Kerry v Tyrone

I don't think the ref will have much bearing on the game tomorrow. Contrary to other I expect a good open game of football. I think a lot will depend on Kerry's defensive match-ups; particularly who follows Penrose. Kerry should have the advantage at midfield but, I don't think there will be too much clean catching going on. It will be interesting to see how peter harte does. I seen a fair bit of him in the league. Thought he look outstanding at centre back but seems a bit unsettled in the forwards.

aido_d (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 20/07/2012 12:57:03    1223439

i cant see kerry losing this game,not in killarney and not in front of 25 thousand plus kerry supporters,home advantage is a huge factor,people are very fast to write off kerry every time they have a run of a couple of bad games,come tomorrow evening kerry will have once again proved critics wrong.kerry out of the championship on the 21th of july in a 3rd round qualifier in killarney,NEVER GOING TO HAPPEN! doesnt matter who they are playing tomorrow,cork are meant to be the best team in the country and they cant beat us there,kerry have not been beaten in killarney in championship since 1995 and cork are the only team ever to beat us there,

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 20/07/2012 12:59:55    1223442

DLGael

Tyrone Kerry is the big match of the weekend, the Donegal Down game is completely secondary to Saturdays match in Kilarney. No one wants to sit through another Donegal muck show mate, accept it.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 20/07/2012 13:01:57    1223445

David Coldrick has been named as referee for game on Saturday. He has refereed the last two matches (from last four games) Tyrone played and Tyrone lost both of them. He gave "handy frees" in the shooting area to both oppositions but fouls in Tyrone attack ignored. These 2-3 significant decisions essentially altered these games - we didnt complain at the time but I feel this issue should be raised in advance. Why was this referee appointed to this game? Is if not unusual for a referee to be appointed to a county so frequently (three times in the last five matches is excessive). I feel Tyrone will not get fairplay and Gooch et all will be "diving" there way to victory. I was really looking forward to this game until I heard who the referee was - now i feel we are up against it. comments please.

Key Question: Why is David Colderick refereeing this match? - give me a coherent answer - anybody from the referee appointments committee on this forum - please respond.

gaafanfairplay (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 20/07/2012 13:05:02    1223448

Please cease this ignorant bickering by some of ye on both sides. Bringing up the past political scene in reference to a football match is ludicrous and don't hide and say it is all in craic,.I hope I am not sitting next to any of these clowns in Killarney tomorrow. We are going to be there for the football and a bit of sporting banter. Ye with other agendas should stay away. Obviously you would not know football too well if all your concern is pointing fingers and being sarcastic to each other. You insult us all, stay away, leave the football to the football supporters.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 20/07/2012 13:15:30    1223459

I don't like blaming referees , if we lose then its because wee didn't score enough on the day, if the Ref has a poor game then he has to answer to his boss, hopefully we play to our full potential and not rely on the awarding of frees Tir Eoghain abu!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 20/07/2012 13:30:27    1223472

Superglue

And it was all going rather well :(

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2012 13:33:39    1223478

Some good news to boost the Red Hand challange, RTE are backing Kerry to win, in the same way they backed Roscommon to put an 'ageing' Tyrone to the sword last Saturday, thank you RTE.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2012 14:19:16    1223537

RTE have to be seen to support the natives , I wonder if wee Ian McRea Will be taking to twitter again this weekend as his beloved Donegal are back in the final and Tyrone are also playing ?.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 20/07/2012 14:37:15    1223564

I love how RTE write off an 'ageing' Tyrone team against Roscommon but back an ancient Kerry team against Tyrone.

7 of the outfield players that started for Kerry v Westmeath also started the 2005 AI final v Tyrone + Darran O'Sullivan and Brian Sheehan came on as subs that day. I find that quite incredible that 7 years later 9/14 outfield players are still heavily involved.

Tyrone, the fresher team to win this by 2-4 points

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 20/07/2012 15:10:47    1223606

brendtheredhand

Some good news to boost the Red Hand challange, RTE are backing Kerry to win, in the same way they backed Roscommon to put an 'ageing' Tyrone to the sword last Saturday, thank you RTE.

It's funny how the media changes it's view sometimes. Lat week Tyrone were "ageing" but this week the "younger" Tyrone will beat the "ageing" Kerry.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/07/2012 15:23:24    1223625

But if you look at they Kerry team the age is in the backs really. O'Mahony and Marc O Sé are 32. Enright in the corner is about 24 I think.
Killian young in the half backline is 27, Brosnan is 33 and Tomás O Sé is 34.

Sheehan and Maher are about 27.

Donnachadha Walsh is 27, Declan O Sullivan is 29, Galvin is 32

Cooper is 29, Donaghy is 29 and James O'Donoghue is 22/23

On the Bench (Those likely to get a run)
Darran O Sullivan is 26/27
Scanlon is 32
Buckley is mid 20's
Barry John Keane is 24
Kieran O'Leary is 26
Brian McGuire is mid 20's

Its really only the backs that are bringing up the average age.

aido_d (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 20/07/2012 15:31:04    1223636

Have to agree I read the RtE article when in Spain by James McMahon (I think) about his prediction for the Tyrone/R'common match and thought there's a guy that's gonna end up with egg on his face. I genuinely believe it was a case of wishful thinking clouding his judgement, and if im correct that's some seriouly poor journalism.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 20/07/2012 15:34:07    1223638

Having read all the posts on this thread, particularly that mature, sophisticated debate on page 14, I think I want An Clár to beat whoever wins ;)

That said, any Kerryman who believes a victory would be some sort of closure or vengeance would be sadly deluded. This is a different Tír Eoghain, but the one thing they have in common with the AI winning teams is their utterly rotten luck with injuries. And that's chicken feed compared to the dark shadow from the Indian Sea under which they labour.

I still fancy the O Neill boys to nip us again. Which means it'll be back to the curtains closed, the Haagen Daz, the box of Kleenex, and Mikey Sheehy's 1986 goal on a continuous loop. No matter though- those of us with long enough memories know a victory over An Dún- in the championship proper- would be the ultimate ambition of any fíorChiarraíoch.

I hope my fellow countymen don't ate me without salt for tipping them, like that poor lad a few pages back who thought we'd win. I'm still 100% up for the Kingdom, remember it's only an attempt at a dispassionate opinion.

Is ait an dream iad an lucht Ultach, áfach. Bar that lad, every single poster from the province has tipped Tír Eoghain. The comfortable majority on this thread, however, are certainly choosing them, so whatever about the bookies, they're certainly favourites on Hogan Stand.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 20/07/2012 15:54:40    1223669

lostintime what a sanctimonious diatribe,we're obviously a touchy feely sort of guy or girl,where are you from anyway,i'm amused when people put down another country after their poster name,what's wrong are you embarrassed where your from?

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 20/07/2012 16:10:06    1223685

re mournearmy, enjoy lad.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UQ8PFkqQXc&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PL3BA01348ACFBD188

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 16:24:05    1223693

lostintime what a sanctimonious diatribe,we're obviously a touchy feely sort of guy or girl,where are you from anyway,i'm amused when people put down another country after their poster name,what's wrong are you embarrassed where your from?
mcollins

Jaysus mcollins, we agree on something! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 16:37:55    1223709

TheGateKeeper, think MourneArmy might enjoy this one slightly more ;) http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=GB#/watch?v=8J55_OkxtIU

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 20/07/2012 16:58:47    1223726

Gatekeeper you might be surprised what we might agree on, Gaels in arms and all that.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 20/07/2012 17:05:14    1223733

I think that if Kerry win, that it will not satisfy the vengeful beast, Kerry will only be happy when they beat the red hands in a semi or final (this is a qualifier) and continue to exert dominance over them for a few years or so. Until then, they can't really afford to lose to Tyrone, so a lot riding on this. Otherwise the match is 50/50, lets see where the breaks go!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 20/07/2012 17:25:17    1223748