Kerry v Tyrone

could just be the game to get Kerry going again..They are bulling for tyrone for the last few years and there could well be 25-30,000 in Killarney..should be good auld craic around the town for the weekend too..its really going to overshadow the 2 provincial finals next weekend..one last kick in this Kerry team maybe?

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 16/07/2012 14:38:58    1219195

We became used to seeing them face each other in the AI semi or final stage in the noughties. Now, in the new decade, we're seeing them face off in a 3rd round qualifier... Oh how mighty have fallen ;) Just kidding, really looking forward to this one, it will brighten up the Qualifiers, and as mentioned above it seems it will even eclipse the Ulster and Leinster Finals lol.

I fancy Tyrone to win this one by 2 on form. But the form book goes out the window. Home advantage to Kerry could be crucial! I'm gonna sit on the fence for this one and say it could go either way!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 16/07/2012 15:09:41    1219259

Poor as Kerry have been by their standards so far in this championship, I think that Tyrone are a side living off the reputation of their forebears, and I see nothing other than a Kerry win in Killarney. Tyrone are not a shadow of the side they were in 2008 and their trajectory in the past four seasons reflects that. A big win over a poor Roscommon side after a tame exit to an ordinary Donegal team is hardly something to get excited about, and I think Kerry will win this one easily enough. After 2005, a finished Armagh side spent about 3 or 4 seasons being regularly touted a serious contenders when they were anything but, and this Tyrone team are now firmly in the same territory. The surprising difference is that unlike Armagh (and rather more like Galway hurling) Tyrone have had a conveyor belt of underage success which they have largely failed to convert into a rejuvenated senior squad. Maybe its bad luck but one has to wonder what that says about the Tyrone management and country board.

I would say the general distribution of footballing strength has reverted to what it was in the 1980s with Connaught football having fallen off the face of the earth and Ulster football (with the possible exception of Donegal) following fast in its footsteps. Just as in the 1980s the powerhouses are Leinster and Munster with Cork, Dublin, Kerry still far ahead of the rest. Kildare, Donegal, Mayo, and perhaps Meath form a reluctant 2nd tier, but despite recent form, it is ironic that Meath (by virtue of their pedigree and the way they play football) are perhaps more likely than any of the to make the step up in the next couple of years.

Knowing my luck, Tyrone will hammer Kerry next week and Dublin will stuff Meath and this will all seem like rot but in light of the rather amusing rankings put forward on this webstie today is there anyone who seriously thinks that Donegal are the 2nd most likely team to win the AI and Kerry the 9th most? Or that Mayo or more likely to win than Kildare, Kerry and Meath? Or, being more frank, that either Mayo, Donegal, or Tyrone have a hope in hell of winning the All-Ireland? I know I don't.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 16/07/2012 15:13:17    1219265

Ah sure nobody pays attention to those ratings Meath1986, they are as credible as the FIFA world rankings.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/07/2012 15:36:17    1219299

On a separate note, isn't it great to see that this fixture has captured the attention of the GAA public based on what I've read here and on other forums, seems that only the Dubs would be bigger box office than a Tyrone V Kerry clash.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/07/2012 15:40:36    1219304

I just have a funny feeling Tyrone are gonna trash Kerry and it will be the end of an era for Kerry football,,,,just a feeling....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 16/07/2012 15:48:28    1219314

Mollymalone

I just have a funny feeling Tyrone are gonna trash Kerry and it will be the end of an era for Kerry football,,,,just a feeling....

That is a funny feeling.......

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/07/2012 15:50:01    1219318

I always loved going to Killarney, tis a great place for a bit of craic before & after the game. I'm sure a lot of Tyrone lads will come down for a few days and make a bit of a holiday of it. I have some great friends from West Tyrone, I haven't been in touch yet but if they are coming down then I'm going as well. Bring it on.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 16/07/2012 16:00:18    1219338

MourneArmy - you may just be kidding, but you make a valid point. Kerry v Tyrone has been the preserve of All-Ireland Semi-finals and Finals over the last decade. Now they are meeting in a Rd3 Qualifier. Both sides have slipped, there is no doubting that, and no one can argue any different. But it's those great games of the past that will get everyone talking over the next week.

Kerry will badly want to get revenge for those three defeats during the last decade, and revenge can be a wonderful motivator in the GAA. It will be close, and I would love to see Tyrone pull it off, but I have a feeling we might fall just short this time. I hope I'm wrong though. Heres to a great game of football from both sides

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 16/07/2012 16:05:05    1219346

It's a good draw and will be a good test. After our performances so far this year, on form the away team will be favourites. I doubt there'll be any qualms about that. Sure we'll turn up on the day and hope for the best.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9139 - 16/07/2012 16:07:24    1219349

I think they should play such a big game in Croker. Kerry will certainly have an advantage with the home draw. Going to be such an interesting game. Can Kerry finally beat them? I think so, they're a wounded animal and are coming in under a lot of unfair criticism so I think they'll have a big game in them. It's upto Thrown then to produce a performance and if they do it could be an classic like all the previous games.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 16/07/2012 16:17:39    1219363

16/07/2012 16:17:39
proevo

I think they should play such a big game in Croker. Kerry will certainly have an advantage with the home draw. Going to be such an interesting game. Can Kerry finally beat them? I think so, they're a wounded animal and are coming in under a lot of unfair criticism so I think they'll have a big game in them. It's upto Thrown then to produce a performance and if they do it could be an classic like all the previous games.

Not at all, if the game was drawn away in Omagh, we'd have had no qualms about it. The nature of the qualifiers is these draws can occur where distance will have to be travelled. The only way to avoid a long away draw it is to stay in the provincial championships longer.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9139 - 16/07/2012 16:21:16    1219369

Ratings are totally dependent on how they are constructed and the correlation between league and championship, although linked, is certainly not fool-proof as its difficult to judge exactly how much each side is putting into the league.

To date im my opinion the top contenders for Sam in order are as follows.

1. Cork. League winners, have already beaten Kerry, are already in the quarters and seem to be playing reasonably well.
2. Dublin. Defending champions, albiet on the back of a average league. Behind Cork as the AI is so difficult to defend. Everything depends on recovering form.
3. Kerry. Finalists last year, and now face a make or break game v Tyrone. If they win you cannot rule them out in terms of AI aspirations.
4. Donegal. Nearly made the final last year. Seemed to have developed their game. Will make a quarter final this year where the litmus test awaits.
5. Mayo. Seemed to have improved but like Donegal will have to prove themselves in Croke Park.
6. Kildare. We're tipped for Leinster this year but had a mare v Meath. The draw should see them easily into the quarter final where the must beat a big team.
7. It gets difficult here in terms of prediction and its very difficult to know exactly where the likes of Meath, Tyrone and Down are at.

Bar major surprises the quarter finals will have Cork, Mayo, Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Donegal, Down, Kerry/Tyrone and in that you will still have all the major contenders ready to play each other. Im not deliberately disrespecting other teams here as this post is mere opinion. All the questions Tyrone, Meath, Kildare and Mayo fans need answering will soon be answered as they will soon be up against the top teams they need to beat before they cant themselves be considered top teams.

This years quarters will be excellent and i reckon will look like this:

Pool A

Cork
Mayo
Dublin
Donegal

Against Pool B

Kildare
Meath
Kerry
Down

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 16/07/2012 16:26:23    1219380

Confirmed for 5pm Saturday in Killarney.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 16/07/2012 16:44:40    1219402

legendzxix

Not at all, if the game was drawn away in Omagh, we'd have had no qualms about it. The nature of the qualifiers is these draws can occur where distance will have to be travelled. The only way to avoid a long away draw it is to stay in the provincial championships longer.

Yeah fair enough. I was just thinking crowd wise with possibily 40,000+ people interested in going. If it was in HQ neutrals like myself would head along. But Kilarney's pretty big though isn't it?

And Seany, lets not get ahead of ourselves. We've a point to prove after 2010 and will be highly motivated. But, if your predictions do came to fruition, Then I'd gladly taken Mayo in the quarters.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 16/07/2012 16:47:17    1219409

Its surely on the telly?
A proper Saturday evenings entertainment!

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 635 - 16/07/2012 16:53:00    1219421

16/07/2012 11:14:16
kerryluck

1218712 GrizzlyAdams

Kerry 8/15
Draw 15/2
Tyrone 15/8
By my reckoning that makes Kerry favourites.

BETTING COUNTS FOR NOTHING

Unless you back winners-

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 16/07/2012 17:02:32    1219436

If Kerry can't beat a Tyrone team littered with cubs, small men and inexperience at home then they will never beat them.

GrizzlyAdams (Tyrone) - Posts: 576 - 16/07/2012 17:05:16    1219439

Yes Kerry supporters the prophet of your doom is back once again to break the bad news to you all. On these forums I predicted Tyrone would beat Kerry in 2005 and 2008 when they met and I predicted Dublin would beat Kerry in the final last year in 2011. And yes I did predict Kerry to beat Cork and Mayo when they met in the finals so I'm not being biased in my views. Well this one is too easy to predict - Tyrone will beat Kerry in Killarney and mark these words they will beat Kerry easily!

The rot has well and truly set in for a Kerry side who are not the free scoring machine of old and surviving on memory just about. In fact Kerry has struggled for scores from play for some time in the Championship and are hugely dependent on frees. Tyrone have always been able to mark Cooper out of games and Tyrone will have the players and game plan to exploit Kerry in defence. Tyrone are team much further along in transition than Kerry and have introduced some exciting new talents, Tyrone are younger, fitter and I think the hungrier side. A big win in Killarney for Mickey Harte's men and who knows where the year might end for them yet?

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 16/07/2012 17:18:14    1219465

Kerry will be up for this,If I was from Tyrone I would be worried.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/07/2012 17:24:57    1219476