Dublin v Meath

I do feel it is forum worthy, never said I didn't. I do think it's interesting that they said that. Same as I think it's interesting that Brolly called the Gooch a choker. Doesn't mean I agree with it though. Jeez ye lads are sensitive. Don't know how ye would cope with all the rubbish that's been written about Kildare this year if ye throw your dummys out of the pram over this.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/07/2012 11:29:10    1227126

The conspiracy theories are unreal! Its pure bitterness and where it comes from I don't know! The majority of Dublin fans I would think have always looked at kerry winning all-irelands consistently for the last 2 decades when we have been starved with great admiration for them! Dublin haven't achieved anything like that level of success and the begrudgers and conspiracy theorists can't take a day off! What will they be like if we win 2 in a row??

BEautiful Meath,

With regard to being in 2nd or 3rd gear I think if you look at the game on Sunday and look at fluidity of the play for some of the Dublin scores it was super stuff! The problem being we only produced that in patches of the game, when we did get it right we made Meath look very ordinary and ripped them apart! We done the same last year until we reached the qf against tyrone where we were able to step up the intensity for the full 70 mins and produce a much more complete performance for the 70 minutes. If and it is an if Dublin can do that again this year we have another few gears to get through! Dublin Died out of the game in the last 15 mins and apart from that it would have been a 10 point game was that fitness or all the changes we made who knows but I think/hope that it is due to the fact that Dublin are timing there run for peaking in september!
I know Meath football fans are hungry for success but you seem to be taking too much from a defeat in my opinion. The great young players you talked about all vanished against Dublin apart from Keoghan who was excellent. I'm not saying that Carroll and Forde can't be good players for meath going forward but if they came up short in that test. Being whipped off so early will surely have a big impact on there confidence. Banty seems to have a lack of trust in the younger players as he has done the same with lenehan twice now i think. I think he needs to back them more and give them the time to develop. Resorting back to the same old heads won't win Meath anything as they are simply over rated!
The players hailed as greats in the Meath were totally ineffective and continue to be hailed as superstars! Quite how Joe Sheridan is held in such high regard is beyond me! I don't believe he would make the Dublin squad at the minute never mind be hailed as a hero throughout the county! Meath football has fallen to the levels its currently at by persisting with players that have been constantly overrated in the county who have huge profiles but have proved nothing but inconsistent.

Meath should get by Laois this wknd but it is by no means a foregone conclusion!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/07/2012 11:37:14    1227137

ClondalkinDub.........
Here we go again........we're on the road again.............

Some craic :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/07/2012 11:52:55    1227162

"With their goal, I think Rory O'Carroll blocked Stephen in the nets and he couldn't get a good look at it - but Meath shouldn't have got that opportunity in the first place.'' Paul Flynn.

Oh right that makes sense that's why Jamie Queeney buried it in the back of the net. Fluke.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/07/2012 17:45:41    1227815

pigonastick

The conspiracy theories are unreal! Its pure bitterness and where it comes from I don't know! The majority of Dublin fans I would think have always looked at kerry winning all-irelands consistently for the last 2 decades when we have been starved with great admiration for them! Dublin haven't achieved anything like that level of success and the begrudgers and conspiracy theorists can't take a day off! What will they be like if we win 2 in a row??

BEautiful Meath,

With regard to being in 2nd or 3rd gear I think if you look at the game on Sunday and look at fluidity of the play for some of the Dublin scores it was super stuff! The problem being we only produced that in patches of the game, when we did get it right we made Meath look very ordinary and ripped them apart! We done the same last year until we reached the qf against tyrone where we were able to step up the intensity for the full 70 mins and produce a much more complete performance for the 70 minutes. If and it is an if Dublin can do that again this year we have another few gears to get through! Dublin Died out of the game in the last 15 mins and apart from that it would have been a 10 point game was that fitness or all the changes we made who knows but I think/hope that it is due to the fact that Dublin are timing there run for peaking in september!
I know Meath football fans are hungry for success but you seem to be taking too much from a defeat in my opinion. The great young players you talked about all vanished against Dublin apart from Keoghan who was excellent. I'm not saying that Carroll and Forde can't be good players for meath going forward but if they came up short in that test. Being whipped off so early will surely have a big impact on there confidence. Banty seems to have a lack of trust in the younger players as he has done the same with lenehan twice now i think. I think he needs to back them more and give them the time to develop. Resorting back to the same old heads won't win Meath anything as they are simply over rated!
The players hailed as greats in the Meath were totally ineffective and continue to be hailed as superstars! Quite how Joe Sheridan is held in such high regard is beyond me! I don't believe he would make the Dublin squad at the minute never mind be hailed as a hero throughout the county! Meath football has fallen to the levels its currently at by persisting with players that have been constantly overrated in the county who have huge profiles but have proved nothing but inconsistent.

Meath should get by Laois this wknd but it is by no means a foregone conclusion!

Ok I will take that and I respect your opinion I am not looking for a fight. I take your points on board and believe many of them may be correct. I just dont believe we took too much from the defeat we have to or we will crumble. No matter how bad you say Dublin played pundits were predicting a wicklow win before our championship began so for that reason bad play or whatever you call it we came within 3 points of the all ireland champions in a Leinster final because we had a bit of fight in us and I believed most people would see that after all the things said about Meath but obviously not. I for one can say I am very proud of them because I havent seen that bit of fight in a Meath team in many years so so be it many of us take a positive look at that game if we didnt we would be going nowhere fast. I also dont believe banty has no faith in the young lads. Some of them are still inexperienced and learning some did just not adjust to the style of Dublin. Does gilroy not believe in Mcmenamin because D.Keog roasted him? I dont think it works like that at all.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 24/07/2012 18:00:14    1227842

pigonastick

1226890 Dubbydave,

Cullen went out of his way in my opinion to make a statement that dublin didn't care about the leinster title. They should be thinking of winning all ireland that's fair enough but there was need for the celebratations to be so muted!

I am very optimistic about our chance of winning sam but do you just take leinster titles for granted & be presumptuous about winning sam??? I think you are forgetting how long it took us to win our last all ireland even tho we won numerous leinsters!

I believe we are in the exact same position as last year and its all about kicking on & putting in more complete performances against the bigger teams...there are no guarantees tho!

i think their is mixed emotions when it comes to what happened sunday some will say they snubbed the leinster while some including myself think it was a clever move by cullen and co.,as for in the same place how are we ??? how can can we be???,last year questions were asked were are dublin can we compete with the big teams and not only did we answer them but silenced our critics too,we proved last year we can stand tall with the big teams now its 3 games and its all over we have the players on the pitch and if it doenst work we have the lads on the bench to replace and try plan b great plus if you ask me so plenty of options imo without sounding cocky i think we can retain sam with alot of hard work and who ever we may get dont forget they have to come up against a new dublin the hardest full back line in the country to break down a team thats ready and the best at counter attacking.

p.s. please dont think this is a cocky statement its not in my nature to be cocky..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 24/07/2012 18:16:13    1227863

So what happened the 6 best forwards in the country at the weekend Royaldunne?

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 24/07/2012 18:22:05    1227876

Well lillywhitemagic/conleth. Ill tell you since you either didn't watch the leinster final that you were not in or don't no much about football.
Brian farrell, got 7 points so that's a correct for him, joe sherridan was required at midfield and played a stormer there tick in that box too,( its great to have such versatile players), stepehn bray, was carrying a injury and wasn't match fit, jamie queeney got a magnificent goal another tick in that box, graham reilly scored 3 from play and made plenty of others even if below his normally extreme high standards so another tick and only enhanced his all star claims. If only he was going out with some one with connections in kildare ehh lillwhite/conleth ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2012 18:51:28    1227922

DubbyDave,

You have to kick on and beat the big teams every year! We had the right attitude nad game plan to get over the line last year but you start from scratch again this year! We are in the same place....a quarter final with all the big tests ahead of us! I am confident we have the ability much the same as last year! But why would you be anymore confident then last year! We scraped by donegal last year and they certainly look tohave kicked on to another level this year. Cork slipped up last year and will be more keen to get over the line this year....its about hunger and attitude and these teams are going to want to sam aaway from dublin and on any given day I would think Cork, Kerry & Donegal could beat Dublin and likewise we could beat them so there are no guarantees when you get to business end of the championship. I think the mentality of knowing you can beat the big teams is cancelled out by the hunger and desire of the chasing pack to knock you off the top!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/07/2012 19:15:41    1227954

pigonastick

1227954 DubbyDave,

You have to kick on and beat the big teams every year! We had the right attitude nad game plan to get over the line last year but you start from scratch again this year! We are in the same place....a quarter final with all the big tests ahead of us! I am confident we have the ability much the same as last year! But why would you be anymore confident then last year! We scraped by donegal last year and they certainly look tohave kicked on to another level this year. Cork slipped up last year and will be more keen to get over the line this year....its about hunger and attitude and these teams are going to want to sam aaway from dublin and on any given day I would think Cork, Kerry & Donegal could beat Dublin and likewise we could beat them so there are no guarantees when you get to business end of the championship. I think the mentality of knowing you can beat the big teams is cancelled out by the hunger and desire of the chasing pack to knock you off the top!

fair enough thing i will say though imo honestly i think the donegal match last year will stand us well if we do meet again,last year we did scrape by but lets be honest here donegal are tough outfit to break down many teams find it very difficult to do and going a man connolly of all people you would have said its lights out for dublin down but they dug deep waited for there opportunities and took them well broke down donegal slowly scraped by but tactically scraped by ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 24/07/2012 21:45:36    1228156

As a neutral I have always loved when these two have clashed. There are many Dubs and Royals that live in the Wee County. Fair play to the Royal supporters who I met on Sunday. They took their beating well and the banter was great. This is what the Gaa is all about and long may it last.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/07/2012 09:19:10    1228228

Beautiful.Meath

"With their goal, I think Rory O'Carroll blocked Stephen in the nets and he couldn't get a good look at it - but Meath shouldn't have got that opportunity in the first place.'' Paul Flynn.

Oh right that makes sense that's why Jamie Queeney buried it in the back of the net. Fluke.

o carroll did make a bad mistake by standing off queeney and moving back in front of cluxton blocking him altogether watch the replay

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2012 17:24:05    1228950

Yeah I agree Rory was bad for the goal but in fairness to The Roc he never gave big joe a kick.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/07/2012 17:28:00    1228957

yeah he had good game alright but defo was at fault for the goal
cluxton reaction tells it all haha id say e felt like hitting him

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2012 17:32:37    1228963

congrats clondalkin, dave, jimbo, wayno and the rest of the dublin posters on here

Only just saw this. Thanks very much BR

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 26/07/2012 12:33:38    1229425

I left croker with my head held high because people expected nothing from us

Nothings changed , No-one expects anything from you's

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 26/07/2012 12:34:39    1229428

Meath people need to cop on they were a country mile behind us and we never got out of 3rd gear. You should be very worried about this Saturday's game cause yous are an average team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2012 12:50:56    1229444

Have to say Dublin were there for the taking on Sunday. If Meath had their shooting boots on (the ones they had on against us) they probably would of won this game by a few points.

Anyway, now Meath face a difficult task of beating Laois 6 days after losing a Leinster final. I'm not sure if they can do this....

suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 26/07/2012 12:57:43    1229451

suncroft_abu

Have to say Dublin were there for the taking on Sunday. If Meath had their shooting boots on (the ones they had on against us) they probably would of won this game by a few points.

Anyway, now Meath face a difficult task of beating Laois 6 days after losing a Leinster final. I'm not sure if they can do this....

Don't know what match you were watching but it certainly wasn't the Leinster final. Meath were lucky to escape with a three point defeat. If Alan Brogan hadn't have gone off early it would have been a massacre .

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 26/07/2012 13:04:22    1229462

hill16no1man

1228950 Beautiful.Meath

o carroll did make a bad mistake by standing off queeney and moving back in front of cluxton blocking him altogether watch the replay

Ah lads come on. Are ye seriously that petty that ye are trying to now devalue the Meath goal to an extend. Oh well ye only scored it cos our keepers view was blocked?
If thats the case ye only got yer first goal beacuse our midfielder misplaced a pass straight to your player.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 26/07/2012 13:12:45    1229476