Laois v Dublin

Game of the season
Dublin's biggest game of the last few years and a chance to show the rest of the country that they are no longer among the also rans and flukes.

For Laois, a chance to humiliate their hated rivals in their own back yard and kick on to a first ever final thanks to a handy draw. (its incredible actually that Laois could get to a final without having to face Munster or Ulster opposition in qfs or sfs - do HQ expect Dubin to win this or what?!?!)

The Laois boys will have no issue with getting fired up for this epic chapter in our proud history - we have always despised the jackeen to the pits of our stomachs (in my case that is a fairly deep pit).

Looking forward to it immensely i must say, ill be packing an extra breakfast roll and crate of smithwicks into the boot of the datsun for this one.

Prediction;
Laois 2 15
Dublin 1 17

Laois to edge what will be game of the season for many purists.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 30/07/2012 14:03:44    1233522

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2012 14:07:29    1233530

+1

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/07/2012 14:07:44    1233531

She will be over at half time, This Laois team was nearly bet by Letirim a little over a week ago, calm yourself down son.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 30/07/2012 14:08:14    1233532

@Horse have you some tickets for the game your trying to sell :)

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 30/07/2012 14:12:42    1233544

The draw I feared the most
I cant see us living with the flair skill and ability of genius footballers like Sheehan, Clancy and Healy.
The water tight Laois back division will give the Brogans nothing and I cant see our shakey defence holding out for more then 50 mins

I think we will live with Laois for the first half but with 20 to go I can see Laois pulling away

Look, once we keep it respectable, I dont think we can ask any more. This team has given us great days, they owe us nothing.
Go out and play with heart lads and what will be will be.

Of all the teams we could have gotten, Kerry, Kildare etc, the one I really wanted to avoid....was feckin Laois.

:(

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 30/07/2012 14:12:57    1233547

Haha horse - all joking aside though Laois have some big names and have that leinster pedigree going for them - They say Dublin got an easy draw but Laois will never have a better opportunity to get to an AI final

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/07/2012 14:18:23    1233557

There's a serious lack of discussion on this game. What's going on? Can Laois pull off a shock? It this just another stepping stone on Dublin journey to back-to-back All-Ireland titles?
Laois have done well of late but it's hard to see them stopping the Dublin express. I expect a great display from Dublin. Victory by at least 10 points.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9006 - 30/07/2012 16:39:26    1233792

i said yesterday i coudnt make this because of work commitments but really i cant bare to see me dubs loose thats really why im not going the biggest game of the season and come 7pm all tv's in the dubbydave household will go onto standby mode ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 16:45:00    1233799

Dublin are far and away a better team than Laois...when firing on all cylinders. That has not happened yet in this years championship. If Wexford and Meath can get so close to them I can't see why Laois are being written off like we are.
I don't think we'l win, and could get beaten by 10 points, but I've looked forward to meeting Dublin outside Leinster for years! Tiredness could be a factor but it's a one off game in major bonus territory. Where better to raise your game??

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 30/07/2012 17:06:54    1233836

one thing i will say is that laois have physically progressed big time over the last year and have mastered the cynical side of the game like the other top teams. i'd love to see laois win but the head says a 10 point win for dublin. hope i'm wrong.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 30/07/2012 17:44:17    1233883

Markymark
County: Laois

Good post.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/07/2012 20:09:28    1234031

Can't see anything but a Dublin win by 6pts or so. Will be a handy back to back alright for Dublin. Who ever comes out of our side which I think will be Mayo will be used as the test for the test of the All Ireland Final against either Kerry or Kildare

DownStar29 (Down) - Posts: 172 - 30/07/2012 20:22:00    1234046

this is the game were all the lads need to step up to the mark no messing around if we go ahead stay ahead stay focused and the most important thing i feel is take nothing for granted go out and get the job done.....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 21:13:58    1234086

I really hope Laois make a game of it, but I just can't see how they will. Dublin will over power them and should win by 6+ points in 2nd gear. Up to the Laois players to prove us all wrong, like ourselves they have nothing to lose which can make teams dangerous.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 30/07/2012 21:17:58    1234088

Anyone know what the weather forecast is for Saturday evening?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2012 11:41:40    1234261

No but whatever Met Eireann say just expect the Opposite.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 31/07/2012 11:49:42    1234275

Rain for alot of saturday but to clear up around 5 bells....Dublin strong favourites for this game Bookies are rarely wrong I think they will have too much for Laois Ill travel up as a Galway man living in Laois and hope to see two good games...the minor could be decent aswell but Ill only make it in for the second half of that game!...

I hope Laois can give the ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS a game and prove a few people wrong...With a bit of lady lucky who knows...

Hope the ref is strong and doesn't side with the home side as so often happens on these occasions!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 31/07/2012 11:57:10    1234289

clondalkindub , 31/07/2012 at 11:41
-------------------------------------------
7pm at Croker will see windy weather rising up from the south typically blowing itself quickly, giving way to a hail of early goals followed sustained points pushing long into the second half clearing to skyblue skies to send the locals home happy after what will have been a typically Irish performance of 4 Provinces in one day!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 31/07/2012 11:58:37    1234292

Laois have definitely toughened up this year and always had good footballers. Cant see it being enough to beat the Dubs but they'll definitely be more competitive than previous encounters.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 31/07/2012 12:16:49    1234332