Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 21/07/2012 13:18:46
here a link for Kerry Players Championship Appearance Records up 2011
http://www.terracetalk.com/kerry-football/top-appearances/Championship
Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 21/07/2012 13:19:19
holy god ye kerry boys have had some players over the years! that list is unreal - any of ye fancy buying a few nice 3-bed semi d's in cavan?
lovely spot to raise a family ;)
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5264 - 21/07/2012 19:49:23
another interesting thing i noticed is how many minor appearances some of your current senior players have - have kerry maybe swapped underage success in favour of exposing youngsters to 2-3 years at minor intercounty level, making them more complete players come 21-22?
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5264 - 21/07/2012 19:54:06
From this week's Kerry's Eye Newspaper on Tomás Ó Sé breaking the record and possibly Gooch breaking the scoring record.
Two of the GAA's top individual records are set to be broken this weekend as both Tomás O'Sé and Colm Cooper stand on the threshold of reaching two personal milestones. When Tomás O'Sé runs out onto the pitch in Limerick on Saturday evening he will make his 82nd Championship appearance for Kerry surpassing his brother Darragh's total of 81. This total of 82 is of course the greatest in the history of the game. While it has been rightly pointed out that the modern day players play more games due to the 'Back Door' system the record of many Kerry players in the modern era is truly remarkable. Kerry have been in every All Ireland Quarter final of the past 11 years, they have also been in 10 of the last 11 semi-finals and 8 of the last 11 finals and have yet to be beaten in the Qualifiers. A truly remarkable record and one that is unlikely to be repeated in years to come. Of the current Top 10 in Kerry's all time Championship appearance list Tomás O'Sé, Colm Cooper, Marc O'Sé, Eoin Brosnan and Declan O'Sullivan are all still going strong. The three O'Sé brothers from Ventry, Tomás, Darragh and Marc hold three of the top five places in the list. An incredible legacy from a truly remarkable family!
Top 10 Kerry Players with the most Senior Championship Appearances
1. Darragh O'Sé/Tomás O'Sé 81 3. Tom O'Sullivan 76 4. Colm Cooper 69 5. Marc O'Sé 67 6. Dan O'Keefe 66 7. Eoin Brosnan 63 7. Seamus Moynihan 61 9. Dick Fitzgerald 58 10. Mike McCarthy/Declan O'Sullivan 57
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/07/2012 20:31:09
Gooch Nears the Summit Colm Cooper lies just 3 points short of breaking Mikey Sheehy's 25 year all time championship scoring record. In the week's that in it this is just another timely reminder of the Killarney genius' already assured legendary status in the game. Mikey Sheehy scored 29-205 (292) in 49 games establishing a record which has held firm for a quarter of a century. Cooper with a tally of 18-236 (290) is now within touching distance of that tally. The Kerry Captain should join his fellow flame haired modern day icon Henry Shefflin, who heads the all time hurling Championship top scorers list. Colm topped the championship scoring charts in 2011 with a total of 2-27 from 6 championship games and he averaged 6 points a game in 2010 when he finished with a tally of 1-27 even though Kerry's championship campaign was prematurely ended by a defeat to Down in the All Ireland Quarterfinal. While his own personal target will surely be to lift the Sam Maguire in September this potential personal milestone deserves recognition. It is a case of not if but when and hopefully the record will be broken on Saturday evening.
Sheehy's record is without question extremely impressive. He amassed his total of 29-205 from just 49 championship games averaging 6 points per game. It looks like his tally of 29 championship goals will remain a record for some time to come thus guaranteeing his status as one of the greatest players the game has ever produced. Sheehy was selected on both the 'Team of the Century' and the 'Team of the Millennium' and the biggest compliment that could be paid to both of Kerry's legendary number 13's is that if you took Colm Cooper's left foot and Mikey Sheehy's right you would have the ultimate forward! Mikey Sheehy is also on record as stating that Colm Cooper is the greatest forward that he has ever seen in the game.
Of the remaining members of the 2012 Kerry panel Bryan Sheehan is next in line in the scoring charts. The 26 year old has scored 4-120 placing him 8th in the all time Kerry scoring list. The all time Kerry Top 10 is as follows Mikey Sheehy, Colm Cooper, Maurice Fitzgerald, Dara O'Cinnéide, Pat Spillane, Mike Frank Russell, Mick O'Dwyer, Bryan Sheehan, Mick O'Connell, and Eoin Liston.
Colm Cooper's Championship Scoring Stats 2002 - 3-15 (9) 2003 - 0-11 (4) 2004 - 1-22 (7) 2005 - 4-23 (6) 2006 - 2-17 (8) 2007 - 2-18 (5) 2008 - 2-25 (7) 2009 - 1-34 (8) 2010 - 1-27 (5) 2011 - 2-27 (6) 2012 - 0-17 (2) Total 18-238 (290) ** In brackets games played
All Time Championship Football Top Scorer's List 1 Mikey Sheehy (Kerry) 29-205 (292) 2 Colm Cooper (Kerry) 18-236 (290) 3 Paddy Bradley (Derry) 17-202 (253) 4 Maurice Fitzgerald (Kerry) 12-205 (241) 5 Oisín McConville (Armagh) 16-192 (240) ** In brackets is the overall scoring total
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/07/2012 20:31:37
Im shocked, i dont see the Great Joe Brolly up there on the list. He was deady from 10 yards.
kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 26/07/2012 21:18:36
Where do I get the top scorers in iománaíocht?
AnRaibh (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 27/07/2012 08:56:12
AnRaibh County: Donegal Posts: 15
1230117 Where do I get the top scorers in iománaíocht?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Ireland_Senior_Hurling_Championship_records_and_statistics#Top_ten_all-time_top_scorers
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/07/2012 09:25:22
Think the legendary John O'Leary holds the record for most consecutive appearances does he? Dont think he missed a single game from 1983-1998 I think it was
On the O'Se's......I have said a few times that its always Marquee forwards that get the glory and get the acclaim, but for me, Tomas O'Se is THE single greatest outfield player I have ever seen in my life
Legend
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/07/2012 10:25:05
I second that Liamo,
Tomas O'Se is 1 of those sickeningly good players that could do a job for you anywhere on the pitch. What I liked about him aswell is that he had that bit of dirt in him too. He wasn't afraid of getting a good dig in or a late shoulder if it meant settling some man down!
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9799 - 27/07/2012 10:39:28
For me Marc O Se is the greatest man to man marker to ever play the game.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/07/2012 10:42:32
Think the legendary John O'Leary holds the record for most consecutive appearances does he? Dont think he missed a single game from 1983-1998 I think it was
Still? I doubt it. With the qualifiers now a lot of those records are going to be beaten if they haven't been already. The way Phil Neville has played more European Cup games than Bobby Charlton because the Champions League was introduced.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/07/2012 11:07:29
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 3505
1230183 Think the legendary John O'Leary holds the record for most consecutive appearances does he? Dont think he missed a single game from 1983-1998 I think it was
On the O'Se's......I have said a few times that its always Marquee forwards that get the glory and get the acclaim, but for me, Tomas O'Se is THE single greatest outfield player I have ever seen in my life
Legend
Yes 71 I think.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/07/2012 12:33:10
how can that be all those apppearances when every year he plays two games in munster and goes straight into the all ireland and also the best forward af all time peter the "great" is not the alltime top scorer.
chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 27/07/2012 13:01:04
Yes Tomás Ó Sé is a super gaelic footballer.
Mickey Linden played senior inter county from 1982 to 2003. Dont know how many appearances though
ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 27/07/2012 13:15:10
Fair play Tomas O Se. A great player. He was working in Cork for years (Fermoy-not sure where he is now). That is the only reason why he is so good. He then went home and taught the brothers what he learned in that fabled football stronghold that is Fermoy. Damn it... we must learn to keep our secrets to ourselves..
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/07/2012 13:24:41