois team that surprised and impressed me. Laois stood toe to toe with us and gave us plenty, and in Cahir Healy ye seem to have found a natural successor to Joe. I have never been slow here to get the boot into Laois, so in the interest of fairness, when I feel they deserve credit, I will give it. Get DK back next year lads and ye will be our biggest threat in Leinester. Well done Laois. I feel suitably stupid for all my rants during the week I got it very very wrong.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 07/08/2012 10:31:59    1240495

I don't post much on HS anymore Liam but I looked in a few times last week and I was actually surprised by some of your comments because I consider you ( a few windups apart ) to be fairly knowledgeable on the game, but fair play your comments today are welcome.

On the game itself I don't think we ever looked like wining after the goal but it would have being interesting if we could have drawn level coming into the last few minutes.

I think Giller shouldn't have take off BB or DC we were delighted to see them going I can tell you, I think he has their confidence shattered at this point, how can forwards like those two perform if constantly looking at the sideline to see if your number is going up.

It think it will be tight between yer selves and Mayo but the Dubs to go through.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 07/08/2012 11:09:45    1240534

The 'whingers' put in a good performance but McNulty has got the limit out of them!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 07/08/2012 12:46:28    1240666

Praise from Snuffy!?!? Whatever next!
Fair play Liam, best of luck against Mayo in the next round. The low key build up that should stem from this will suit ye better than any 20 point hammering could.

Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 07/08/2012 13:44:38    1240741

The 'whingers' put in a good performance but McNulty has got the limit out of them!

There are no bigger whingers than the dubs in the gaa....the goal wasnt even questioned by the officials no way could the slight deflection be seen in real time...if it was for laois dissalowed for certain...not to mention o garas 3 yard wide point....then its 30 seconds added per sub thats 3 minutes added on not including o garas 2 minutes treatment that makes 5 one he only add 1 extra minute. Thats the 3rd time in 10 years officials have cheated us of wins v dublin...enjoy your hollow victory.

QuickMick (Laois) - Posts: 176 - 07/08/2012 14:08:43    1240783

Dublin just about deserved it but from a neutral the ref really didn't help Laois's cause the first four frees in the second half he gave to dublin or didn't give to Laois were amazing ...The amount of injury time was just a joke altogehter I have never seen 1 minute shown in a game in croke park before it was baffaling but we know the reason why this was....

LAois can be proud of their efforts and forward or two and this will a serious team to be reckoned with next year....

Dublin will get past mayo I would say with a similiar performance but will need to step it up in the final against Cork or Donegal!

Ps.I thought it was a decnt game and atmosphere for a Sat evening!Lacked quality but was nail biting till the very end....Fair play to lots of dwon supporters who stayed to the end most of them boasting the Laois support!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 07/08/2012 15:40:01    1240915

There are no bigger whingers than the dubs in the gaa....the goal wasnt even questioned by the officials no way could the slight deflection be seen in real time...if it was for laois dissalowed for certain...not to mention o garas 3 yard wide point....then its 30 seconds added per sub thats 3 minutes added on not including o garas 2 minutes treatment that makes 5 one he only add 1 extra minute. Thats the 3rd time in 10 years officials have cheated us of wins v dublin...enjoy your hollow victory.

______

We will. Thanks.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 07/08/2012 16:09:30    1240955

does anyone know who got man of the match in this game? no real stand out performers.

bel68 (Down) - Posts: 55 - 08/08/2012 09:40:10    1241370

I think it was Paul Flynn though not 100% sure.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/08/2012 10:04:33    1241391

QuickMick
County: Laois

There are no bigger whingers than the dubs in the gaa....the goal wasnt even questioned by the officials no way could the slight deflection be seen in real time...if it was for laois dissalowed for certain...

I noticed it immediately from the upper hogan

not to mention o garas 3 yard wide point....then

dunno much about that

its 30 seconds added per sub thats 3 minutes added

Is that definitely a rule in GAA?

on not including o garas 2 minutes treatment that makes 5 one he only add 1 extra minute. Thats the 3rd time in 10 years officials have cheated us of wins v dublin...enjoy your hollow victory.

Yeah probably should've more injury time but thems the breaks.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 08/08/2012 10:13:42    1241407