absolutely devastated im in liverpool for this game... would be brilliant to be in killareny this weekend! quality place for anite out and would be better should we manage to get the result im hoping for! Then again, Kerry in their own back yard isnt going to be easy... tyronebhoy1888 (Tyrone) - Posts: 7 - 18/07/2012 12:09:07 1221286 Link 0 |
Snuf Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/07/2012 12:15:34 1221297 Link 0 |
What an excellent article from Darragh. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/07/2012 12:19:50 1221301 Link 0 |
Great article by Darragh-Micky Harte is a revolution; you just know he has another trick up his sleeve but will he show it on Saturday. Hard to tell; expectations are for a good game. Tyrone are a new team while Kerry's back bone is still from the last decade.......we are struggling but have done that before and been successful. Both Kerry and Tyrone have only two losses this year in the league and championship. Both Kerry and Tyrone ticked the boxes for most of the league with both teams using the young guns. Kerry looked heavy legged, disinterested and clumsy for parts of the championship with only very minute glipses of flow. Tyrone on the other hand have a clear intensity in their game which was not as notable over the last two years. Having said that, Kerry have struggled before in the early stages of championship football and still been around in the business end. If Kerry have a performance in them it should be stimulated by this match. Saturday will also show if Tyrone can up their game beyond Div 2 and their recent Donegal game. Whatever the other counties may think; there is a lot of respect for Tyrone in Kerry and I can't wait-must find my lucky underpants. God I will have to have a few pints before the game to calm the nerves. kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 18/07/2012 12:20:02 1221303 Link 0 |
Excellent article by Darragh. His is an opinion I do respect. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 18/07/2012 13:20:11 1221391 Link 0 |
Well the supposed "REAL" AI champs of 2011 jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/07/2012 13:27:04 1221402 Link 0 |
jimbodub Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/07/2012 13:38:22 1221426 Link 0 |
Oh yes JIMBOB when was the last time ye won an all-ireland prior to last year,LOL. mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 18/07/2012 13:39:47 1221431 Link 0 |
1995 jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/07/2012 13:43:21 1221433 Link 0 |
Goodfella, Tir Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/07/2012 13:43:48 1221435 Link 0 |
It is a good article. Think there are signs of ostrich syndrome, he says that Tyrone weren't a bogey team. Yet, he talks about having flash backs and he seems to have thought alot about the encounters with Tyrone... HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 18/07/2012 13:48:29 1221441 Link 0 |
Real Kerry Fan RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 18/07/2012 13:48:38 1221442 Link 0 |
RenardRedHand brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/07/2012 13:50:39 1221447 Link 0 |
Superglue I'm well aware that Pat isnt an accurate reflection of Kerry people in general! Was down in Killarney a few years ago for a wedding and had unreal craic with the locals, a finer and more welcoming bunch of people you couldnt find elsewhere in Ireland. Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 18/07/2012 13:53:50 1221454 Link 0 |
jimbodub cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 18/07/2012 13:57:54 1221469 Link 0 |
Actually kerry is in the southwest of the country you can reach it by trying to find the M7 near dublin but then again you will probably need a sat nav to even get to the Redcow interjunction and by the way 2 all-irelands in 25 years is no boast and with regard to your referance to the '88 to '97 era,even with this in mind kerry have won 13 all-irelands,lets see will you be gloating in september. mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 18/07/2012 14:03:04 1221476 Link 0 |
I'm heading to the match, and enjoying the scenery and the crack, but I'll be sitting near the exit! Kerry's flat display against Westmeath counts for nothing. Kerry have often been like that against weaker teams early on. This Kerry team has been at the top for so long without a break that they're jaded playing most teams and will only spark into life for big games, or for one like this. Kerry may be keen to talk up Tyrone for the good reason that no proud Kerry fan will take much satisfaction out of beating a fairly limited Tyrone team that isn't at the same standard of Tyrone teams of the past decade; or they just may not realise how far Tyrone have fallen. Look at the facts - Tyrone have been in Division 2 and flopped against the first half-decent team they met, Kildare, in the Div 2 final. Kerry, playing below their best, were cruising against Dublin in last year's final, and threw the game away. Dublin were lucky to win. That same Dublin team hammered Tyrone the last two times they met. In 2012, Tyrone were relying a lot on two genuine talents who looked to be coming good at last, the elusive and accurate Ronan O'Neill and former Aussie rules player Kyle Coney (who at last realised that talent needs to be backed up buy workrate); and both lads managed to pick up injuries that knocked them out for the season. Now Cavanagh's out injured as well, and, last weekend, we didn't even have the confidence to do long kick-outs - against Roscommon. These gaps are being plugged by hauling unfit and past-it retired players out of retirement. It's disappointing from a Tyrone point of view. Mickey Harte is doing the very best he can with the limited resources currently available to him; but, to have a chance in this game, we'd need all the injured players back, and the entire team would need another year collectively under its belt. Sport is sport, and anything can happen, but, realistically, anyone talking up Tyrone here is either living in the past or has an agenda. Everything going as expected, it's next to impossible to see how Tyrone can win this one. If they can keep the score respectable, that'd be enough to build on for next year. It's flattering to Tyrone that Kerry people are taking us this seriously in 2012, but if Kerry don't win on Saturday, it'll be their own fault; this Tyrone team currently is nowhere near AI winner standard. essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/07/2012 14:20:01 1221513 Link 0 |
Kilarney cheers jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/07/2012 14:22:12 1221519 Link 0 |
mlcollins jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/07/2012 14:23:54 1221521 Link 0 |
essmac, all you are missing out of that last piece are a few Yerras ;-) Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/07/2012 14:25:43 1221525 Link 0 |