Dublin v Meath

Any player who wins poty will go down as a great. To me Bernard Brogan is our most important player and if he doesn't play well then we tend to not play well. Bernard Brogan is a great, legend ,star etc whatever you like plus he gets all the girls.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2012 10:17:54    1223215

'No sorry royaldunne it's closed down. Brave man to be going in there with Meath colours on.'

Clondalkin Dub, is it really closed down? I was in it only 6 months ago, a great spot where anything goes!

InTheLoop (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 20/07/2012 10:24:56    1223220

ClondalkinDub - BB is a great, so is Cluxton and Alan
100% Bona Fide
You know it, I know it, 99% of Dubs know it and most of the Gah Community know it. Cluxton especially.

Breff, if your in Grand Central any time before or after the match, wear ure Ceeeaaavvvaaan jersey and we will spot ya
Just dont be coming up looking to sponge pints off us now Hi :)
I will chat Gah with ya but I wont get stuck buying you liquor !!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 10:27:55    1223227

Yea I agree about Brogan! Lets be real though Giles was a true great as well & twice poty!

I won't be back on before the match (I promise) so best of luck on Sunday lets hope for a great game and a Dublin win! I will be back on Monday either to gloat or congratulate the royals just hope its the former!!!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 20/07/2012 10:28:37    1223229

Giles or Geraghty. If you could have picked one to play on your team when they were both in their pomp in the late 90's, who would you have gone for?

For me Geraghty, very few lads can get away with wearing the white boots :-)

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 20/07/2012 10:49:32    1223251

oh jasus lads i could spend all day telling ya the stuff that went on in the hide out in the 80s and 90s, i havent been in it in years, old age and a bit of sense crept in, but it was a great spot , mad as hell, the craic was mighty with the dub lads, but got to say never aggressive, one young lad tried to start with us one time and it was the dubs who basically shut him up and ran him from the place
would have loved to have brought herself and the older kids there on sunday (aint brining the little ones) just to show where the auld lad use to go,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 10:54:31    1223256

You couldn't have been in there 6 months ago cause its closed down since last year. For me Giles was good but not in Graham's league but neither of them were as good Colm O Rourke that man was unbelievable at football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2012 10:57:17    1223259

Giles, steady as a rock, and rarely missed a free! Geraghty standing for FG doesnt help his cause! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2012 11:01:01    1223267

best of luck pigonstick to you, you been good craic on hear and didnt get all defensive with my winding up, so fair play i admire a guy who can give and take it without getting offensive and petty, you could teach a few kildare lads a thing or two, enjoy the day may the best team win both games (meath of course) lol

ps agree with you on giles

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 11:01:27    1223268

clondalkin while i agree orourke was magnificent, and just in saying that i want to wish shane well with his operation, there is a fear if it does not work his career is at a end, so good luck shane hope it went well for you,
anyway i would rate both giles and geraghty that tiny bit better than colm, as for picking either trevor or graham, most meath people would say thas like asking to pick between your mother or your father , very hard to do, but geraghty made football look simple , and effortless

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 11:07:31    1223276

TheGateKeeper

1223267 Giles, steady as a rock, and rarely missed a free! Geraghty standing for FG doesnt help his cause! ;)

Some fierce revisionism going on here
Giles was a super footballer, super. A great thinker...no no....i said THINKER
But he was no great free taker atall. He missed many many kickable frees
He was not dependable!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 11:08:04    1223277

ahh thegatekeeper there is many who feel standing for fg helped his cause as enda will only love shaking his hand in September lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 11:10:48    1223282

Well royaldunne, I have posted here for a few years now but yes I hope people can show me how to get your approval! Them days where we were actually able to talk about football without getting another barrage of 50 to 100 repetitive bs posts from you were obviously overrated.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 20/07/2012 11:10:59    1223283

For those who think biggy isn't near the list of top forwards in the country, just thought the views of Alan Brogan were interesting:
"Graham Reilly who is one of the best half-forwards in the game"

Also this suggests that O'Gara could be starting:
"Eoghan (O'Gara) is playing really well as well. With Diarmuid (Connolly) suspended at the weekend we need someone to step into his shoes so hopefully we have that."

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 20/07/2012 11:14:07    1223289

Your having a great chat and banter with the dubs and you still get in a mention of kildare unhealthy royaldunne.
Im going for a dubs win.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 20/07/2012 11:15:22    1223293

Doublehop, we got your back!
Your a HS stalwarth.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 11:18:16    1223296

actually doublehop wasnt in one bit referring to you, need to check that complex,
hey liam the man who started and reactivated the meath dublin spite thread???
so anyway what you think of brogans assessment of reilly, looks like meath people are not the only ones who rate him highly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 12:22:43    1223405

RD, in the run up to the match, if you asked someone what they thought of an opponent, what do you think he is gonna say????!!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2012 12:25:58    1223408

well obviously the truth liam,
he is in no doubt one of the finest half forwards in the game, that is a fact, everyonr knows how good he was in 10, he had a back injury last year and he is back to his best this, so a outstanding player
but i admire brogans honesty in his assessment, so anyway heard a rumour the meath team announced may not be one starting looks like 2 changes , but how accurate this is im not too sure

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2012 12:38:25    1223428

Can't believe after 36 pages not one person has mention the biggest clash of the day on Sunday , THE ROC v Big Joe. Two big men will collide this Sunday and only one will be victorious. This will be some battle but as always I'll back THE ROC to come out on top. Banty could be cute and move Big Joe out to centre half forward were he would be way to big for Cian O Sullivan to deal with and could cause us serious problems with his size out there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2012 13:04:08    1223447