Kerry v Tyrone

People trying to build this game up into something it's not. Back in the 00s sure it was a big game because they were 2 big teams. Not anymore. Kerry are no more than rank outsiders for the all ireland and tyrone all ireland contenders???? Dont make me laugh. It's a lightweight contest. Cant believe the fuss being made of it. Kerry will probably win as they are a better team than tyrone and they have home advantage but it's not going to have any bearing on the destination of the all ireland

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/07/2012 17:29:58    1219482

We are both in the same boat as Mayo then so! lol

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 17:36:17    1219492

Wouldnt really agree with that Gamekeeper. Mayo have a young team that have still got a fair bit of experience. A good bit ahead of tyrone and kerry at this point. I know if you took off your red and white glasses you would acknowledge this

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/07/2012 17:40:52    1219499

Will Stephen O'Neill be fit? any of the Thrown lads know? Mugsy is in form and he'll be a key player. If I was from Thrown I'd be happy to see Donaghy playing and Darran O Sullivan on the bench. The most notable thing Donaghy has done for the last 3/4 years is complain and whinge to referees. He's quiet ineffective. Scores little and misses alot of goal chances. All the good Full Backs deal with him easily. The real danger is trying to nullify Cooper, Dec O'Sullivan and Galvin.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 16/07/2012 17:41:09    1219500

JamesH

Thanks lad... wont bother attending the game ... your knowledge is clearly spot on..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/07/2012 17:42:40    1219503

whiterbannnas

People trying to build this game up into something it's not. Back in the 00s sure it was a big game because they were 2 big teams. Not anymore. Kerry are no more than rank outsiders for the all ireland and tyrone all ireland contenders???? Dont make me laugh. It's a lightweight contest. Cant believe the fuss being made of it. Kerry will probably win as they are a better team than tyrone and they have home advantage but it's not going to have any bearing on the destination of the all ireland

Being honest, Both teams would beat an over hyped Mayo team.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 16/07/2012 17:42:50    1219505

We all saw Mayon play yesterday bananas, the rest of the country is tremblin alright!!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 17:44:22    1219508

Ricey and Brian Mc Guigan will be useful coming off the bench for this one.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 17:46:35    1219514

whiterbannnas

What a load of nonsense you talk. If Mayo played Tyrone this weekend Tyrone would give them a footballing lesson.

Mayo won Connacht beating Leitrim and Sligo in the process, its embarrassing you's even celebrated that. Mayo won't get past the AI Quarter Final's.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 16/07/2012 17:48:03    1219516

whiterbannnas

Mayo are ahead of us based on what?? Donaghy giving you a goal on a plate in a league semi??

Or the hammering we gave this Mayo team in last years AI semi.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 16/07/2012 17:49:44    1219518

This is the game of the Championship so far. Two of the great footballing counties in the modern era going head to head in a winner takes all encounter in the beautiful surroundings of Fitzgerald Stadium.

Game of the weekend without question. Let battle commence.

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 16/07/2012 17:55:19    1219532

yes westkerry I have been right when it comes to Kerry over the past 7 years in predictions and that is the TRUTH - ask the mods to check. Perhaps I'll get it wrong about them sometime but it will not be this year. I think you know I'm right as well but I would still travel if I was a Kerry supporter just to say goodbye to the likes of Tomás Ó Sé surely one of the greatest players Kerry ever produced.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 16/07/2012 18:04:17    1219552

As a nuetral was wanting these two teams to be paired against each other and then when heard the draw could,nt believe it. Its going to be some game think either side will draw the best out from one another. Expect a fiery encounter and end to end drama. Cant wait for this one...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 16/07/2012 18:15:52    1219565

yes westkerry I have been right when it comes to Kerry over the past 7 years in predictions and that is the TRUTH - ask the mods to check. Perhaps I'll get it wrong about them sometime but it will not be this year. I think you know I'm right as well but I would still travel if I was a Kerry supporter just to say goodbye to the likes of Tomás Ó Sé surely one of the greatest players Kerry ever produced.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 16/07/2012 18:16:34    1219566

brendtheredhand

hill16no1man

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

I think this game has dwarfed the Ulster and Leinster Finals!! ;)

haha you must be joking

its a qualifier both teams have been beaten in the championship so far no way near bigger then leinster or ulster final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/07/2012 18:18:34    1219567

westkerry

Mayo are ahead of us based on what?? Donaghy giving you a goal on a plate in a league semi??

Or the hammering we gave this Mayo team in last years AI semi.

Oh no we scored alot more than just that goal in the league semi. You hammered us in injury time of last year's semi but up until then it was a very close game. This young mayo team is now a year older and a year more experienced. Kerry have fallen away the last few years. Ageing players who, although were no doubt good players when they were young, seem unable to accept that the passage of time has caught up with them. Others, like donaghy, are incredibly still rated highly due to ONE good season (in 2006!!). I think it's just lazy analysis that people lump kerry and indeed tyrone in with the top teams. Cork and mayo are streets ahead at this point in time with kildare next in the pack

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/07/2012 18:20:07    1219569

MourneArmy
County: Down

If Mayo played Tyrone this weekend Tyrone would give them a footballing lesson.

Ha, tyrone have never given anyone a footballing lesson! They prob would give us a dirty tricks lesson alright but we'd prefer not to stoop that low. I always think it's quite sad to see a county that has had a certain degree of success unable to accept that that time has now passed and it's somebody else's turn

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/07/2012 18:28:17    1219584

Interestingly, 9 of the Kerry players who started the AI final v Tyrone in 2008 started against Westmeath at the weekend. Only 4 who started for Tyrone that day started for them against Roscommon

Among the subs , Darran O'Sullivan (sub against Westmeath) and Galvin (started v westmeath) came on in 2008 while Mulligan, Colm Cavanagh (both started v Ros), Brian McGuigan (sub v Ros) did likewise for Tyrone. Ricey was the only sub from either team at the weekend who started the AI final.

So it seems that Tyrone have done a better job of freshening up their team although some of it may be due to injury (Stephen O'Neill and Sean Cavanagh spring to mind)

Looking at the 2005 meeting, 7 Kerry players started both that day and against Westmeath (M O Se, T O Se, A O Mahony; P Galvin, E Brosnan, C Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan) while Darran O 'Sullivan and B Sheehan came on as subs that day. 4 Tyrone players started that game and against Roscommon (P McConnell, Joe McMahon, Gormley and Mulligan) while Ricey and Brian McGuigan both came on vs Roscommon

It's actually amazing how long a lot of the Kerry team have been around, too many miles on the clock?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 16/07/2012 18:31:17    1219588

Good man whiterbananas, your expert analysis again is second to know other!
Why can Galway win all-irelands and Mayo can't?!
Apologies to true mayo fans, but he brings it on himself!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 18:35:38    1219595

Don't think this is game of weekend. For all those who wondering the game of weekend will be in croke park on sunday,
This very much a game of 2 teams in different directions. Tyrone on way up with a very young side and kerry in free fall.
I can only see a easy victory for tyrone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2012 18:39:52    1219600