Video Evidence used for the first time ever

I can't BELIEVE none of ye have posted about this topic.

With about 15 minutes to go in today's Dublin Meath match, Eoghan O'Gara scored a "point". It was firstly waved wide by the umpire (albeit hesitantly) and the referee (again, hesitatly) accepted the decision and the ball was kicked out. Before the kick-out is taken however, the linesman is looking at the big screen (like myself and all the other 77,000 fans present at the game) and sees it CLEARLY is a score. After the meath goalie has kicked-out the ball, the referee hears in his ear-piece his linesman wishes to speak him. The referree instructs his umpire to put up the white flag (to the cheers of the Dubs on Hill 16)

Now folks, I'm pretty certain that this is officially against the GAA code for video evidence to be used like this. Sensible - yes, Legal - No. Ican't quote the extract in the book, perhaps one of ye would be kind enough to oblige on same. In any case, I'm pretty sure it's the first time in the history of GAA that video evidence has been used by an official during the game itself.

Now the question is - is this opening up a can of worms - will players now be screaming at referees to look at the big screen whenever a dubious point/wide decision has been given and will the refs be swayed to watch the replay? What about off the ball violence caught on camera during the game?

Talking to lads from both counties coming out from Croker this evening, it was the only topic people wanted to talk about, I'm sure The Sunday Game might have some views on it...

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 22/07/2012 20:46:46    1225207

Firstly, I thought that they didn't show replays of controversial incidents on the big screen?

Secondly, hopefully this will show just how quick and useful video technology is.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 22/07/2012 21:05:02    1225250

Yes I agree, ground-breaking stuff, but maybe he'll just deny it and say after consulting his linesman coupled with his own view he then over-ruled the umpire, but I'd imagine the Sunday Game will investigate!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 22/07/2012 21:10:07    1225252

Reckon you wont be seeing too many replays of anything on the big screens soon, more adds though.

Cant see the Refs, umpire etc putting up with it, refs are scarce enough as it is

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 22/07/2012 21:13:25    1225257

Whatever about it I thought it was the right thing to do. Last week in one of the hurling games a player was deemed to have taken too many steps, ref stops, listens in his ear piece to linesman and he over-rules himself, as the player had clearly touch the hurl unseen by the ref, shocking but true. And you know what? when its done you can only have admiration for the officials, because they are after all doing the right thing. The right thing was done today with O'Gara's point and no fuss about it. Fair play to the officials.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 22/07/2012 21:28:28    1225277

realdub

1225252 Yes I agree, ground-breaking stuff, but maybe he'll just deny it and say after consulting his linesman coupled with his own view he then over-ruled the umpire, but I'd imagine the Sunday Game will investigate!

And waffle on interminably about it. Get rid of the screens.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 22/07/2012 21:28:53    1225279

Was the right thing to do. Fair play to any umpires who put themselves in position for these games but if they are there they should be able to get those handy decisions right at least, whatever about Mayos lead point late on against Sligo which was tough to call, today's was a simple call.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 22/07/2012 21:34:17    1225294

Firstly, I thought they didn't show replays of controversial incidents on the big screen?

Secondly, hopefully this will show how quick and useful video technology is and will eventually lead to video tech. being used at all games.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 22/07/2012 21:41:39    1225315

dhorse - With respect, you've completely missed the point.

The point is the linesman would not have noticed the error but for watching the replay on the big screen (same as the other 77,000 people present!) He did not seek to take action until he just happened to review the replay footage.

Hence your suggestion of getting rid of the big screens is a nonsense.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 22/07/2012 21:43:33    1225321

Fair play the linesman great call...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 22/07/2012 21:47:09    1225330

Dangerous waters. What if the referee had blown the "final' whistle after the umpire had signaled the play wide? What is the play was not shown on the big screen? Would he then call all back and award the score? Problem is the same as always existed, namely a number of officials, especially umpires, are incompetent. Made changes in name only to the square ball rule because some refs could not get it right.

Faha2 (USA) - Posts: 112 - 22/07/2012 21:47:35    1225331

I see the standard of umpires is getting no better

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 22/07/2012 21:59:23    1225360

banner_boy
County: Clare

1225321 dhorse - With respect, you've completely missed the point.

The point is the linesman would not have noticed the error but for watching the replay on the big screen (same as the other 77,000 people present!) He did not seek to take action until he just happened to review the replay footage.

Did I suggest that he took action before he reviewed the Video?. I was one of the 77,000. What if the replay wasn't shown for a few minutes later as is the case sometimes?
My point is that if there is no big screen or no replays in particular then the games can be played as they have always played, and the same as they are at grounds without big screens.

As for getting rid of screens. why exactly are they there? can people not watch and interpret the games themselves?
If they are going to be used as a refereeing aid we might as well play the games and after a few days relooking at the Video the ref can announce the outcome.

Keep them if needs must for those that cant do without gadgetry at a game, but cut out the replays.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 22/07/2012 22:05:12    1225370

The umpire initially went to signal for a point, it was the referee who told him to give a wide. For once the umpire got it right

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 23/07/2012 08:03:43    1225371

I thought this was disgraceful, it was the second time I've seen a conterversal replay been shown in Croke park. Normally these things aren't shown, I hazard to guess that the man in charge of the replays on the big screen is from Dublin and a Dublin fan. If this is the case, would Meath been afforded the same influence, i'd doubt it. For me, it's not a case of been right or wrong, it's about each team playing on a level playing field and officials shouldn't been influenced by the crowd or the media. These officials set a dangerous precedent.

The other replay was when Mattie Forde walked on someones head a few years back, that was replayed a number of times, where the media tried to get him sent off.

stingray (Wexford) - Posts: 75 - 23/07/2012 09:31:54    1225436

For starters, I can't understand how the umpire or the ref ever could have questioned the score in the first place, it was so blatantly over the bar.

Irrespective of whether the linesman awarded it because of the big screen or not, it just goes to show that technology must be brought into play

Particularly if games are going to be officiated as dopey as that

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/07/2012 09:45:27    1225456

I fairness I don't blame the umpire he looked clearly ready to put up the flag, it was Barry mc guigan who told him it was wide.
In fairness when Martin king the linesman came in the right call was made, don't know how it got to that as it wasn't close!!

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 23/07/2012 14:02:10    1225973

It should not have happened
Either we continue to apply the unaided judgement of the officials or else we introduce technology and clearly define the circumstances that it can be used.
in which case technology then needs to be used in every ground where a SFC match is played.

As regards the precedence it sets - Will referees use it for

Judging on scores
square balls
Overcarrying
"touchdown or Thrown" goals
Penalties
defenders touching the ball on the ground

etc etc

Taking a few of the above if the replay had been shown on the screen and the Ref had looked

Kildare would have beaten Down in 2010
Kildare would have beaten Donegal in 2011
Louth would have beaten Meath in 2010
Kerry would have beaten Dublin in 2011

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/07/2012 14:13:50    1225995

ruanua

It should not have happened
Either we continue to apply the unaided judgement of the officials or else we introduce technology and clearly define the circumstances that it can be used.
in which case technology then needs to be used in every ground where a SFC match is played.

As regards the precedence it sets - Will referees use it for

Judging on scores
square balls
Overcarrying
"touchdown or Thrown" goals
Penalties
defenders touching the ball on the ground

etc etc

Taking a few of the above if the replay had been shown on the screen and the Ref had looked

Kildare would have beaten Down in 2010

Kildare would've had their own goal disallowed as well though for overcarrying in that game so the result wouldn't of changed.

I'm sure we could go through the decisions in the other games you mentioned too. Dublin could've been given a penalty against Kerry for the defender picking the ball off the ground in the small square for example. No guarentees on scoring a peno though.

You are correct though in that if technology is to be used there must be a clear debate on the circumstances in which it can be used.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/07/2012 14:33:52    1226043

He didn't score a "point" he scored a point. great call by the officials the ref deserves great credit for doing what he did.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 23/07/2012 14:39:57    1226066