Great stuff from Laois, Inspirational stuff.
Possom (Kildare) - Posts: 322 - 04/08/2012 20:22:29
Few dubs not playing well. Will win I'd say but will need to up game for 2 in a row
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/08/2012 20:32:54
Ronan o gara plays with Munster and Ireland
Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 04/08/2012 20:34:09
Well played Laois but a moral victory also which I'm very used to being a monaghan man... Dubs did enough, that's how you win all Irelands... Kerry Dublin fInal still on cards.. Has to be an upset somewhere though??
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 04/08/2012 20:35:04
Congrats to Dublin and hard luck to Laois. Dublin will really need to improve if they are to retain the title, they were not great today, but I fully expect them to get to the final, this is the scare they needed. It's a Dublin v Donegal final that I want to see.
Something has to be done about the amount of time it takes Cluxton to take a 45, a minute and half wasted, only half minute over the allotted one minute.
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 04/08/2012 20:39:27
Jasus what is gone wrong with Dublin. C k. Came on and wasn't put in front. Have to agree really b brogan, he is badly out of form. Alan far better playeer and.clearly missed
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/08/2012 20:39:28
I was shocked by Dublin's performance this evening. Still they move on into the semi-finals and it's hard to see them being stopped until Tyrone in 2013.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9006 - 04/08/2012 20:47:29
Well Done to Dublin! Better team won, no question!
Gutted for our lads! Some performance; walked in with heads held high and can walk out just the same!! On another day, who knows but very proud to have been there today!
Post match analysis and discussion in Rathmines between 10-4 tonight for those interested....!!!
merman (Laois) - Posts: 84 - 04/08/2012 20:55:53
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 819
1238121 Congrats to Dublin and hard luck to Laois. Dublin will really need to improve if they are to retain the title, they were not great today, but I fully expect them to get to the final, this is the scare they needed.
you could argue that dublin have had three scares this year. the first againt wexford, then letting meath back into the game in the leinster final and now this game. if i was a dublin fan id be worried. fair enough you couldve said the wexford game was an off day and they were just complacent in the last 10 minutes of the leinster final but not many teams will have three off days, nevermind the allireland chamopions. there going to have to seriously improve for the game against mayo because unlike some teams in leinster, mayo wont have any fear of dublin and they will also have the belief in themselves to push on and win if the games in the melting pot.
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 04/08/2012 21:00:17
joseff County: Louth
"You'd have to wonder how long Bernard Brogan can keep his starting position for Dublin. Has not produced it since 2010 and is living of that reputation. Can safely say he wouldn't come next to near the Louth starting team"
Yours In Sport, Joseff
Louth would love to have a forward player the calibre of Bernard Brogan.
There isn't one forward player on your own Meath team natural or otherwise that would come anywhere near to filling Bernard Brogan's boots.
royaldunne/bobjaffacake, be a good lad and stop pretending to be from Louth.
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 04/08/2012 21:32:14
Wonder what way will the media react to Dublins defensive wall this evening. We heard enough about it following Donegals semi final last year. Dublin were nearly as defensive tonight.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 04/08/2012 21:36:03
Squid do me a favour and get a life just another jibe at Meath on your sad part. Give it a break. Bitterness is a shocking thing
Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 04/08/2012 21:42:44
Laois played very well, stuck to their game like pros for 70 mins, Dublin were poor.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 05/08/2012 09:12:16
Dublin are struggling big time. Mayo will blow them out of the water with or without Andy Moran.
theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 05/08/2012 09:47:08
You're right they will. Dunno what our deal is this year. We are so lacklustre dare I say disinterested looking. I honestly dont know what to make of it all. Very frustrating to watch.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2012 10:00:58
you could argue that dublin have had three scares this year. the first againt wexford, then letting meath back into the game in the leinster final and now this game. if i was a dublin fan id be worried. fair enough you couldve said the wexford game was an off day and they were just complacent in the last 10 minutes of the leinster final but not many teams will have three off days, nevermind the allireland chamopions.
________--
Your right , We have yet we are still in the semi final. I'll take that thanks very much
Yesterday was muck. Absolutely shocking poor. But its a results business and we will be playing football again in september and thats the most important thing
Id much rather be going into the game against Mayo on the back of a game like yesterday rather than destroying Laois off the park. People will critisize and argue that we played very poor this year and that we seriously need to improve , but thats grand it kind of takes the pressure off a little bit.. Up the Dubs
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 05/08/2012 10:11:02
what an awful nights football last night was it just goes to show saturday evenings for all ireland quarter finals do not work the atmosphere for both games was like a league match. first game was played at terrible pace and mayo easy winners. dublin are realy making things hard for themselves,its unbelievable how a team who wins an all ireland playing with a lethal attack last year and hammers louth with the same set up in first match in leinster then reverts to anegative defensive system to play a team (no disrespect)laois who we hammered last year and only for their keeper would have put 4 or 5 goals past. seriously is gilroy trying to make these games tougher then they have to be as our set up was terrible. we played 1 man inside the laois 45 yard line for the whole night nearly it does not need to be a scientist to understand that he is robbing peter to pay paul by playing mccauley as a third midfielder.as we won plenty of possesion in midfield but what are you supposed to do with it when fennell and co look up and see bernard brogan on his own inside with 3 or 4 laois defenders around him.we are the all ireland champions we should be making laois have to defend against us instead of playing a game were it invites laois to attack us all night.its strange in 2010 we played this game because we needed to we had to get the fense right and we did ,then in 2011 we become much better attacking and play 4 out and out attacking forwards at all times and go onto win the all ireland now as champions we go back to a negative mind set instead of playing with the same attacking system as what won us the all ireland. for the semi final we have to stop playing a third midfielder as its costing us big time.fennell won plenty of kick outs last night on his own and had one of his best performances for dublin.i would play the forward line as flynn,a brogan,cullen ,kilkenny,mcmannoman,b.brogan. menaing alan and kilkenny would operate on the forty and have mcmannoman and bernard inside
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/08/2012 10:41:08
I never thought I'd say this but Mayo must now be favorites to reach final.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/08/2012 10:46:58
Dublin have been poor all year in the championship (except for the odd spell in every game) and yet they keep winning, which is the real sign of champions, granted they'll have to up their game to retain the AI but they're still in a position to do it and that's all you can ask.
Laois deserve a little bit of credit for yesterdays's performance but not too much, they stuck with Dublin and made a game of it but the Dubs were in 2nd gear from start to finish and if Laois had 1 gram of self belief they'd have won the game. Small team mentality got the better of them yesterday without a doubt, but still Laois have had a decent year and are now the 3rd best team in Leinster it has to be said.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/08/2012 11:12:57
You're right they will. Dunno what our deal is this year. We are so lacklustre dare I say disinterested looking. I honestly dont know what to make of it all. Very frustrating to watch.
_______
Your pessimism is baffling.
WE ARE IN A SEMI FINAL.
Forget how we have played so far this year. What does it say for a side who dont look interested and who are lackluster (according to you) yet are in a semi final and are 70 minutes from an AI final
Dublin have to improve we all know that, Another performance like that and we will most likely be out of the championship. But we are current champions and we are on the right path to make it to another final ..
I dont think you can question Dublins hunger or mentality, Against Wexford they where losing for a long time yet showed great fight and determination to come back and win that game. The 3 point victory against Meath flattered them, Dublin took their foot off the gas with 15 minutes to go. If Dublin wanted to hammer them and not let up , They wouldnt have. It got a bit too close in the end but we won , End of story. Against Laois , We won , We done just enough in the end but won all the same. Cant really complain there.
OF CORSE there is so much for us to work on. But would you not rather be going into a semi final with a barrell load of stuff to work on in the next 4 weeks or after destroying Laois and hearing nothing but hype and silly expectations in the media for the next 4 weeks only for us to possibly fall on our arses. Pat Gilroy knows what he is doing. He is conditioning these lads up for possibly one big push to get to the final. I'm convinced we will see a more free flowing Dublin against Mayo , I;m not saying we will murder them , But im confident we will up it when we need to and beat them.
This Dublin team is damned if they do , damned if they dont even amongst some of their own fans .For years people have complained about us peaking in June and July. We would be critisized to the hills and back. Now that we havent peaked and our next game is at the start of september , You still have people complaining that we arent playing well enough. Cant have it both ways , At the end of the day this management team and this group of players know more than we do about what they have to do and how to go about it wether its in training or matches. They are the experts. We have a superbly educated and very smart man at the helm who since kerry in 09 has led us to a semi final against cork in 2010 (losing by a point) , Leinster and All Ireland champions in 2011 , Leinster champions this year and a 50-50 chance of another final without hitting top form.
We have the experience and the know how at this stage of the competition now. These lads will be focused already on Mayo, And for the next 4 weeks we will be trying to hatch plans that we will hope beat them on the day , and if we do , We will be in 2 all ireland finals in succession, Thats something to be positive about. Cut out the negativity
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 05/08/2012 11:18:50