Dubs by 6 pulling up at the end.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/08/2012 10:04:51
The sideline sportscast preview is up for this game and the Down vs Mayo one also here for anyone that is interested.
Tesla (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 03/08/2012 10:51:10
How many Dubs will turn up at thier own home ground for their Quarter Final? Yes, I know about Parnell Park, but most Dubs regard (and beleive) Croke Park as 'belonging' to them. The Premiership will have started by the time the semis roll around, so there won't be a sell-out for that from the Dub either, and the Dubs wouldn't go out and support thier hurlers even when it looked like they might make a breakthrough, So Saturday may the last time for the Jackeens to show what they keep telling us, that they finance the GAA.
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 03/08/2012 11:46:38
KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 19
1237065 How many Dubs will turn up at thier own home ground for their Quarter Final? Yes, I know about Parnell Park, but most Dubs regard (and beleive) Croke Park as 'belonging' to them. The Premiership will have started by the time the semis roll around, so there won't be a sell-out for that from the Dub either, and the Dubs wouldn't go out and support thier hurlers even when it looked like they might make a breakthrough, So Saturday may the last time for the Jackeens to show what they keep telling us, that they finance the GAA.
You believe that of course. Id say thers a lot of cork posters looking at that post going shut up or theyll start about our support.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 11:53:26
Keyser tell me this, the biggest Liverpool supporters club in the world outside of the UK is in ........Cork......... can you explain that, if as you infer no one outside Dublin follows soccer Also if we are going to talk fans and attendances, can you tell me, where were all the brilliant Cork fans for ye're munster semi final V kerry earlier this summer? It was in your own back yard, and there wasnt 20000 at it!!!In your own back yard, against your greatest rivals....IN CORK...... PUC has sections and sections of empty seats
So now.....with your moral high ground and all your bullshit......how you answer that?
On the hurling....i didnt go, simply because I dont like hurling Simples!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/08/2012 11:56:08
I will answer ye, Billy. I don't know and don't care where you are getting your Liverpool supporters club raiméis from, but Dublin has always been a soccer town fisrt and foremost. And when I say soccer , I mean English soccer. There were 24K at the Cork/Kerry semi, 20K at least of them were from Cork.And Cork is first and foremost a hurling county, and this is refelcted in the respective crowds that follow the hurlers and footballer, though even our football support is still way more than what the Dublin hurlers got even when they looked as if they were going well . The Dublin metropolitan area is 1.5 million people, but how many turned up to see the Dubs in Croke park ( on their own doorstep) against Tipp in the football qualifiers in 2010, as just an example. Everything is done to accomodate the Dubs, but let's face it, the average "true blue" would much arather stay in and watch what Gary Neville has to say.
KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 03/08/2012 12:09:06
KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 21
hmmm i would imagine the all ireland semi finals will have bigger crowd then this weekends games regardless of who is in them also last year i think it was man utd v liverpool/chelsea was on the same day and time as dublin v donegal and that match was sold out so your point is way off
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/08/2012 12:13:39
cork are playing this weekend and your on the dublin v laois thread , kinda says it all about where your loyalties are. better not say too much dont want ye going on strike now in a huff.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2012 12:20:16
Here we go............. yet another "new user"
Lads ignore this fella.
He's posted nothing but negative things about Dublin.
These fella's are a dime a dozen at this time of year.
Spouting on and on...
Please dont respond to him
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/08/2012 12:24:52
KeyserSoze is a text book example of small town syndrome.
He's in and out of a couple of threads posting exclusively about Dublin.
He's obsessed with Dublin and the Dubs, which is totally understandable of course.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 03/08/2012 12:28:59
Keyser this is the Dubln v Laois thread, did you take a wrong turn?
The main stadium has to go somewhere. I think putting it in the biggest city with the best fans makes sense don't you?
bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 03/08/2012 12:30:12
1237109 I will answer ye, Billy. I don't know and don't care where you are getting your Liverpool supporters club raiméis from, but Dublin has always been a soccer town fisrt and foremost. And when I say soccer , I mean English soccer. There were 24K at the Cork/Kerry semi, 20K at least of them were from Cork.And Cork is first and foremost a hurling county, and this is refelcted in the respective crowds that follow the hurlers and footballer, though even our football support is still way more than what the Dublin hurlers got even when they looked as if they were going well . The Dublin metropolitan area is 1.5 million people, but how many turned up to see the Dubs in Croke park ( on their own doorstep) against Tipp in the football qualifiers in 2010, as just an example. Everything is done to accomodate the Dubs, but let's face it, the average "true blue" would much arather stay in and watch what Gary Neville has to say.
how is dublin a soccer town when football attracts the biggest attendances and tv viewings in dublin 24 k at cork v kerry was down 20k from the previous year so whats that to boast about if anything it shows that kerry have better support the dublin hurlers have never had big support nobody ever said they had so where you going with that? haha you pick one attendance from two years ago after we had recieved a hiding to meath well 22k was at that qualifier and until kerry v tyrone a couple of weeks ago no other county outside dublin had got abigger attendance then that dublin v tipp match since the inception of the qualifiers. cork opened the defence of their all ireland title in pairc ui choimh last year against clare in ront of only 4thousand then had another home match in the munster semi final against waterford in front of 3 thousand only so you should examine your own counties figures. how would the average true blue rather stay in and watch gary neville as when gary neville was playing dublin were actualy filling croker for every championship match in that time if anything it shows the opposite.plus if you look at our league attendnces their was an average of 33 thousand at this years spring series which also goes to show dubs dont only turn out for the championship
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/08/2012 12:30:43
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2135
Hill ignore him.
He's not here to listen to reason.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/08/2012 12:36:19
03/08/2012 11:46:38 KeyserSoze County: Cork Posts: 23
1237065 How many Dubs will turn up at thier own home ground for their Quarter Final? Yes, I know about Parnell Park, but most Dubs regard (and beleive) Croke Park as 'belonging' to them. The Premiership will have started by the time the semis roll around, so there won't be a sell-out for that from the Dub either, and the Dubs wouldn't go out and support thier hurlers even when it looked like they might make a breakthrough, So Saturday may the last time for the Jackeens to show what they keep telling us, that they finance the GAA.
Stereo typical lazy analysis from spot the country lad with the chip on his shoulder while Wumming his way around the Hoganstand.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 03/08/2012 12:39:49
Lads (Dublin posters) i hate to say it but your worse for entertaining trolls like that. Never give those a platform who have nothing else to do but set up multiple user names on internet forums. You can't get much lower than these types. The repetitiveness of their 'posts' is obvious.
seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 03/08/2012 12:48:41
seany16 County: Dublin Posts: 730
1237183 Lads (Dublin posters) i hate to say it but your worse for entertaining trolls like that. Never give those a platform who have nothing else to do but set up multiple user names on internet forums. You can't get much lower than these types. The repetitiveness of their 'posts' is obvious.
Seany is right lads...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/08/2012 12:50:53
Keyser Like I said on another thread where you are wumming, away back to proc where that type of BS is tolerated and dare I say expected!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2012 12:51:30
Meanwhile back at the point as this thread is getting derailed into Mayo Vs Dublin slagging match which is pointless. I thought the Mayo fans would be more interested in their fixture this weekend. If they think Kildare are going to roll over they've another thing coming, Kildare will see this as there best opportunity to progress .
The Laois back line have looked sharper in the last two outings and seem be clicking at the right time. How much this limits the Dublin attack will be interesting. I don't see Laois holding out the whole seventy minutes but Dublin are no where as sharp as last year, going on the league results and the fact they let Meath in the last 15 minutes and if they do that against Laois it will be costly. Hopefully Alan Brogan will be fit enough for the whole game as Dublin are highly dependant on him for the creativity and space for the other forwards to run into. Laois have already met Dublin in the league this year and know what to expect. Heres hoping for a good game of football.
spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 03/08/2012 12:53:56
Just on what was said about hatred Mayo fans have towards the Dubs, I think a few lads have said it now , Its the smallest minority of Mayo fans we are talking about here. Most i've come across are decent people like most intercounty football fans.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 03/08/2012 13:21:32
athcliath
in response to your post on the other thread which is now closed these are the towns located in fingal
Balbriggan Baldoyle Ballyboughal Bayside Blanchardstown Castleknock Clonee Clonsilla Corduff Donabate Garristown Springhill Hollystown Howth Lusk Malahide Mulhuddart Naul Oldtown Ongar Portmarnock Portrane Rush Rolestown Skerries Swords Sutton Tyrrelstown
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/08/2012 14:51:11