Laois v Dublin

Are you called bangbang cos you hit your head a few times falling down a flight of stairs?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 02/08/2012 10:15:40    1236121

He will more than likely still play a major roll on saturday...gilroy always tries to shuffle things up to keep the team hungry & on their toes!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 02/08/2012 10:40:35    1236137

Ye. I'd be expexting to see him for the last 20 minutes or so. I wonder is Gilroy using him in his role as impact sub again. Its hard to know. Gilroy has no problem being ruthless if he feels its for the good of the team. There is no Connolly there either.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 10:49:37    1236142

I would always start KMac on the bench. I'd be fairly sure if we were playing an All Ireland final tomorrow, this would be his team He doesn't feck around. Connolly is dropped, simple as that, Kmac paying the price, for the last day, but, I always said I prefer him off the bench When Kerry had to bring PG on so early last September, that was a huge plus to us cos their "Impact" man was on way too early. Bringing our "impact man" on with 20 go was perfect, and the way he plays too, he is made for that role
He wont like it, but its true. He can change a game off the bench, EOG cant.
Plus, EOG was sensational against Laois in the league if you remember.

And c'mere, imagine with 15 to go and its close and we spring Kmac AND Connolly........ :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 02/08/2012 11:05:36    1236159

Liamwalkinstown

And c'mere, imagine with 15 to go and its close and we spring Kmac AND Connolly........ :)

takes a lot of imagination to see Dublin being within a asses roar of the Laois machine with 15 to go.

Id say ye'll manage to live with us right up to the throw in but after that its all down hill for the dublin boys im afraid.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 02/08/2012 11:26:20    1236174

Liamwalkinstown

I know. Its a good thought all right. It could well be tight so its a good option to have.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 11:34:48    1236183

for all that Culann, it wont be close
Laois are dreadful
we will literally devour them
I genuinely predict a 10-15 point win

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 02/08/2012 11:40:49    1236189

For me our best team is; ,clucko, Fitz ,The Roc ,Philly,McCarthy , Nolan , Cian, Mdmc,Bastick, Flynn, Abrogan,Cullen, Connolly, EOG ,bernard. That's my favourite 15 anyway. Are we the only team in Ireland to not have U 21 player on the team after they walk an all Ireland. Still annoyed with the subs gilroy brought on the last day. Lads who are nowhere near good enough.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/08/2012 11:42:02    1236192

a good result for us will be keeing the game competitive as long as possible!!

I fear we could lose by a double digit score line... surprised that mcmanamon doesnt start. Going back to the league match O'gara was superb but Laois have a different full back now which makes all the difference. O'gara should get it harder against Meaney! Healy should do as good as possible against B Brogan!

If we are to win, we need: fast start, early goal, weather the dub storm before half time, dont fall into the trap of carrying ball into contact, finish strong.... not asking much really!!? In al seriousness, we could play this game 10 times and Laois might win once, so for that reason I will be hopeful!!

Number7 (Laois) - Posts: 45 - 02/08/2012 11:58:49    1236210

a good result for us will be keeing the game competitive as long as possible!!

I fear we could lose by a double digit score line... surprised that mcmanamon doesnt start. Going back to the league match O'gara was superb but Laois have a different full back now which makes all the difference. O'gara should get it harder against Meaney! Healy should do as good as possible against B Brogan!

If we are to win, we need: fast start, early goal, weather the dub storm before half time, dont fall into the trap of carrying ball into contact, finish strong.... not asking much really!!? In al seriousness, we could play this game 10 times and Laois might win once, so for that reason I will be hopeful!!
Number7 , 02/08/2012 at 11:58

Without trying to be a cocky Dub i'd agree with that but only a fool would write you off.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 02/08/2012 12:11:58    1236226

E

O

G

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2012 13:05:27    1236315

This could be the greatest day for Laois in the modern era, i wish ye all the best boys/girls. It's the stuff dreams are made of, no matter what people say i n here or elsewhere the truth of the matter is Dublin have a huge population, massive support, massive home advantage every time, massive financial backing, sponsorship deals etc, we are all lagging behind esp in this era..

A scalp against Dublin nowadays is some feat for the majority of counties my own included but my god i can tell you it's some feeling, looking down on the hill and seeing the same faces who were in your face a few hours previous telling you to "go home and milk your cows " and your hero grabs the ball from underneath the hogan stand and sends over the winning point into the hill 16.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 02/08/2012 13:32:23    1236363

I have 2 tickets for Saturdays game in Croker and wish to swap for Sundays game if you know of anyone that has tickets and wants to do same let me know please!!

RoyKeane (Tyrone) - Posts: 43 - 02/08/2012 13:37:34    1236370

51longago

Excuses already...

Playing the poor mouth.. it's not our fault that our county is vastly superior to Mayo in everyway.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2012 13:46:44    1236388

and your hero grabs the ball from underneath the hogan stand and sends over the winning point into the hill 16.

Against a poor enough Dublin side. A team known as bottlers... gloaters, hot heads, wannabe's

I take it as a compliment that you think of us so highly... that even beating an average team is deemed an almost a spiritual experience.

It's a shame Mayo couldn't put such magnificence back to back in 06

Your hero/heroes got his/their welcome home parade cancelled by the same fans... that just weeks before looked on in glory over Hill 16.

Yeah… magnificent stuff.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2012 13:52:09    1236394

Playing the poor mouth.. it's not our fault that our county is vastly superior to Mayo in everyway.

Except football. You are only as good as your last game dont forget.

Ha! 51, I get the feeling that scenario wasnt a hypothetical!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/08/2012 13:58:41    1236411

51longago

we must be doing something right when mayo are playing the same day and all you can focus on is DUBLIN

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/08/2012 14:10:57    1236428

02/08/2012 13:32:23
51longago

This could be the greatest day for Laois in the modern era, i wish ye all the best boys/girls. It's the stuff dreams are made of, no matter what people say i n here or elsewhere the truth of the matter is Dublin have a huge population, massive support, massive home advantage every time, massive financial backing, sponsorship deals etc, we are all lagging behind esp in this era..

A scalp against Dublin nowadays is some feat for the majority of counties my own included but my god i can tell you it's some feeling, looking down on the hill and seeing the same faces who were in your face a few hours previous telling you to "go home and milk your cows " and your hero grabs the ball from underneath the hogan stand and sends over the winning point into the hill 16.

You should move up to Dublin and marry a good dublin girl if that way inclined, it will help ya get that big fat chip of your shoulder. It would be 'massive' for ya. The only thing is that you would miss out on all those loto grants that Mr. Kenny is firing down Mayos way.

Admin let this go through. This boy dishes out enough anti dub abuse.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/08/2012 14:13:26    1236431

Yeah... the "Heroes" of 06

From hero to zero...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/08/2012 14:26:44    1236448

Yeah... the "Heroes" of 06

From hero to zero...

I don't accept that at all, Mayo are not judged by if they win an AI, my father has never seen Mayo win an AI and he is 60 this year, we are judged on connacht titles and if we can manage the odd scalp in Croker, of course we want to win an AI but the truth of the matter is we don't win them, so like i have tried to explain our expectations are lower than counties like Kerry/Dublin/Galway/Tyrone and Armagh etc in modern times.

This expectation that is put on Mayo teams over the last twenty five years since we burst onto the scene imo in 88 is unfair , we are a fine footballing county with fanatical support that eat/drink sleep football all year round but we should all remember the facts, we don't win AI'S and should not be judged on it. For me it's bonus territory now and them wins like 96 v Kerry, 97 v Offaly 89 v Tyrone, 04 v Tyrone and 06 v Dublin are memories i will always treasure fantastic wins and great excitement, the finals don't overshadow them years for me, my memory will be of uncles and relations holding back the tears as we beat Tyrone in 89 to make it to a final for the first time since 1951, they lived through a spell in MAYO football when we never even won a connacht title thrrough the whole 70s. People should remember where we have came from, we were near dead for thirty years previous to 88/89.

Proud Mayo man and will always be.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 02/08/2012 15:09:21    1236499