Kerry v Tyrone

David Coldrick has been named as referee for game on Saturday. He has refereed the last two matches (from last four games) Tyrone played and Tyrone lost both of them. He gave "handy frees" in the shooting area to both oppositions but fouls in Tyrone attack ignored. These 2-3 significant decisions essentially altered these games - we didnt complain at the time but I feel this issue should be raised in advance. Why was this referee appointed to this game? Is if not unusual for a referee to be appointed to a county so frequently (three times in the last five matches is excessive). I feel Tyrone will not get fairplay and Gooch et all will be "diving" there way to victory. I was really looking forward to this game until I heard who the referee was - now i feel we are up against it. comments please.

gaafanfairplay (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 20/07/2012 11:35:36    1223324

Fair enough, its a good question, but there is no evidence to back this accusation,
all you are going on is Cooper holding his head and Ger Canning stating that! The
lad could have hurt himself in any number of ways, which is my point! No evidence, no case!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 11:41:35    1223341

Gaafanfairplay, paranoia is really a congenital defect of yere lot,get in the excuses early i suppose.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 20/07/2012 11:43:24    1223344

Coldrick eh, as if the odds weren't stacked against us enough.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2012 11:45:26    1223346

gaafanfairplay,I would agree that Coldrick shouldn't be the referee, because of your varying points, but who
else would you have do it? Coldrick is the best of a bad bunch, Martin Sludden would have been my first choice
ref for this encounter! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 11:47:05    1223351

haha nice on lads get the retaliation in first " blame the ref "

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 20/07/2012 11:49:07    1223357

Its a pity we Mc Enaney couldnt do it! Now that is a ref, no messin!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 11:49:59    1223360

gaafanfairplay

Maybe the Gooch should watch this and learn how its done from Pete the cheat ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwmErywscOc

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/07/2012 11:52:23    1223365

David Coldrick had no influence on Tyrone's two defeats this year. If you're using that as an excuse you're just papering over the cracks lads!

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 20/07/2012 11:54:41    1223369

MourneArmy
County: Down

gaafanfairplay

Maybe the Gooch should watch this and learn how its done from Pete the cheat ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwmErywscOc

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2012 11:55:27    1223371

Yere lot!! Have a readback over 'some' of your fellows comments there micollins!
It appears that the gloves are coming off today after all the niceties during the week!
If paranoia is a congenital defect of 'our lot', it is a result of the persecution 'our lot'
suffered under 'orange' hands after your name sake Michael Collins sold us out!
Is it possible that the reason 'some' of your lot are such whingers is because they
were hidden away safely in tir na nog, not realising how good they had it, whinging
and snivelling because they couldn't have more! ;)
Tir eoghain abu

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 12:04:40    1223384

Good Man mlcollins. Similarly diving and protesting to the referee is congenital defect of yere lot, Re Gooch and Donaghy (always seen with arms out wide in disbelief when approaching the referee!). My problem is that this "tactic" will play into the hands of this referee and Kerry will get frees. My prediction is that Kerry will get 5-6 points from frees in very shootable positions! Tyrone will get their share of frees but out field (to balance out the stats). Yes Gatekeeper I agree but surely there must more than one "top flight" referee in Ireland.

gaafanfairplay (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 20/07/2012 12:12:43    1223394

Anyone got a live stream link for this game tomorrow? Living abroad.

fupball (Tyrone) - Posts: 48 - 20/07/2012 12:13:26    1223396

The paranoia and bitterness is seeping out of you and yours boyo and regarding the great one, ml. collins if you had an objective comprehension of your history,it was Dev who set up our finest icon of the time but then again thick ignorance is bliss,something thats still replicated to this day by YERE LOT. Ciarrai abu.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 20/07/2012 12:13:56    1223397

Yes the refferee certainly plays into Kerry's hands. It's good though that Sheehan will likely bottle it against Tyrone as he always has done.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 20/07/2012 12:29:07    1223412

And it was all going rather well :(

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/07/2012 12:31:08    1223418

HokeyPokey

Yes the refferee certainly plays into Kerry's hands. It's good though that Sheehan will likely bottle it against Tyrone as he always has done.

Sheehan has only played against Tyrone once in Championship football. Granted, he did miss an important 45 in the 08 Final but to say he's a bottler is a bit extreme to say the least.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/07/2012 12:36:50    1223426

Hehe. Now we're getting to the krups of the matter.
Moving back from the brink to the matter at hand, there are 2 provincial finals on this week.
Not extraordinary to imagine that the countries better refs would be otherwise employed rather than give you a ref of choice for "the big game" of the weekend.
Finally, Coldrick ref'd the Donegal game. I didn't see too many soft frees for Donegal in scoring positions. Murphy got hit for a free close in. TV angles didn't show him being caught in the face because the lack of tv cameras at games this year is a real pity. Tyrone, Kerry, Dublin, Donegal and most of the teams in the country play every trick in the book to gain an advantage. Seems a bit rich to be bitching and moaning here about Kerry diving when you've won your share of soft ones in the recent past yourself.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 20/07/2012 12:43:43    1223431

brendtheredhand

Haha!

At least we're guaranteed to be playing football after this weekend.

Could be an early exit for 'your lot'.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/07/2012 12:50:44    1223436

Kerry or Tyrone

Out in July...Out in July...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/07/2012 12:52:21    1223438