Kerry v Tyrone

KELF

I suspect that a lot of the Kerry joy had to do with what the ctitics, internal & external said about them as a group and of course getting the better of Gormley & Ricey (and possibly one or two others) who would not be liked by Kerry players ( finger in the eye etc).

Kerry should beat Clare and make life awkward for someone in Quarters but that's probably their limit but then we thought we had them in '69 when they were not at their best but they found a way to win so while I think the Quarters are their limit they are quite capable of proving me very wrong

Assuming we get over Clare, we can meet Donegal, Dublin, Mayo or Cork. We don't fear any of these sides but it would be intriguing to come up against Donegal. On one hand, we're as good as anything that's left, on the other I think we'll fall short down the road somewhere. The draw will be interesting.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/07/2012 19:59:31    1225131

JamesH

Yes Kerry supporters the prophet of your doom is back once again to break the bad news to you all. On these forums I predicted Tyrone would beat Kerry in 2005 and 2008 when they met and I predicted Dublin would beat Kerry in the final last year in 2011. And yes I did predict Kerry to beat Cork and Mayo when they met in the finals so I'm not being biased in my views. Well this one is too easy to predict - Tyrone will beat Kerry in Killarney and mark these words they will beat Kerry easily!

The rot has well and truly set in for a Kerry side who are not the free scoring machine of old and surviving on memory just about. In fact Kerry has struggled for scores from play for some time in the Championship and are hugely dependent on frees. Tyrone have always been able to mark Cooper out of games and Tyrone will have the players and game plan to exploit Kerry in defence. Tyrone are team much further along in transition than Kerry and have introduced some exciting new talents, Tyrone are younger, fitter and I think the hungrier side. A big win in Killarney for Mickey Harte's men and who knows where the year might end for them yet?

Ahem!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/07/2012 20:51:40    1225219

Good win for Kerry, Well done to the Kingdom.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 22/07/2012 21:51:05    1225338

As much as it pains me to say this, fair play to our neighbours on saturday, they were brillant. I always thought Kerry would win, simply because of the motivation factor & also they rarely lose any championship matches in Killarney. What I did find a bit of a shock was the margin of victory. As excellent as Kerry were, Tyrone were awful on saturday and really struggled to get scores. Hard to know where Mickey Harte goes from here?

Kerry are well & truly back in the running for Sam after that devastating performance. When you see them come from 6 points down to scrape past Westmeath in the back door, then its an ominous for the rest of the championship.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 23/07/2012 08:42:47    1225388

Congratulations to Kerry on a fine win, as a Tyrone man it was very hard to watch. Kerry were very good but they were also assisted by the fact that we were so poor. Still think Cork will win the all-Ireland but it's certainly not clear cut.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 23/07/2012 09:50:46    1225463

Just wanted to say fair play to the tyrone posters.. Very magnanimous in defeat it has to be said. We all know this is not the same tyrone side that beat kerry comprehensively in recent years and we in kerry are not getting carried away by this victory. I think the celebrations by the players and fans after the game was more of a reaction to recent criticism of the team than anything else. At the same time it is understandable that this would mean a lot to the team as it is not the kerry players' fault that many of those great tyrone players are no longer involved, the kerry players can only try to beat what is put in front of them and a victory over tyrone in the championship was something that many of these players would have craved to achieve at some point in their careers. It would be great to do that in croke park but maybe that is just not meant to be. As everyone keeps saying, this kerry team is around a long time so they will be more aware than anyone that they have won nothing yet.

anon1234 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 23/07/2012 11:15:44    1225596

Wasn't the cheering of the Kerry possession play and handpassing towards the end brilliant!! Even some of the Tyrone crowd in the stand were on their feet.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 23/07/2012 16:03:39    1226291

dingle1
County: Clare

Wasn't the cheering of the Kerry possession play and handpassing towards the end brilliant!! Even some of the Tyrone crowd in the stand were on their feet.

No place in the game for that rubbish, it was started by a few eejits in the terrace and thankfully fizzled out.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/07/2012 16:20:50    1226333

Overall Kerry were the better, hungrier team on Saturday. I cannot begrudge the celebrations at all, this win was a long time coming for many of these Kerry players and suppporters. Reality, it is a Championship knockout game victory and now on to the next opponent.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 23/07/2012 18:13:55    1226542

Where are you gone JamesHoranMayo?

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 23/07/2012 20:17:17    1226735

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/mcguigan-spits-fury-at-kerry-duo-202185.html

Had this been a Kerry player we would have all the Ulster posters going on about it being sour grapes etc

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 27/07/2012 11:27:41    1230248

Its make it all the sweeter knowing how much Kerry put these Tyrone boys in their place will grind on them for the winter and on some of them forever more ;)

Fair play to Declan O'Sullivan giving Tyrone a taste of their own Medicine!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/07/2012 11:31:49    1230254

wow that loss has really stuck in McGuigan's craw!!! He has nobody to blame but himself for getting the red, it was stupid and he let his team down. He'd want to look closer to home for sneering, etc.

UP THE KINGDOM!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/07/2012 11:38:04    1230263

Well mcguigan would be an expert in the field

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/07/2012 11:42:08    1230270

moomoo

1230248 http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/mcguigan-spits-fury-at-kerry-duo-202185.html

Had this been a Kerry player we would have all the Ulster posters going on about it being sour grapes etc

Tyrone players really have selective memories
They did not give Armagh ,the then all-Ireland champions, a guard of honour in the 2003. Highly disrespectful - you could say they 'looked down' on Armagh to quote McGuigan
However Armagh did give Tyrona a guard of honor when they were reigning champions

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 27/07/2012 11:57:25    1230282

Serious sour grapes from McGuigan. Kerry out Tyroned Tyrone last week. They got in players faces, went down easily and basically did everything possible to wind Tyrone up - get bloody over it Brian, you were an absolutely amazing player, don't give Kerry people the satisfaction of knowing how badly they've got under your skin.

Oh, and save us the BS about not wanting McCartan sent off in 03, you feigned injury for no other reason only to get him sent off, for me it's now sadly just part of the modern game which your Tyrone side were largely responsible for introducing. So less whining please.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 27/07/2012 12:24:35    1230328