Dublin v Meath

well done dublin,best team on the day won

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 22/07/2012 20:58:40    1225233

well done dublin, yous were the better team on the day. pity we missed a good few chances at the end, we couldve maybe got a draw.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 22/07/2012 21:01:18    1225238

Grand central is rocking

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2012 21:41:17    1225313

Saw the players coming out of the county club there looked absolutely gutted, naturally. One of the players just tweeted that 2 mins of madness may have cost them.

Lots of food for thought for the Meath management. We don't really know our best starting 15 in my opinion. Will talk about that on the Meath page.

It will be in the back of the genuine Meath fans mind that if Kevin Reilly didn't have to go off, would the outcome be different.

Well done Donal Keogan, Dublin gaa fans will agree McManamin met his match there today. He got the tackles in, never fouled, was able to disposes and for a 21 yr old in first year intercounty, second day in Croke park could match him physically. So WELL DONE DONAL.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 22/07/2012 22:00:18    1225366

I thought Meath were very poor,and some of the young lads froze,wasn't really impressed with Dublin either. Reilly going off injured was major in the game.There are 4 lads in this Meath team who get picked no matter what,and they clearly are not good enough..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2012 08:22:52    1225375

royaldunne

Banty was very positive after the match & I think ye will get over Laois next weekend. Meath did well to get back into the match in the 2nd half because it looked like Dublin were going to win by 7 or 8 at one stage. Ye showed a lot of spirit to keep going and not let the dubs run away with it.

In spells, the Dubs were very impressive and even though they didnt finish the game great, they are in very good shape going into the Q/F.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 23/07/2012 08:32:48    1225383

The game was never in doubt!.....the lads sat back on it!

Dubs never got out of third gear!!

Great position to be in....no peaking too early for just a provincial final that was always in the bag!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/07/2012 09:11:21    1225407

Suprised nobody has mentioned the fact that the ref only played 2 min injury time at the end, considering there was 6 subsitutions in the second half and numerous stopages for injurys, i thought 4 or 5 min injury time should have being played.

tailteannpark (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 23/07/2012 09:14:32    1225410

i think in both games the injury time was 2 mins each half, its a sort of standard go to time they add,
but no complaints the ref wasnt great to be honest but i feel he was equally bad to both teams, brogan had calls for a penalty in first half and biggy had one in second half so guess he seen that as evening things out, frees given that shouldnt have been and ones that were not given.
i guess its the standard of refs today when all you can hope for that he will be bad all round

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2012 09:37:43    1225445

ClassApart

Saw the players coming out of the county club there looked absolutely gutted, naturally. One of the players just tweeted that 2 mins of madness may have cost them.

Lots of food for thought for the Meath management. We don't really know our best starting 15 in my opinion. Will talk about that on the Meath page.

It will be in the back of the genuine Meath fans mind that if Kevin Reilly didn't have to go off, would the outcome be different.

Well done Donal Keogan, Dublin gaa fans will agree McManamin met his match there today. He got the tackles in, never fouled, was able to disposes and for a 21 yr old in first year intercounty, second day in Croke park could match him physically. So WELL DONE DONAL.

Same could be said if Alan Brogan hadn't have gone off really but I agree that Kmc met his match yesterday.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2012 09:58:58    1225474

leinster title number 51 in the bag and onto the all ireland quarter finals were we want to be.
as for the game i thaught dublin showed meath too much respect which they have done nothin to earn if we are being honest,dublin changed their gameplan and way of lining up to counteract meath when in truth we are the all ireland champions we should be making them worry about us.we played toodefensivly with at times in the first half having only two men in meaths half,it was strange becuase if we had of lined up as we have done all year we would have won the game by 10 points.
i thaught bastick was my man of the match he was everywhere and took his goal brialliantly.
i would imagine with connally back the next day we will go back to a more offensive gameplan but i hope alan brogan injury is not serious as we missed his play making after he went off

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/07/2012 09:59:08    1225476

hill16no1man
think it proved why they had to show meath respect it was a good move, dublin may have been last years all ire champs, but to meath that means nothing going into these games, reputations go out the window, i actually think dublin set themselves up perfectly to counter the meath attack

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2012 10:16:23    1225498

Ah Meath lads come on 3 points is not a fair reflection on that game. We were 8 ,9 , 10 points up for most of the second half complancy nearly caught us at the end but for most of the game we were comfortable. Please don't be like Donegal supporters with the the Kevin Reilly/Karl Lacey stuff sure Alan Brogan went off for us. Anyway it will take a very good team to beat us and hopefully Kerry get cork or Donegal.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 10:40:17    1225535

Best team won but fair play to Meath for never giving up.

I really rate Queeney and can't understand why he never starts, every time he comes on he causes defences a lot of trouble.

I thought the ref brought Meath back into the game in the first half when Dublin went 6-1 up ... lots of handy frees for the Royals and not giving what was a clear penalty. On one occasion he penalised a Dublin player when he was the one that was fouled and that was right under the post as well. Crazy stuff.

I just don't understand this mentality of "even-ing games up" ... you see it so many times. Dublin have benefitted from it too in the past, don't get me wrong, when we have been outplayed.

But it really makes me sick and is so frustrating.

But anyway, Meath took full advantage and you can't blame them for that. Dublin defended very poorly in the final 15 minutes, so many times they brought the ball into tackles when a simple pass was on. The subs really moved the team backwards. We were fortunate enough in the end to get out of there with the Delaney cup. But we go forward, hopefully Alan Brogan and Connolly available from now on and some of the lessons have been learned.

Good luck to the Royals vs Laois.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 23/07/2012 10:41:42    1225540

I'd agree it would have been a travesty if Meath had of salvaged a draw. Brogans penalty was a stonewaller, MD McAuley shinned his shot when he hit the post and when Dublin did their scoring and had their heads up and their mind on the game they looked by a serious distance the best team in Leinster. It was way more one-sided than the score suggests.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/07/2012 11:12:07    1225587

Royaldunne your very quiet???? Usually you have 100 posts by now. 51 in the bag royaldunne that's how we roll. Why did Meath supporters boo the ref at the end? He was hardly the reason Meath lost.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 11:21:02    1225611

fair enough dublin were the better team for most of it, but this excuse of dublin taking their foot off the gas at the end is bull.. the same could be said for kerry in the all ireland last year, so are dublin not rightly all ireland champions??? meath wanted it more in the end and if it wasnt for those two goals then we could have been closer at the end and if it had been closer i believe we would have won.
also it was a huge loss when kevin reilly went off, reilly is one of the best fullbacks and we needed him on brogan especially when brogan was on form yesterday. losing a good fullback is alot worse than when dublin lost alan brogan. they still had other players who could score, but we had lost the one man who was well capable of marking bernard brogan and everytime he has marked him hes been one of the few fullbacks in the country who can get the better of him.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 23/07/2012 11:21:56    1225615

Stop talking crap, in no manner or form was that a penalty for Brogan.

DaveW (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 23/07/2012 11:25:57    1225620

Kerry were 4 up man we were 10 up yesterday what are you you talking about?? It was a walk in the park and complancy set in it happens. We were way better Meath are average.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2012 11:30:23    1225626

You have to give it to the Meath lads...

Taking the most from the loss.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/07/2012 11:33:05    1225630