what the feck..........Breff is sticking up for us.........here, is today april 1st? No? Well then....what the feck is going on this is unsettling.......!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/08/2012 10:16:22
what the feck..........Breff is sticking up for us.........here, is today april 1st? No? Well then....what the feck is going on this is unsettling.......!!
:) Liamwalkinstown , 08/08/2012 at 10:16 -------------------------------------------------- Dont worry, I've just logged on and will soon square that circle Im sure!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/08/2012 10:27:38
QuickMick County: Laois Posts: 159
its 30 seconds added per sub thats 3 minutes added.
Which rule does that come under?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 08/08/2012 10:31:39
Quickmick, thats a soccer rule my friend not a Gah rule! Bless!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 08/08/2012 11:04:16
It is a rule know all...... all stoppages are to be counted for additional time including substitutions(referees are supposed to note all) there was over 8 minutes of stoppage toime for subs and injuries in the 2nd half only 1 additional minute added...if laois were a goal ahead there would have been 4or5 minutes added gauranteed.
QuickMick (Laois) - Posts: 176 - 09/08/2012 13:16:37
I've heard of the 30 seconds per sub but i'm pretty sure it's for soccer, that said there should be at least 20seconds per sub.
As a matter of interest can anyone put up all the stoppage times so far in this years championship, my guess is there is very few that have had only one minute.
One minute was not right for this game taken into account subs and Cluxtons time taken for 45, it stinks of Dublin bias but there never seems to be anyone with the necessary swingers to take them to task for this, they get away with blue murder.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/08/2012 13:51:34
QuickMick County: Laois Posts: 161
1242283 It is a rule know all...... all stoppages are to be counted for additional time including substitutions(referees are supposed to note all
check it out
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 18:46:19
RULE 3 - TIME 3.1 A team shall take the field not later than the time specified by the Committee-in-Charge for Senior Inter-County Championships, National League Finals, Inter-Provincial Championships Finals, All-Ireland, Provincial and County Senior Championships Finals, and not later than five minutes before the appointed starting time in all other games. 3.2 The playing time shall consist of two periods of thirty minutes each, but time shall be added on in each period for incidental or deliberate delays. This shall be termed 'Normal Time'.
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 19:18:14
http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/publications-and-resources/
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 19:45:27
Those rules have absolutely nothing to do with the match referee and his officials refusing to add on a fair amount of stoppage time in A partiular match. I am sure a fair minded referee and fair minded officials would be fair...but everyone knows of the bias by now.
QuickMick (Laois) - Posts: 176 - 10/08/2012 08:29:26
QuickMick County: Laois Posts: 162
1240783 The 'whingers' put in a good performance but McNulty has got the limit out of them!
There are no bigger whingers than the dubs in the gaa....the goal wasnt even questioned by the officials no way could the slight deflection be seen in real time...if it was for laois dissalowed for certain...not to mention o garas 3 yard wide point....then its 30 seconds added per sub thats 3 minutes added on not including o garas 2 minutes treatment that makes 5 one he only add 1 extra minute. Thats the 3rd time in 10 years officials have cheated us of wins v dublin...enjoy your hollow victory.
Hehehe. You guys just can't help yourselves. As fine a piece of whinging as you'll find on any board.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2010 - 10/08/2012 09:38:03
1242659 Those rules have absolutely nothing to do with the match referee and his officials refusing to add on a fair amount of stoppage time in A partiular match. I am sure a fair minded referee and fair minded officials would be fair...but everyone knows of the bias by now.
what would it have mattered as laois didnt have a single shot from play in the second half and the more it went on the deeper thy defended the 3 point deficit. yes their should have been more time added but dublin and laois both made a sub before cluxton took the last 45 so cant see why he is being blamed as he was standing waiting on the subs
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2012 09:38:32
You just cant beat the laois fans for whinging and I have been saying it for years and been proven right every time!! Just look at them on this thread!! They are the All Ireland champions at it and thats for sure!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/08/2012 09:39:05
If you count up all the time it takes Ross Munnelly to complete his ridiculous squatting routine before each kick and then multiply that by the number of frees he takes you'll find that his time wasting far exceeds Cluxton's.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2010 - 10/08/2012 10:55:19
avonali County: Dublin Posts: 23
1242742 If you count up all the time it takes Ross Munnelly to complete his ridiculous squatting routine before each kick and then multiply that by the number of frees he takes you'll find that his time wasting far exceeds Cluxton's.
good point that one he takes forever and he is mostly just standing haha at least charlie redmond had a few steps back a lick of the fingers lick of the fingers a second time a few steps to the side and run up haha free takers have been taken ages for years if we think about it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2012 11:10:20
1242659 Those rules have absolutely nothing to do with the match referee and his officials refusing to add on a fair amount of stoppage time in A partiular match. I am sure a fair minded referee and fair minded officials would be fair...but everyone knows of the bias by now.
I hate to break it to you mick but THOSE rules are the only rules that have anything got to do with the games , they are the rules of the GAA.
It's the referee and not any other official that decides what extra time to add on, all at his own discretion of course.
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/08/2012 11:50:45
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2229
1242761 avonali County: Dublin Posts: 23
1242742 If you count up all the time it takes Ross Munnelly to complete his ridiculous squatting routine before each kick and then multiply that by the number of frees he takes you'll find that his time wasting far exceeds Cluxton's.
good point that one he takes forever and he is mostly just standing haha at least charlie redmond had a few steps back a lick of the fingers lick of the fingers a second time a few steps to the side and run up haha free takers have been taken ages for years if we think about it
Number one.......nobody is moaning about the time that is wasted as long as its reasonably added on at the end.
Number two.......most free kick takers did not have to run from their own goals to take them
God damn it can't ye just hold your hands up for once and tell the truth , it was farcical in the Dublin /Laois game the amount of time that was added on, should of been at least 3/4 min.
It would NOT of been one min if Dublin were trailing that is for sure.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 10/08/2012 12:11:03
Good grief this is pitiful. I'd almost forgotten about this game it's so long ago now - yet here we are getting served up great big bowl of whinging.
Couple of points - lads, yer giving out about a ref who kept you in the game with a mountain of dodgy frees, what would yis done with the time anyway? Are yis seriously suggesting yis would have scored a goal? the words "barn door" spring to mind...
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 10/08/2012 12:11:21
Overall a fine performance from the Laois team - certainly McNulty has proven barstool experts (muppets) like myself wrong. Theres a good platform there for the future.
Claims that we were robbed by the ref are well wide of the mark though. If anything I thought the ref was very harsh on the Dublin defenders at times, gave us a couple of handy frees especially in the first half. Overall I thought the ref was poor enough in that he seemed to want to take any bit of physicality out of the game.
Dublin midfield and Fennell in particular did very well. Great fielding and seemed to be quicker to the breaking ball a lot of the time as well. Culleton kicking the ball out of play 3 times was a testament to that. (Midfield was an area I had expected us to be dominant, I still think we have some of the best potential in this area with a bit more clever play)
I thought both teams put in solid defensive displays, although Dublin let us off the hook a few times with some very poor wides. Likewise Laois really didnt break down the Dublin defence at all in the second half, especially considering we had a fair bit of possession around the middle - for me that last minute goal never looked like materialising no matter how much injury time you played. Dublin definitely finished the match stronger and killed us off well in the last 10. Thats the kind of thing we need to work on to kick up into the top tier.
Still though, first decent season we have had since the O'Dwyer era. Obviously some quarters will start branding us the 2nd best team in Leinster now but to be honest thats a fairly backhanded compliment and best of the Leinster counties excluding Dublin is basically nothing. All the same Im optimistic that with some improvements in tactics around the centre and attack this team can kick on a level and deliver on their potential. The talent has generally not been an issue, and the attitude and workrate are now in place.
LAOIS LAOIS LAOIS
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 10/08/2012 12:15:59
It's funny how things always remain the same - Laois and Kildare whinging every year... peas in a pod you two!
Then there's Meath or Dublin taking their medicine and moving on with dignified self criticism... it's in the genes or water or something.
Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 10/08/2012 12:24:59