doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 2179
1226808 Anybody see the Wexford players giving out on Twitter about how the ball boys in Croke Park always roll out every ball to Cluxton straight away whereas the Meath keeper wasn't able to get them with the same speed. Apparently the Wexford keeper had a similar complaint after the semi-final. http://twitter.com/ReddBarry/status/227061694860521473
I remember reading something about Dublin's kickouts being on avaerage 6 seconds after the ball went out of play which is a very effective tactic for them. Whatever the truth of that is it's definitely another point of discussion which should be mentioned when the 'Dublin playing all their games at Croke Park' argument comes up again. _________________
very interesting, if the dublin goalkeeper is getting a ball quicker than other keepers then the GAA need to look at this.
who are these ball boys ?.
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/07/2012 21:42:19
Beautiful.Meath County: Meath Posts: 365
1226859 Well done yesterday to all the Dublin posters! Best team won yesterday and we were disappointed but sure look where we were a few weeks ago before the wicklow game everyone was tipping wicklow and then we reach a Leinster final against the all ireland champions and loose by 3 points. I can genuinely say I left croker with my head held high because people expected nothing from us and I really think we have something to work with with this bunch of lads! I had a great laugh with all the Dublin fans and enjoyed the banter. One thing that gets me big time on this however is the rambling on about 2nd gear and 3rd gear and Dublin not getting out of these gears. Whats it about lads, Im hearing the sentence 'oh we didnt play to our full potential' When are Dublin planning on playing to their full potential? Its not just something you can switch on and off when you want a cruise through the so called gears. Can meath fans say they didnt play to their potential because they didnt play as well against Dublin as they did against Kildare? Where is the line drawn here with excuses and teams thinking they are just head and shoulders above the rest? I am not trying to disrespect anyone but these terms I dont undertand. Teams have their off days I know but Dublin were poor against wexford and probably not great against Meath so what are you comparing form to? The all Ireland final last year against Kerry?
Whats it about lads, Im hearing the sentence 'oh we didnt play to our full potential' When are Dublin planning on playing to their full potential
saving our best for last,the dubs is going to peak at the right time are we allowed to peak ?????
dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 23/07/2012 21:47:24
Dubbydave,
Cullen went out of his way in my opinion to make a statement that dublin didn't care about the leinster title. They should be thinking of winning all ireland that's fair enough but there was need for the celebratations to be so muted!
I am very optimistic about our chance of winning sam but do you just take leinster titles for granted & be presumptuous about winning sam??? I think you are forgetting how long it took us to win our last all ireland even tho we won numerous leinsters!
I believe we are in the exact same position as last year and its all about kicking on & putting in more complete performances against the bigger teams...there are no guarantees tho!
pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 23/07/2012 21:53:16
Beautiful.Meath County: Meath Posts: 365
1226859 Well done yesterday to all the Dublin posters! Best team won yesterday and we were disappointed but sure look where we were a few weeks ago before the wicklow game everyone was tipping wicklow and then we reach a Leinster final against the all ireland champions and loose by 3 points. I can genuinely say I left croker with my head held high because people expected nothing from us and I really think we have something to work with with this bunch of lads! I had a great laugh with all the Dublin fans and enjoyed the banter. One thing that gets me big time on this however is the rambling on about 2nd gear and 3rd gear and Dublin not getting out of these gears. Whats it about lads, Im hearing the sentence 'oh we didnt play to our full potential' When are Dublin planning on playing to their full potential? Its not just something you can switch on and off when you want a cruise through the so called gears. Can meath fans say they didnt play to their potential because they didnt play as well against Dublin as they did against Kildare? Where is the line drawn here with excuses and teams thinking they are just head and shoulders above the rest? I am not trying to disrespect anyone but these terms I dont undertand. Teams have their off days I know but Dublin were poor against wexford and probably not great against Meath so what are you comparing form to? The all Ireland final last year against Kerry?
meath supporters do it all the time when their team is run close or beaten by someone they think they are head and shoulders above.......meath supporters still compare there teams to the teams that played 20 years ago............they believe their county are all-ireland contenders every year when this is not the case......meath have won nothing.........yes they may have reached the final of the weakest province footballing wise but that's it................ they haven't won silverware and they will be playing football in division 3 next year.
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/07/2012 21:54:35
dubbydave. County: Dublin Posts: 2545
1226875 Beautiful.Meath County: Meath Posts: 365
Whats it about lads, Im hearing the sentence 'oh we didnt play to our full potential' When are Dublin planning on playing to their full potential
saving our best for last,the dubs is going to peak at the right time are we allowed to peak ?????
Saving your best for last really? :) thats how it works! amazing. I learn something new everyday :)
Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 23/07/2012 21:54:52
Disgraceful!! Add it to the never ending list of things to blame the dubs on!
Yes, we did shoot JR and kidnap Shergar too. Our bad!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2012 21:55:00
Ah I give up, it's the ball boys now, ah Where the hell is snuff or jimbo to comment on this??? My motm today wasn't Bernard or Cian it was the ball boy behind the goal he gave clucko quick ball all day right into his hands. Seriously lads would yous give it a rest. Doublehop I expect more from you than to bring that rubbish onto the forum.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 21:56:41
are dublin fans confident of winning sam again this year? i think donegal and kerry are going to be very hard to beat this year and cork if they get a decent quarter final draw(basically anyone but kerry) because i think with kerry coming through the back door and cork after having a big break that kerry would beat them at the quarter final stage if they were to meet.
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/07/2012 21:59:48
I do think donal keoghan deserved motm and was delighted that sunday game as good as said he did. He was outstanding. A lot of the young guys froze or nerves got to them which to be honest I don't think anyone could hold that against them. But donal rose to it, well done. in hindsight it was a mistake to start k reilly and bray, reilly was still injured and hadn't taken part in much training , bray was just not match fit, I presume when there is a chance that 2 of the 4 best players on a team are fit enough you play them, and as I said hindsight is a great thing. It will no doubt be hard on the more established players to dust themselves down and go to tullamore and try to beat a up and coming laois team. But I think banty and co can do it. I was laughing at some of the posts on this regarding what manager would be gone by end of year majority felt it would be seamus, he now looks more secure than most managers in country.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2012 08:12:26
Ah I give up, it's the ball boys now, ah Where the hell is snuff or jimbo to comment on this??? My motm today wasn't Bernard or Cian it was the ball boy behind the goal he gave clucko quick ball all day right into his hands. Seriously lads would yous give it a rest. Doublehop I expect more from you than to bring that rubbish onto the forum.
In fairness I never said I agreed with it, I was just bringing attention to the fact that inter-county footballers had mentioned it. Dublin do thrive on Cluxtons quick kick-outs though, his ability to get the ball placed and kicked out before the opposition get a chance to get back into position is a huge part of Dublin's play, I don't think that can be argued. I really wouldn't have a clue how big a part if any the ballboys are or aren't playing in that though.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/07/2012 09:08:16
Clondalkin........where in Grand Central were you? we were all in there by the divide between back and front bar on the left hand side where those 2 couches are Some craic:)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/07/2012 09:12:25
Doublehop Just so you know, the ballboys last Sunday were from St Peters NS in Carlow and Scoil Mhuire in Co Limerick......... ok?
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/07/2012 09:48:49
meathalltheway County: Meath Posts: 311
1226906 are dublin fans confident of winning sam again this year? i think donegal and kerry are going to be very hard to beat this year and cork if they get a decent quarter final draw(basically anyone but kerry) because i think with kerry coming through the back door and cork after having a big break that kerry would beat them at the quarter final stage if they were to meet.
I hope we get Kerry in the quarters I think we are very evenly matched with Cork I fear Donegal
bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 24/07/2012 09:50:33
I wish Connolly would watch Cluxton. Our kick outs are far too slow.
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1723 - 24/07/2012 10:12:20
I don't think one meath man mentioned the kick outs or ball boys by dublin, its a silly argument. We did better on cluxtons kick outs than we did on our own I'd say over the 70. So what difference did it make? Same with the point thing, what difference does it make ?, it was a legit point and right decision was eventually given, the fact that the gaa are trying to hide that deegan saw it was legit on screen is the only thing that's funny. Time to move on cause if draw works out in favour, meath management should be saying beat laois and we have a one in three chance of drawing mayo, who if I am correct the winner would face dublin in semi final?( It is connaught v leinster)?. So if I was banty, eveans, giles, I'd say there is your motivation, you feel you didn't perform on the day? Well let's see if you want to put that right?
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2012 10:15:53
haha the ball boys getting blamed now its gas but fair play to the meath posters who are the ones saying its rubbish talk,some other countys just have it in for dublin full stop.anybody think the attendance was a bit dodgy on sunday only looked like the upper hogan that wasnt full and it was over half full at that also the hill was packed they must have over sold tickets as the isles were all full which for the all ireland final last year they werent
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/07/2012 10:24:57
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 3465
1226973 Doublehop Just so you know, the ballboys last Sunday were from St Peters NS in Carlow and Scoil Mhuire in Co Limerick......... ok?
Tell it to Red Barry Liam, I was just thought it was interesting that they publicly made an issue of it. Don't shoot the messenger.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/07/2012 10:36:21
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 2182
1227039 Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 3465
1226973 Doublehop Just so you know, the ballboys last Sunday were from St Peters NS in Carlow and Scoil Mhuire in Co Limerick......... ok?
Tell it to Red Barry Liam, I was just thought it was interesting that they publicly made an issue of it. Don't shoot the messenger.
doesnt surprise me coming from another wexford man before the semi final complaining about playing in croker they seem to have real mentality problems instead of concentrating on their own game
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/07/2012 10:43:38
Hill16no1man. Got to agree with you there was more than 70k I'd say at least 75k. I arrived at around 12 and the carparks were already near full. The official attendance seems to be off. Upper hogan was over half full and according to many dubs hill 16 was over sold, are they saying that another 13k would fit in upper hogan? It was 75k + easily.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2012 11:03:30
Liam to the right as you walk in the main door, doublehop you put it up so you obviously felt it was forum worthy , stand by it and stop trying to worm your way out. Hill where the nally was it wasn't packed there. Fair play to the royals no whinging or any excuses unlike them lily whites who have to be the biggest whingers in Ireland.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/07/2012 11:13:15