Laois v Dublin

Jimbodub,
I also give Laois a chance. Obvious I know but deprive the Dubs of the oxygen of goals and they'll find it tough!

Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 02/08/2012 17:03:47    1236627

Just heard that Barrack O'Bama has telegrammed Justin and the lads to wish his fellow midlanders all the best against the hated jacks.

Very magnanamous gesture from the Offaly based president given the fortunes of the biffo footballers lately. A truly great statesman.

YES WE CAN

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/08/2012 17:07:34    1236630

Bosco
County: Carlow

1236627 Jimbodub,
I also give Laois a chance. Obvious I know but deprive the Dubs of the oxygen of goals and they'll find it tough!

Id be happy enough just to deprive them of oxygen!
Although most of them breath pure John Player Blue rather than the conventional stuff...

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/08/2012 17:09:26    1236633

Horse
County: Laois

1236630 Just heard that Barrack O'Bama has telegrammed Justin and the lads to wish his fellow midlanders all the best against the hated jacks.

Very magnanamous gesture from the Offaly based president given the fortunes of the biffo footballers lately. A truly great statesman.

YES WE CAN

Jaysus... when are you playing at the International?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2012 17:11:26    1236635

Ah bosco will you stop please, we will win by 10+ points lets get real here Laois have no chance. That's not being cocky that's just the way it's going to go.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/08/2012 17:21:35    1236641

51longago

you see mayo to be judged on winning connaught but yet you turn around and say mayo are now in bonus territory i hate to brake it you pal but thats what usualy happens when you win connaught you go into an all ireland quarter final.
if dublin is so souleless like its supporters why do you take great heart from a victory over us then ? whats their to get all teary eyed about?
i dont think andy moran agrees with you as he said in todays evening herald that mayo should follow dublins blue print

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/08/2012 17:21:44    1236642

1236641 Ah bosco will you stop please, we will win by 10+ points lets get real here Laois have no chance. That's not being cocky that's just the way it's going to go.

the bookies are making the spread dublin minus 7.
i had a sizeable wedge on the laois boys.

plenty of 7 and 8 to 1 floating about on laois for the outright win also. i confess i was seduced.

but by all means if you genuinely think 10+ will be the line - fill your boots.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/08/2012 17:48:19    1236659

Horse

I wish I knew what that all meant. Feel like i'm missing out!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/08/2012 18:10:22    1236672

I understood ya Horse!

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 02/08/2012 19:25:41    1236716

hope your right horse

clougherna (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 02/08/2012 19:30:29    1236723

Are we the only team in Ireland to not have U 21 player on the team after they walk an all Ireland. Still annoyed with the subs gilroy brought on the last day. Lads who are nowhere near good enough.

I agree, I am totally baffled why p brogan gets a game, he never has a chance of getting into the starting 15 its a pointless exercise, hes tried him at half back and half forward, not good enough at either in my opinion. feel sorry for kev mc he was one of the few players who did well in the league and our first two games, he must be looking at fennel and wishing he was a midfielder , unfortunately it shows also the strenght we have up front.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/08/2012 20:22:42    1236761

Im amazed how much Laois are being written off going into this game. To be honest I had them written off since the start of year and predicted the loss to Longford. Since then though I have seen something in the Laois team I have not seen for a long time. A desire to win with the expection and ability to go and get it.
Dublin are raging hot favourites here and rightly so, but talk of 10 point wins and who they are going to play in semi is a little dangerous.

Laois have 15-18 excellent players who are as good as Dublin individually. Its how they preform as a team that will determine this game. I would expect a 5-6 point win for Dublin on form and experience but if the players are half as expectent as the fans and the pundits, they are going to come to a shuddering halt at 7pm on Saturday night.

Im actually praying for a Laois win.. C'mon boys. Play hard and fast, keep the heads and send the Jacks back into their premier football season early...

Ballyruined (Laois) - Posts: 81 - 03/08/2012 08:28:25    1236870

Ballyruined
County: Laois

1236870 Im amazed how much Laois are being written off going into this game. To be honest I had them written off since the start of year and predicted the loss to Longford. Since then though I have seen something in the Laois team I have not seen for a long time. A desire to win with the expection and ability to go and get it.
Dublin are raging hot favourites here and rightly so, but talk of 10 point wins and who they are going to play in semi is a little dangerous.

Laois have 15-18 excellent players who are as good as Dublin individually. Its how they preform as a team that will determine this game. I would expect a 5-6 point win for Dublin on form and experience but if the players are half as expectent as the fans and the pundits, they are going to come to a shuddering halt at 7pm on Saturday night.

Im actually praying for a Laois win.. C'mon boys. Play hard and fast, keep the heads and send the Jacks back into their premier football season early...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/08/2012 09:05:13    1236888

I expect Dublin to win this game easily enough, all this talk of laois going to give Dublin a surprise is stupid & ridiculous talk, And more to do with posters hatred/anti dublin bias then facts about the game.Dublin are coming into the QF with just the right pace, Dublin to win by about 10 pts.

mariocavan (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 03/08/2012 09:12:58    1236895

Ballyruined

Your post was actually decent until you ruined it with your stupid quip regarding premiership season. Pity! Up the Dubs!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2012 09:18:05    1236900

Bally ruined can I ask you one question? On what basis do you fell laois have an equally good 15-18 players than dublin?? They are the all ireland Champions so really I cannot see where that statement comes from:

Culleon v Cluxton - Clux
Healy v Fitzsimons - Healy
Meaney v O'carroll - O'Carroll
O'leary v McMahon - McMahon
Boyle v McCarthy - Tight call, but prob McCarthy
JOL V Nolan - I would go for o'loughlin as its his best position - nolan is a class footballer but dogged enough for centre back
Strong v O'Sullivan - Sullivan
Quigley v Bastick - Quigley
Begley v Fennell - Begley
Flynn v O'connor - Flynn
Brogan v walsh - Brogan
Cullen v Munnelly - 2 completely diff players, 50/50 as to impact they have on the game
Sheehan v Brogan - Brogan.
Clancy v MDMC - MDMC, clancy could have a big game though
Kelly v O'Gara - O'Gara

So I would say player wise Dublin win 10 of the 15 positions! thats a lot at intercounty level. On the flip side it could also be said that if laois can win the 5 battles I would say they are strongest in and maybe breakeven elsewhere we could have a game, but I still cant see past Dublin +6

Number7 (Laois) - Posts: 45 - 03/08/2012 09:18:53    1236901

Well Liamwalkinstown.

Considering most of your clubs in Dublin have plundered our county players over the last 9 or ten years I could name quite a few.

Enjoy the game. Ill drop into the Submarine on they way home to pick up your Semi Final Tickets off yea

Ballyruined (Laois) - Posts: 81 - 03/08/2012 09:29:31    1236908

I think he means when they were aged 15-18...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/08/2012 09:33:29    1236913

less of the smart arse bally and name these 18 players ye have that are as good as whay we have :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/08/2012 09:42:35    1236918

doublehop. dont get me started on Kildare now. How a county of that size has failed to produce and sucess worth talking about both underage and senior amazes me. Will you do all of us in Leinster a favour and win something. Im sick of Spillane and these boys spouting on about Kerry and Cork. good luck Sunday against me second home county of Cork .I have predicted and betted you will win this one.. Cork are too stale to handle your ability to kick on. Id love to see ourselves and Kildare in AI FINAL

Ballyruined (Laois) - Posts: 81 - 03/08/2012 09:56:33    1236928