Dublin v Meath

actually clondalkin i agree with you it should be some battle if it happens, but i think you maybe right, ward was the obvious forward who would go outfield but with bray in think it will still be a two man forward line of farrell, bray and joe going out to centre with young carroll dropping back midfield so it will be one hell of a fast midfield with reilly in there too,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 13:14:01    1223457

royaldunne

1223428 well obviously the truth liam,
he is in no doubt one of the finest half forwards in the game, that is a fact, everyonr knows how good he was in 10, he had a back injury last year and he is back to his best this, so a outstanding player
but i admire brogans honesty in his assessment, so anyway heard a rumour the meath team announced may not be one starting looks like 2 changes , but how accurate this is im not too sure

i actually dont know anyone who thinks Reilly is a top class 10 to be honest RD
i really dont

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 13:26:32    1223468

Can't believe after 36 pages not one person has mention the biggest clash of the day on Sunday , THE ROC v Big Joe. Two big men will collide this Sunday and only one will be victorious. This will be some battle but as always I'll back THE ROC to come out on top. Banty could be cute and move Big Joe out to centre half forward were he would be way to big for Cian O Sullivan to deal with and could cause us serious problems with his size out there.

ive mentioned a few times about ROC and co going to give the meath forwards hell but not mentioned joe directly spot on mate its going to one hell of a clash big fan of rory's real player come into his own he is going to eat up joe on sunday ;-_)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 20/07/2012 13:28:59    1223470

well from what i can gather brogan mentioned him off his own bat, but honestly most people i speak to would rate reilly as one of the best half forwards in the country, and i think since the majority of them would be not from meath its a accurate view
but enough about one man, there is 19 others to concentrate on, as banty says its a 20 man game

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 13:39:14    1223484

so how tight was the stewards at last years ai final? was there any attempt to get on pitch?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 13:40:33    1223486

Can't see Joe being brought out the field myself. He's not mobile enough for anyone on the Dublin half back line and he's too good of a target man in the FF line! I've never seen anybody get the better of Joe in the physical stakes so I'm confident once he gets good ball he will cause all sorts of mayhem for ROC and co. Even when he's not scoring he's still setting up scores. My one worry is that he hasn't got in on the goal scoring act so far in the champo although he did score a couple in the league..

InTheLoop (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 20/07/2012 13:52:36    1223501

Just wondering what Dubs from the 91 team will get the loudest cheer when there brought out this Sunday? For me; Heery,Charlie,Barr and Curran.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2012 15:10:37    1223605

yeah i could see joe getting the better of him in the full forward line, who do people think will be marking bernard brogan, would it be kevin reilly or donal keogan? i would have said before that kevin would mark brogan, but now with mcmanamon playing well, i dnt know who he would be better marking.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/07/2012 15:17:25    1223609

Charlie and Vinny from the Dubs, John O'Leary and Curran from everyone

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 15:22:21    1223622

Got tickets for Leinster final and really lookin forward to it. Certainly looks much more appetising than the Anglo/celt. Anyways, headin down for a nights craic on Sunday. Nice to be neutral for change. Lookin forward to a cracker and then a bit of banter with the Dublin and Meath lads. Good luck to all.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 20/07/2012 15:28:49    1223631

20/07/2012 15:17:25
meathalltheway

yeah i could see joe getting the better of him in the full forward line, who do people think will be marking bernard brogan, would it be kevin reilly or donal keogan? i would have said before that kevin would mark brogan, but now with mcmanamon playing well, i dnt know who he would be better marking.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jesus yis are giving no chance to ROC. Yes Rock will more than have his hands full... but Joe wont have it all his own way, ask Michael Murphy... it will be one of the key battles of the day. But Joe will need quality quality ball going in to him if he is to be used to his full potential. While Joe is a brute of a lad ROC ain't no withering flower, I have met both of these lads in the last year and Joe has about an inch on him.

Regardless Joe is dangerous and he is actually one of the Meath forwards (along with Bray) that I would gladly take. I also think he has great character because I can remember a short time ago him getting abuse of a bad section of meath fans, and he then taking time out of the game.

Regardless as to who picks up Kev Mc, if they put Kevin Reilly on him we will win get plenty of frees, Reilly will struggle with Kevs Low centre and direct running. Anyway I think Reilly will be busy with MDMA! ;)

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/07/2012 15:34:09    1223639

Can't believe after 36 pages not one person has mention the biggest clash of the day on Sunday , THE ROC v Big Joe. Two big men will collide this Sunday and only one will be victorious. This will be some battle but as always I'll back THE ROC to come out on top. Banty could be cute and move Big Joe out to centre half forward were he would be way to big for Cian O Sullivan to deal with and could cause us serious problems with his size out there.

If Joe plays FF he can be the best player in the country. If Joe plays CHF he can be the worst player in the country. He's quick over a few yards but after that he can't last I'm afraid. I think Cian O'Sullivan is a fantastic player, twice the player Ger Brennan is. He is better player than ROC too and I'd prefer Joe marking ROC as I think he'd get more change out of him. If Joe's at CHF marking CO'S we'll have lost that battle anyway.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 20/07/2012 15:57:11    1223673

I'd say Keogan would be well able for McMenamin he has a low centre as well and is as tough as nails for a young lad, also has pace. I'd say Reilly will be on Brogan.

Is there any truth in the rumour that Kilkenny is starting FF, with McAuley in Midfield, and Fennell on the bench? Anyway at this stage I don't think it will matter who starts for Dublin, we just have to worry about our own game.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 20/07/2012 15:58:31    1223675

ClassApart

I'd say Keogan would be well able for McMenamin he has a low centre as well and is as tough as nails for a young lad, also has pace. I'd say Reilly will be on Brogan.

Is there any truth in the rumour that Kilkenny is starting FF, with McAuley in Midfield, and Fennell on the bench? Anyway at this stage I don't think it will matter who starts for Dublin, we just have to worry about our own game.

First to hear that... Kilkenny will get on at some stage I hope.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/07/2012 16:24:42    1223694

liamwalkintown
id say paul curran will get a great cheer from the meath crowd.after all he is one of us!

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 20/07/2012 16:36:10    1223706

waynoI

Thats him told! If not for your input and level head poor Graham might not even be in the starting 15!

_______

Well well well , Talk about a blast from the past ? How are you Beautiful.Meath ? Havent heard or seen you about in a while.. No doubt you will be heading to Croke park this weekend to cheer on your beloved division three side. We should meet up, I can tell you all about my day out last september, You remember that day out dont you Beautiful ? Fantastic day it was too. Full of joy and celebration. Champions..

Yours with love
Wayne

Blast from the past? little do you know I have been here all along seems to be you who went missing for a while there sir! I will admit though that I am a bit upset you havent noticed I have been around I guess I am easily forgotten. Worry not my friend I will forgive and forget this once. I think I will kindly decline your invitation to meet up to tell me your account of the Final because I do believe you made a lovely cheesy post for everyone to read about how you shed a tear at your beloved Dublin team as the swallows descended on croke park after your all ireland glory. (it was an interesting read)... honestly. And yes I will be there on Sunday as I have been with this team through thick and thin this year from the O byrne cup right through and I will certainly be there win or loose on Sunday. Dont be late make sure you pull yourself out of that warm bed in county meath for what should be a real cracker wayne. Best of luck to you on Sunday.

Regards
B.M

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 20/07/2012 16:36:39    1223707

i heard that young kilkenny a relation of the great sean purcell from galway.does anyone know if thats true

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 20/07/2012 16:41:45    1223712

bobjaffacake

i heard that young kilkenny a relation of the great sean purcell from galway.does anyone know if thats true
yes
Uncle/nephew

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 20/07/2012 17:00:16    1223728

Ferguson will get a big cheer from the Dubs sure after all isn't he one of us. Yeah Kilkenny is related to Purcell , second or third cousin something like that. There is a rumour that Kilkenny is starting so you never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2012 17:07:43    1223735

We'll give our Terry a big cheer on AI Final day this year when he parades with the '87 Meath team, well we'll have to, because yous won't be there to do it : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8748 - 20/07/2012 17:16:09    1223739