TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 792
1224717 Congratulations to Kerry, totally outclassed Tyrone from start to finish! Very disappointing!
Fair play GateKeeper. Tyrone supporters in Killarney were very gracious after the match and great craic last night too.
Wasn't expecting that performance, our boys tore into it and weren't flattered by the scoreline...........we had to beat ye sometime :)
Anyway, we are still alive and kicking...............UP THE KINGDOM!
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/07/2012 11:26:50
Tyrone's great side was finished 2 or 3 years ago, and was on the slide for a couple before that too. It amazes me to hear people talking about the end of a Tyrone side, when what we saw was a new side already forming. Tyrone had 2 lads tonight making their first ever starts for Tyrone in league or championship. On top of that, we had 3 others players who made their championship debuts this year, while 3 more are in their 2nd season. So, 8 out of 14 outfield players in their 1st or 2nd year playing championship football.
These lads will get stronger and better, and we also have the likes of Coney, Ronan O'Neill, Ronan McNabb, Niall McKenna (all 22 or younger) and a couple more to add in. Playing in division 1 next year will help Tyrone in that regard. Personally, I think Tyrone are on the up, as opposed to finished. We will be a better side next year whereas Kerry, on the other hand, are still going to the well with the same lads from 7-8 years ago, something that will catch up with them before long.
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/07/2012 11:28:20
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 5275
1224677 Their whingeing, moaning and despicable media crying antics over the past decade show that Kerry don't have respect for other GAA, particularly Ulster, teams. They can go whistle now they want to be friends.
Same old rubbish with you as ever. I also notice you have nothing to say about Tyrone yesterday, after all they had a player sent off and others got yellows, i line you used quite alot not so long ago. So whats the difference this time?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/07/2012 11:32:01
Some say the devil is dead, and buried in Killarney! I hope you lot are gone for a long time. Tyrone should have have ended the game with 10 men!!!! What a joke, I can only wish for 5 mins in a cage with mcmenamin or gormley!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kerry_NYC (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 22/07/2012 11:44:36
I wonder what Joe taught of it?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 22/07/2012 11:53:25
Kerry_NYC County: Kerry Posts: 9
1224870 Some say the devil is dead, and buried in Killarney! I hope you lot are gone for a long time. Tyrone should have have ended the game with 10 men!!!! What a joke, I can only wish for 5 mins in a cage with mcmenamin or gormley!!!!!!!!!!
as gracious a kerry fan you could meet, hahaha, as Paudi said, "animals" so i guess you belong in a cage !
sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 22/07/2012 12:33:32
Thomas Clarke County: Tyrone Posts: 381
1224846 Tyrone's great side was finished 2 or 3 years ago, and was on the slide for a couple before that too. It amazes me to hear people talking about the end of a Tyrone side, when what we saw was a new side already forming. Tyrone had 2 lads tonight making their first ever starts for Tyrone in league or championship. On top of that, we had 3 others players who made their championship debuts this year, while 3 more are in their 2nd season. So, 8 out of 14 outfield players in their 1st or 2nd year playing championship football.
These lads will get stronger and better, and we also have the likes of Coney, Ronan O'Neill, Ronan McNabb, Niall McKenna (all 22 or younger) and a couple more to add in. Playing in division 1 next year will help Tyrone in that regard. Personally, I think Tyrone are on the up, as opposed to finished. We will be a better side next year whereas Kerry, on the other hand, are still going to the well with the same lads from 7-8 years ago, something that will catch up with them before long.
KERRY HAVE DAVID MORAN OUT INJURED, THEY HAVE GOT YOUNG FORWARDS LIKE KIERAN O'LEARY, JAMES O'DONOGHUE, BARRY JOHN KEAN, BARRY JOHN WALSH, PADDY CURTIN, THEY STILL HAVE OTHER PLAYERS THAT ARE YOUNG THAT HAVE A LOT MORE YEARS LEFT AT THE TOP LIKE BRYAN SHEENAN, DARREN O SULLIVAN, DONNACH WALSH, KILLIAN YOUNG, BRENDEN KEELY, DANIEL BOHAN, SHANE ENWRIGHT, BRIAN MCGUIRE, ANTHONY MAHER, PETER CROWLEY AND SOME OF THE SENIOR PLAYERS HAVE A GOOD FEW YEARS LEFT IN THEM, THEY WERE WRITTEN OFF IN 2008 AND AGIN IN 2009, THEY WON ALL IRELAND THAT YEAR
kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 22/07/2012 12:50:36
sons.of.erin County: UK Posts: 332
1224910 Kerry_NYC County: Kerry Posts: 9
1224870 Some say the devil is dead, and buried in Killarney! I hope you lot are gone for a long time. Tyrone should have have ended the game with 10 men!!!! What a joke, I can only wish for 5 mins in a cage with mcmenamin or gormley!!!!!!!!!!
as gracious a kerry fan you could meet, hahaha, as Paudi said, "animals" so i guess you belong in a cage !
He described the Kerry supporters as 'the roughest type of f***ing animals you could ever deal with'. He wasn't too far off the mark. Kerry win but still Tyrone get under their skin. Kerry may have won but they'll never get away from the fact Tyrone beat them when it mattered most when both teams were at full strength in AI Semi/Finals. You had to bring them down to Killarney and beat a team packed with youngsters to finally beat them. All the passion and celebrations from Galvin and Cooper seem a bit out of place, it wasn't exactly an AI Final.
Mcmenamin and Gormley are gentlemen off the the pitch. But they are born winners and they do what they have to do on the pitch to get what they want at all costs. I suppose Galvin is a Saint though even after all his antics over the last few years? Don't say he's being singled out or picked on because who is either cos he brings it on himself.
Kerry had to play like Tyrone to beat them with their blanket defence. Can't wait for Spillane later on the Sunday Game. He'll do some amount of spoofin'.
proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 22/07/2012 13:01:00
Sure Spillane will be delighted on the Sunday Game later. It's Brolly I can't wait to hear from after his comments this week, especially about the gooch, the best footballer I have ever seen.
kerry4sam (Kerry) - Posts: 51 - 22/07/2012 13:13:07
4 All-Ireland's from 7 championships between '03 and '09. Where were Tyrone when it mattered in those 4 years?
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9139 - 22/07/2012 13:16:18
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 5275
1224677 Their whingeing, moaning and despicable media crying antics over the past decade show that Kerry don't have respect for other GAA, particularly Ulster, teams. They can go whistle now they want to be friends.
James 3:14-16:
"But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descendeth not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work."
Ulcerman you need help !!!!!!!!!!
danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 22/07/2012 13:22:46
Just like to say how proud i am of kerry today, i thought it was a blood and guts game.
Rankings after the wend games.
1 Cork 2 Donegal 3 Dublin 4 Kerry
These are the only contenders for Sam
kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/07/2012 18:07:20
Best of luck Kerry, absolutely no question who was the dominant team out there yesterday. From my own point of view I was extremely disappointed by my own county, both in their attitude and discipline, we are a lot better than the scoreline suggests but the truth is, even if this had been played in Omagh I still think Kerry would have won. I cant be too dispondant mind you, we are still in a good place to move forward and this year was only ever about developing further as a team, that we have done and with yet anther Ulster minor title under our belt today, we can only get better.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/07/2012 18:07:36
Who of note has Tyrone beaten in the last 4 years? Since 08, Tyrone couldn't beat snow off a rope. Since 08, on the few occasions we ran into better opposition - Dublin, Kildare, Cork, Donegal - we've had no answers. I'm amazed at how many otherwise sensible Kerry people thought that a couple of early-season results in the league - in the division 2 league(!) against weaker teams - before falling short in the div 2 final - meant that this current Tyrone team amounted to anything. Tyrone, like Down before them in the 60s, had a superb team for a few years - 03 - 08. That was all. We don't do consistency or long term like Kerry. That good Tyrone team is long gone. True, Kerry never could beat that good Tyrone team in that period; but the harsh truth for Tyrone is that we haven't mastered the art of transitioning and year in, year out competitiveness the way Kerry has. I'm baffled at seeing the outpouring of Kerry emotion at beating a team that every other decent team has been beating out the gate for the last 4 years! Had we really rattled ye that much? With all your history of success? Frankly, beating Tyrone in 2012 is not an achievement. For a county like Kerry that prides itself, not just on winning, but on winning competitive games against top class opposition, crowing about beating a team of untested newbies and has-beens who collectively have been second rate for four years now is very odd. I don't recall Dublin losing the run of themselves when they hammered us last year. This 2012 Tyrone team is not just a poor Tyrone side, it's a poor side, period. Whether or not it'll become a good side in a year or so is a big question, but right now, this is not a good team. Most top teams, including Kerry, now defend in numbers far, far better than Tyrone do. For the last 4 years, for no reason I can fathom, Tyrone has reverted to naive 1970s style man-to-man 'defending'; and their workrate, especially in attack, is very poor. Tyrone were poor against a shockingly bad (wild kicks to the corner flag anyone?) and gutless Roscommon team the previous week and only looked good because Roscommon capitulated completely early in the second half of that game and made Tyrone look good. Talk by John O'Keeffe in the papers about Tyrone being the "form team" on the basis of beating Roscommon(!) was daft - I hope it was nothing more than pre-match gamesmanship, because if he really believed that, he's not the judge of football I thought he was. This lack of intensity has afflicted Tyrone for the last 4 years; what you saw against Kerry this weekend is no different from the fiasco you saw against Dublin in 2011 and against Dublin in 2010.
essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/07/2012 18:16:54
True, Kerry's task was made even simpler today by Coldrick's nasty little one-eyed display - see the comments by some perceptive Cork lads on the PRC site, e.g.: "Tyrone lad off for a slap in the back. Kerry lad booked for elbow smash to the face. Coldrick is a poor ref" "The diving / headholding ] etc by Kerry was shocking." "In the 1st half when the game was in the melting pot Coldrick gave soft frees to Kerry and ignored a couple frees from Tyrone that would have keep them in it. Same for us down the park he gave soft frees to Kerry. I hope when/if we play kerry we don't get that smiling Coldrick" "Poor Paul is nearly in tears, the great men in the Kerry dressing room raised their game to beat a mediocre division 2 team" http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4371213 Made no real difference though - even with a fair ref, we'd still have lost. Tyrone have been bad for several years now; and then, add in our best forward off on the day, our best midfielder out for the season, and the bizarre ill luck of Tyrone's two main new 2012 hopes in attack, R O'Neill and K Coney both being hit with season-long injuries - and you have to wonder how the result wasn't worse than it was. Of course, the malaise in this Tyrone team runs deeper. Even with those guys in place, the naïve "defending" and the "one man at a time" attacking style and the overall lack of intensity and workrate would still have been a fundamental problem. In that context, I was amazed at how a poor and injury-hit scratch team like Tyrone were being talked up as credible "opposition" for an experienced Kerry team that had Dublin on the run for most of last year's final - the same Dublin that now stroll past Tyrone every time they meet us. Kerry beat nothing this weekend; but, oddly enough, since they have been itching to put one over on Tyrone for the last few years, this result, meaningless as it is when viewed objectively, will have cheered up Kerry so much that you might see Kerry give the rest of the championship a real go from here on in. All the Pat Spillane inspired talk about Kerry being finished was just the usual Pat wild talk designed to motivate Kerry (as was the Tyrone-hating Brolly's columns, full of sly digs at Kerry; he knows well what he's doing by providing all these motivational sound bites for the Kerry dressing room). Kerry have often never looked great against crap teams early on; as the old Kerry saying has it, there's no football played before August/September. Knowing that, getting into a flap about Kerry looking jaded early on always struck me as nonsense / cute hoorism. Kerry should have won Sam last year; they've still the same team, and they don't go bad overnight. They're just moving up through the gears as usual; and the game against Tyrone only revealed that they are just about where you'd expect - about as far ahead of Tyrone as Dublin and Cork are. Nothing more, nothing less - just what an objective analysis of Kerry's form and Tyrone's form over the last 4 years would tell you. I'm sure Kerry would have loved to have met a decent Tyrone team this weekend; and it's no credit to Tyrone that we sent out a team as limited as that. But for heaven's sake, unless you want to reveal yourself as an idiot who knows FA about football, stop kidding yourself that beating Tyrone in 2012 amounts to a hill of beans. In 2009, in 2010, in 2011, in 2012, the fact has been and remains that if you can't beat Tyrone handy enough, you've no business being in the race for Sam.
essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 22/07/2012 18:17:40
Best of luck Kerry, absolutely no question who was the dominant team out there yesterday. From my own point of view I was extremely disappointed by my own county, both in their attitude and discipline, we are a lot better than the scoreline suggests but the truth is, even if this had been played in Omagh I still think Kerry would have won. I cant be too dispondant mind you, we are still in a good place to move forward and this year was only ever about developing further as a team, that we have done and with yet anther Ulster minor title under our belt today, we can only get better.
We can only get better if the lessons are learned sadly im not convinced that those lessons are being learned. I have said it here repeatedly C Cavanagh is not a county midfielder and unless the management have been watching different games from me this year i cannot understand why he continues to hold a midfield slot. another player who has been a very big disappointment is peter harte he seems to be able to do it in the league but when the big boys come out to play is found wanting that may be harsh but he has had a very poor championship for Tyrone this year. I know he is young but he has a lot to do to convince me he is the real deal. its great to win another Ulster Minor Title and hopefully they can go on an compete strongly for an all ireland. I was veruy disappointed in the performance overall yesterday and i belive we need to unearth some natural scoring forwards before we can really begin to compete at the very top level again
rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 22/07/2012 18:20:55
legendzxix County: Kerry Posts: 2163
1224950 4 All-Ireland's from 7 championships between '03 and '09. Where were Tyrone when it mattered in those 4 years?
Very simple,in those years we weren't good enough.
orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 22/07/2012 18:22:57
I really have to feel for Mickey Harte, truly is an amazing man.
Tyrone were missing 5 Def Starters in my eyes correct J McMahon No3, K Coney No 13, S o Neill Fully fit No 14, R McNabb No 10, T Mcguigan at 12 and S Cavanagh No 9. No team could cope with these class players.
One player who i felt left his teammate down was R Mac, he reminded me of a Junior B player who was past his best. I feel that Brian Mcguigan didnt deserve to be sent off. Tyrone will be a great team in the coming years.
kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/07/2012 18:34:21
I suspect that a lot of the Kerry joy had to do with what the ctitics, internal & external said about them as a group and of course getting the better of Gormley & Ricey (and possibly one or two others) who would not be liked by Kerry players ( finger in the eye etc).
Kerry should beat Clare and make life awkward for someone in Quarters but that's probably their limit but then we thought we had them in '69 when they were not at their best but they found a way to win so while I think the Quarters are their limit they are quite capable of proving me very wrong
KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 22/07/2012 18:41:56
Kelf if we get to the qf we will do better than Kildare as yer race for Sam will end when Sligo take care of ye
wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 22/07/2012 19:07:14