Dublin v Meath

Ye meathalltheway if my auntie had balls you know the rest. If if if if if if of if if if if if if if

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 11:33:13    1225631

Ziggy,

Shane Mc?
Meade?
Sheridan?
???

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 23/07/2012 11:33:55    1225633

pigonastick

Gallagher
Meade
McAnarney
Burke(but moved to wing back)

Sheridan to midfield...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2012 11:36:44    1225642

Heard a lot of people saying they are proud of the team for fighting back at the end. Its great to see that fighting spirit there.

We will be back and as I said before the game, under Boylan Meath teams lost games and were often hammered before they went on to win All Irelands. These lads are good footballers, are are well able to rattle the big teams. Get them into Croke Park next week, throw the young lads out again. These are the future the more experience they get the better.

Well done to Farlo on the frees, with all the usual booing. These people are not genuine GAA people, obviously not involved at gaa grassroots level, probably never stood in their local club before and just go to boo at the opposition as opposed to watch the game. How low can you go, booing at minors, did they actually realise these lads are only kids. There is no defence for what they do. They are an embarrassment to the GAA and the genuine Dublin fan, of which there are plenty. As Bernard Flynn said during the week, there is no place for them in GAA.
Delighted when Queeney got the goal, it shut them up for a while. This lad definitely deserves to start next week. They just have to give him a chance to show what he can do over 70 mins.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 23/07/2012 11:37:29    1225644

1225630 You have to give it to the Meath lads...

Taking the most from the loss.

_____

They are taking more from the loss than we are from the feckin win

It was all about getting a bit of silverware and into a Quarter Final

Job done... without much fuss. We didnt even play that well... just in bursts.

2nd gear and then into 3rd gear for the last 10

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/07/2012 11:37:48    1225645

Clondalkindub

I'm not been smart,but I bet my life on it that Dublin won't win the All-Ireland.Nerves got the better of some of the young Meath lads yesterday,your lads are well used to that atmosphere.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2012 11:38:45    1225647

We did enough without playing very well. Now that Leinster is over the obvious question remains, can we replicate or improve on last years level of performance? Its a big ask and i'd rather avoid Kerry in the quarters. One things is paramount though - and that's the fitness of Alan Brogan.

Congrats to the lads on another Leinster. Its obvious from the players muted response that the Delaney Cup doesn't mean much to the lads at the moment, but having followed Dublin through a famine, Leinster is a big deal to me and im delighted to continue our fantastic record of late.

In my view, we won't see Kilkenny or O'Chongaile this year bar numerous injuries. Giller had the opportunity to blood them but decided against it. Considering they are so young it probably was the correct decision in hindsight.

I also called for Kev Mc to be included today even if Connolly was fit. I got that call wrong as Kev struggled against the pace and power of his marker. Connolly is certain to start the next day, especially is we draw Kerry.

70,000 was also some turnout in what was a great occasion. And commiserations to Meath who are always magnanimous in defeat. We've a strong but healthy rivalry, the way it should be.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 23/07/2012 11:40:52    1225652

Stop talking crap, in no manner or form was that a penalty for Brogan.

That's a very persuasive argument you've compiled there. It's changed my mind. I can clearlty see now it was not a penalty.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/07/2012 11:41:03    1225654

yeah but it still looked like kerry had it won in that game anyway im accepting dublin were better, im just saying if we had had abit of luck you never know what couldve happened at the end if it was closer. there are positives to take from that game For Meath, Keoghan was fantastic. Second game in a row where the man he was marking was taken off due to being pretty much marked out of the game. The only one of our young guns who lived up to their Kildare performance. i thought queeney was very good when he came on and should start against laois. it was great to see the never say die attitude back in the team. i just hope now the lads can get their heads right for the laois game.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/07/2012 11:46:02    1225663

Ahh doublehop will ya cop on. Travesty no not one bit, our young and inexperienced team showed great heart and never say die attitude, yes dublin were the better team, and you won't hear one meath man going on about that, or ref been from hear there or where ever.
We congratulate dublin on their deserved victory. But that does not take away from the fact that we are building one hell of a serious team and one that will be around for many years to come, very proud of the lads ( all meath men) on a sterling performance, the 2 goals would have buried most teams but not this one. The only travesty of a team that lost this week was limerick by far the better team for 70 minutes and were robbed at the death. Meath on other hand are a team for the future and we are all looking forward to hopefully the many dub v meath lf in the next few years, as no team in leinster appear to be near our standards and one thing is for sure meath will only get better.
Again well done dublin and well fought meath.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2012 11:47:41    1225666

Good lord, what is the point in all the same old digs at Kildare? Grow up. This thread is about the Meath-Dublin game which is all I'm talking about.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/07/2012 12:01:55    1225696

Dublin were 7/8 pts the better team yesterday. Imo it proved that Meaths performance against Kildare was a flash in the pan. It also disproved all this nonsense talk of Reilly being the best player in Ireland. Some of his wides were woeful.

Not a word on Dubs cynicism yesterday. We got ridiculed for doing the same against Donegal last year yet nothong about Dublin. Basticks and Cahills tackles spring to mind.

Dubs wont win any AI either way.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/07/2012 12:02:35    1225698

seany16Regarding Kevin Mc. I think we were looking at a real gem marking him yesterday. Keogan will be an All star, if not this year in the future. He kept Mickey Conway and Johnny Doyle scoreless from play the last day when on them. Doyle had to be taken off, as did McMen yesterday. I said it before the game on here that he would be well able for McMenamin. For a young lad in his first year who doesn't have the conditioning of the Dublin players built up over the last few years, he has serious strength and pace. Any back in the country could learn from him. Delighted to see he got a mention on the Sunday Game last night.

Kevin Mc will still be an important player for Dublin, I guarantee you we could not come up with too many corner backs in the country who would be able to mark him the way Keogan did yesterday.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 23/07/2012 12:04:31    1225704

Seany I disagree I think we will see Kilkenny again this year. If we were chasing that game yesterday there's no way paddy Andrews Paul Brogan and Craig Dias would have been brought on. In the tight Wexford game he brought on Kilkenny

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 12:07:31    1225708

I think Bryan Cullen went out of his way to make little of winning the leinster title! It was a bit petty considering we didn't exactly set the world on fire! Leinster titles should not be taken for granted so if Cullen doesn't wasn't to lift the cup with pride & passion he should not be captain!

I know that mite seem harsh but I really thought he was disrespectful yesterday! Thee is a strong possibility that will be the only trophy lifted this summer!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 23/07/2012 12:10:07    1225715

seany16

1225652 We did enough without playing very well. Now that Leinster is over the obvious question remains, can we replicate or improve on last years level of performance? Its a big ask and i'd rather avoid Kerry in the quarters. One things is paramount though - and that's the fitness of Alan Brogan.

Congrats to the lads on another Leinster. Its obvious from the players muted response that the Delaney Cup doesn't mean much to the lads at the moment, but having followed Dublin through a famine, Leinster is a big deal to me and im delighted to continue our fantastic record of late.

In my view, we won't see Kilkenny or O'Chongaile this year bar numerous injuries. Giller had the opportunity to blood them but decided against it. Considering they are so young it probably was the correct decision in hindsight.

I also called for Kev Mc to be included today even if Connolly was fit. I got that call wrong as Kev struggled against the pace and power of his marker. Connolly is certain to start the next day, especially is we draw Kerry.

70,000 was also some turnout in what was a great occasion. And commiserations to Meath who are always magnanimous in defeat. We've a strong but healthy rivalry, the way it should be.

Good post + 1

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 23/07/2012 12:13:10    1225717

Was that the first time ever a score was given after seeing it on the big screen?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 12:29:31    1225760

Actually I think it goes to prove how good a player graham reilly is when we as meath men and not bitter kildare men can say he had a bad game while still scoring 3 from play, he had some bad wides which is not like him one bit and appeared to grimis a few times during game, I do hope its just a niggle and not return of the injury from last year, still a outstanding player and still one of the best in country. You sedico droll on about j doyle and meath took him to cleaners.
But its onto championship proper and we could have had a easier draw (kildare) as we would have hammered them again where as laois are a proper team and will put it up to us but we should prevail
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2012 12:33:18    1225771

23/07/2012 12:02:35
sedico

Dublin were 7/8 pts the better team yesterday. Imo it proved that Meaths performance against Kildare was a flash in the pan. It also disproved all this nonsense talk of Reilly being the best player in Ireland. Some of his wides were woeful.

Not a word on Dubs cynicism yesterday. We got ridiculed for doing the same against Donegal last year yet nothong about Dublin. Basticks and Cahills tackles spring to mind.

Dubs wont win any AI either way.

Really? laughable coming from a Kildare man.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 23/07/2012 12:34:26    1225776

That's sedico for you.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 12:39:38    1225786